We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect paradise vacation!”
EXTERIOR
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
EXTERIOR
OTHERS OTHERS
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
EXTERIOR
OTHERS
OTHERS
VIEWS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
VIEWS
VIEWS
OTHERS
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
juliebabb...
Cannonville, Utah
1 review
“The perfect paradise vacation!”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We love this house! We just left & are already planing our next trip!
The location is amazing. Views of the surf through the jungle from the deck were incredible! The deck was our outdoor living room! Spectacular!
We saw iguanas, sloths, & monkeys in our back "yard"! Super beautiful cove for swimming & beach walking!
The interior of the house is just as lovely! A spacious living & dining area, a large kitchen & three beautiful bedrooms; lots of space for relaxing.
Plays Chiquita is a fun town! Lots of great restaurants & activities within walking distance. Cabs are easy to get if one wants to explore farther away!
Totally wonderful vacation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Many thanks Julie! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. See you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnapK35...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed January 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Playa Chiquita Beach Front Estate. We could not have been more pleased with the house and the location. The house is modern, clean, and beautifully constructed. The grounds are private and provide plenty of wildlife viewing. There is a pretty path that leads right to a beautiful beach. We had our children and grand children along and everyone was very comfortable. Olga also helped us to arrange for transportation to and from San Jose and for a rental car and a rafting trip on the Rio Pacuare. The location is quiet and secluded, but walking distance to restaurants and groceries. It is also just a few minutes drive to the busier Puerto Viejo. It was comforting that there is a family living on site. We were all sad to leave the little piece of paradise and would most definitely return.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pura Vida in Playa Chaquita”
Reviewed December 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow...we just got back from five nights at this beautiful home and cannot say enough about our perfect experience. The home is perfect for a relaxed, easy vacation. The bedrooms were air conditioned and the beds were very comfortable. The kitchen has everything you need, but the best part is the direct access to the most beautiful beach on the pacific coast with the best swimming spot right outside your back door. Rosia the caretaker helped us with every need and also cleaned beautifully with fresh towels mid-way through our five night stay. Perfect in every way...would go back again in a heartbeat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house in general and the proximity to the beach
Liked least: Maybe more pillows on the bed...each king only had two pillows. Should have 4 maybe.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2015
Hello Annie! Many thanks for your comment and it was really nice meeting you. Of course, you are talking about the most beautiful beach Caribbean coast ;-) Hope to see you soon again. Stephanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita C
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful wooden house in front a paradise beach!”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is our first time we found a place with all the details we always forgot to buy when we rent ! Filtered water, coffee (I would prefer local brand Café Britt rather than the low quality coffee the place had… but it was a great surprise to find that there) knifes that works! soap for dishes and other amenities.

-You must share your bathroom with the whole 2nd floor.

-Gardens don't look like you see it in the picture, but I'm sure nature there do what they wanted to do and not what the owner would prefer -Lol- exotic beach, awesome nature and beautiful wooden house is the best description for this place.

-This place had a very nice lady that lives downstairs with her husband (kind of security guard during the night) that should be described on the general information if you are looking for complete privacy, but even there they were very discretee.

PD air conditioner could improve but we are not a/c lovers so that was fine with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and relation price-quality
Liked least: not being told about having people living downstairs the property.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2015
Many thanks for your comment! Actually Cafe Britt is for tourists and most of the local people drink 1820 coffee which is very good. I updated the general description of the house saying that the caretaker is leaving downstairs and ensure the security. Again thank you for your review as it is very important for us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GABY J
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, well kept and Spacious front beach house”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This luxurious house, is amazing, very confortable, well kept and perfect for our family. The beach is amazing, and the house has everything you might need. The family taking care of it is very nice and willing to help you in everything you need. We had a great time!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rooms
Liked least: the living room couches
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STSMark
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Funky place in the forest”
Reviewed November 26, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this beach front estate for one night while waiting for our other property to be vacated as there was a double booking (Costa Rica style lol).
It was very cool, like a giant tree fort or something. There was a family living below - the caretakers I believe. It's a massive house, huge! You could get quite a number of people in there.
The hot tub wasn't working, which is ok, because a hot tub isn't necessary!
AC in the rooms was nice, rest of house was pretty humid. We enjoyed the sound of the forest later in the evening, relaxing on the upper deck.
Found there to be quite a few ants if you leave ANYTHING out. Clean it up, not really a problem. A bat flew into our bathroom.. HA! It was quite entertaining... having a shower and a bat joining you! It flew out not long after, but not the type of company I want in the bathroom. Ended up a funny story.
The lighting is very 'dim' - which is ok, but it gets a bit dull late at night. Not much to do at that point but enjoy the wilderness sounds.
We enjoyed our stay, but it was too big for 3-4 people. Great for a large group wanting that forest like accommodation. It's not very beach front. It has easy beach access, but you can't see it through the trees really. As beach front as it gets for this area though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed yourself in the beach house.

You are correct, in Costa Rica most houses are not ON the beach, as the law forbids construction within 50 meters of the high tide line. This is one of the main reasons we can still enjoy what appears as virgin beaches! This house sits in front of the beach, pulled back approximately 60 meters.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing