We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Mekong River
from $65.00
More Info
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
150
83
11
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
83
11
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luang prabang slow boat pak beng pak ou caves two days boat trip houay xai fruit overnight stay friendship bridge whole experience golden triangle noodles beautiful scenery no matter small village local life
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 253 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2015

Other travellers complained about the uncomfortable river boats they travelled on for 2 days between Huay Xai and Luang Prabang. For little extra cost than the "backpacker specials" the mid range cost Nagi of Mekong boat was great. The seats were soft with headrests, an excellent lunch was provided free each day, with tea and coffee available all the time. Free hotel transfers were provided at each end of the trip and an on-board English speaking guide answered any questions we had. The hotel we stayed in at the end of the first day in Pak Beng was prebooked by the Nagi of Mekong and was comfortable and overlooked the boat landing. There was no air con but a ceiling fan was sufficient.
The boat stopped at a riverside village on the 2nd day and gave us time to have a look around with the help of the guide. The boat also stopped at the Pak Ou caves near Luang Prabang and we explored this famous spot.
Earlier this year this company had a boating accident resulting in a passenger drowning. At no time did this boat feel unsafe, there was plenty of safety equipment on board, and the skipper was very experienced.
Take a book and a camera, and enjoy the experience.

Date of experience: July 2015
6  Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2015

We took a boat from Luang Prabang to the caves which are situated on Mekong River.
The caves have more than 4000 statues in all sizes of Buddha. It takes about 1.5 hours & it is very much worth doing the trip.
Opposite the caves there is avery good restaurant with stunning views.

Date of experience: July 2015
5  Thank nipri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2015

This could be a great trip. You travel on a nice comfortable boat and the lunches are excellent. However, in Pak Beng you do not stay in the hotel that is advertised on he website but get dumped in an absolutely lousy place (altough it was low season and all the hotels in Pak Beng had plenty of rooms available). The room was mosquito infested and hot. The windows (no glass) were unscreened and on the third bed there was no mosquito net. The place isn't exactly clean either. On top of this the tour guide is unrealiable. On the first day het skipped the visit to the village on the pretext that we would otherwis be late in Pak Beng and then dumped us in Pak Beng at 3.44pm, where there is absolutely nothing to do. The next day at Pak OU he only went to the 'overhang' and skipped the real (second) cave, only to dump us in Luang Prabang at 3. The hotel and the guide spoil what could be a great trip. We were also appalled to discover that only 8 life jackets were available for a group of 12, after the deadly accident that happened with the boat in april...

Date of experience: July 2015
3  Thank bruno1234Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

My family of 5 took this cruise to Luang Prabang and it was really wonderful. Nagi of Mekong was the cheapest cruise operator I could find, which concerned me a bit, but they did a wonderful job. The food was great, the boat was comfortable, and the scenery often breath taking. The other passengers were all very friendly and interesting to spend time with. We were very glad we made this trip. We stayed overnight at Pakbeng Lodge, which is not the default option for Nagi, and it was outstanding and well worth the extra money. Nagi was happy to arrange this for us.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2015

We just came back from our two week visit to Laos & Vietnam. My Way Travel’s associate Kevil helped us organize the trip and we were extremely pleased with the outcome. Traveling as two couples, we were a bit uncertain whether or not all our individual “travel needs” could be met- but the itinerary planned was simply wonderful. Our accommodation was well chosen (a wide range of experiences, all which we were very pleased with), the food was incredible in each and every destination, and the guides… well they simply made the trip! It was such a good feeling having local knowledge in every new stop along the way- the guides were always well informed, extremely helpful and always keeping us up on every tidbit of knowledge. We practically felt like locals ourselves! From Hanoi to Saigon and Luang Prabang to Vientia, the experiences were nothing short of magic. Thanks to Kevil for sorting such an amazing trip!!

Date of experience: May 2015
2  Thank TerryValdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews