We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

La Bergerie de Sarpoil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 20, 2016

A pure delight. We had the "Agapes" menu, which is ten courses altogether with the little miniardises to start and to finish. Each dish is very reasonable in size so the quantity is perfect. This Michelin one star chef plays wonderfully with the subtlety of the raw products (lobster, turbot fish, foie gras and pigeon) and hints of stronger tastes such as dried tomato, herbs and spices. Perfect balance is reached with tasty vegetables that sustain the taste of the meat: artichoke with the lobster, green fava bean with the fish, orange and yellow carrots with the minestrone. The whole meal was sprinkled with truffle flakes so subtle, yet present under each bite. Three wonderful breads were served together (country, grain, apricot). Fantastic local Auvergne cheeses, some of which being really rare. The strawberry sablé was perfect. The service was smooth, efficient, very nice, with no wait between dishes. A fantastic treat that I warmly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel8586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 336 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2016

Excellent value 25 euros fixed lunch, just off autoroute to Clermont -Ferrand near Issoire,a new room facing patio with fountain, amuse bouche before meal. Salad with chicken and rich earthy sauce for first course, two big pieces of veal with potato puree and cauliflower in another different smelling dark sauce, all washed down with well priced Rully white wine. Amuse bouche and good coffee at end. Friendly service right kind of attentiveness.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luke8842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2016

We had my birthday dinner there last Friday evening. The food was as always beyond excellent, Cyrille never fails to amaze me with his creativity, his skills and wonderful presentation of food. It is refined, infused with gentle hints of flavours and spices, the artistry in the presented food is spectacular, a magic palette on a plate. The value is outsnading, for a Michelin restaurant it is a small price to pay, our dinner, without wine was approximately 40€ each with 2 amuse bouche and entre met. The portions are not bite sized, you leave the restaurant feeling you have dined richly and well. Well done to Audrey and her staff for excellent warm welcome and great attention to ensure we were well looked after. I have eaten in 2 and 3 star Michelin restaurants, throughout the World, La Bergerie is outstanding, my favourite. Thank you Cyrille and Audrey for creating a memory for me.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank judith l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Five of us enjoyed a delicious lunch. Everyone was impressed as much by the service as the food.

We selected the four course menu. Our meal began with an offering of four "amuse gueule" appertizers--these demonstrated the attention to detail in the kitchen. Each bite sized creation was assembled and decorated--they were delicious and beautiful, inspiring comments such as "why don't we try to do this at home".

Another surprise, difficult to describe, was a large rectangular, thin cracker decorated with various mini-herbs and meats, presented on a mini wood easle in front of each diner. It was something almost too beautiful to eat. Some of the flavor combinations were surprising.

We sampled several first and second courses. The best was the lobster stuffed cabbage Fantastic flavor and generous with lobster. A very close second was the cabbage stuffed with fois gras and beef cheek. (Congratulations on raising stuffed cabbages to a new level.) Mackeral on crisp and "pressed" rabbit were also both orinigal and tasty.

The cheese cart was beautiful, with ~15 different cheese, both from Auvergne and outside. The cheese was offered with various nuts and fruits, which we didn't try, but it made the cart look extra special. Our servers continually offered us their fresh baked rolls-- country, grain, and raisin nut. I can say that each one of them was fantastic. Between the rolls and the cheese, I could be completely satisfied.

The desserts were (surprise!) beautiful. Mine was the best-- a cooked apple filled with a dollop of creamy something inside, decorated with what seemed like mini chocolate pop rocks and an apple sorbet/granite. A caramel sauce was poured over the top. Wow. Another dessert was more stunning than delicious--a perfect sphere of thin chocolate shell contained a mandarin concoction. The server poured a warm chocolate sauce over the top which dramatically opened the top of the sphere.

With coffee we were offered (as if we needed) a medly of mini desserts--a strawberry macarron, a chocolate passion-fruit bombe, a mini loaf cake.

What we very much enjoyed at the restaurant was the attentive, friendly service. A restaurant of this quality in the US usually would have pretentious condencending service. Each of the wait staff (a young crowd) were efficient and pleasant.

We will make it back to this restaurant the next time we are in France. Thank you for a lovely experience.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Needagoodbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

It's been 9 years since we dined at this country restaurant near Issoire and these days Cyrille Zen has taken over the stoves. The dining room looks over a small rock garden with water feature and on our August mid-week dinner they were full. We chose the four course seasonal menu and were delighted by an entrée of Mediterranean mackerel on aubergine purée and moist olive bread - fresh, sweet and light. Suckling pig lacquered with honey and spices was equally accomplished. Fine local cheeses and delightful desserts to finish. There were plenty of extra tasters that were purposeful rather than fillers. The cooking is precise and maintains simplicity.
One constructive comment would be to add more detail on the wine list, but it did list several regional wines including a straightforward local Cotes d'Auvergne we enjoyed. There's also a good selection by the glass.
Service held up well and while formal avoids being stuffy.

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank grahamt34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bergerie de Sarpoil also viewed

 
Issoire, Puy-de-Dome
Clermont-Ferrand, Puy-de-Dome
 
Royat, Clermont-Ferrand
Clermont-Ferrand, Puy-de-Dome
 

Been to La Bergerie de Sarpoil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing