We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we needed”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saltney, Flintshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Moira W
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We choose self-catering accommodation for – location, comfort and convenience. If a place adds style and character that's a nice bonus. The Dragon's Den ticked all the boxes handsomely!
It's a very clever (and totally self-contained) loft conversion above the owner Mike's bungalow. The accommodation is spacious, light, airy, and very thoughtfully furnished and equipped.
The large living area is welcoming and comfortable, with two big leather sofas plus matching armchair, TV, loads of books, CDs, a classy chess set plus other games, and three drawers full of tourist information.
The kitchen is dinky but has everything you need for a week. There's a thoughtful supply of kitchen essentials for people like me who manage to forget the teabags. The fridge was stocked with milk and butter, and there was a crusty loaf on the workbench. Much more useful than the usual little packets of biscuits!
The bathroom is a good size, with a bath and separate shower cubicle, and lots of fluffy towels, and some sachets of shampoo in case you have forgotten that as well as the teabags.
The two bedrooms have comfy beds and there's plenty of storage space.
The décor is cool, clean, stylish, with some very attractive modern oak furniture. It's also quirky, with sloping ceilings (and floor), beams, and a lot of little dragons hiding in the corners.
It's near a busy road, but well set back. There's a good bus service from just round the corner into Chester, but Mike's information sheet includes instructions for a very pleasant walking route, along quiet, leafy avenues and lanes.
We hadn't visited Chester for twenty five years, it hasn't changed much, still a lovely city. But to see it at its best, avoid Saturday afternoon / evening – unless you appreciate aspiring Footballers' Wives unable to stand up reliably on their heels, let alone walk, and young men with a taste for extreme hairstyling and noisy cars. The rest of the week it's a very civilised place to wander around and soak up the atmosphere!
Thanks to Mike for making us feel welcome and at home. We hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weedywall...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect Base for Exploring Chester and Surrounding Area”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We used this property as a base from which to explore Chester and surrounding area.
Excellent public transport links into town but only a pleasant 20 minute walk into town.
The apartment was clean, well presented and well equipped. Lot's of useful information about the local area and tourist attractions was available. As well as board games, CD's, books and jigsaws.
The owners had very kindly supplied some crusty bread, butter and milk for our arrival - very thoughtful. There is a supermarket quite close to the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property for ease of public transport use
Liked least: Some traffic noise which we are unaccustomed to.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
111joanne
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice place to stay”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a very pleasant stay at Dragons Den, there is everything you need for a comfortable stay. We stayed for 5 nights and went into chester every night. The bus stop is just around the corner, we caught the number 16 (every 12 mins) which is a stagecoach bus and is only £3 for a day saver or £10 for a weekly saver or you can walk which takes 25 mins. There are some great pubs in Chester and if you like Italian food try the La Fattoria, the pasta is to die for. You can walk the old city walls which goes all the way round the city, quite unique and interesting. Going to Chester we would recommend Dragons Den.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The price for the quality and ease of access
Liked least: Not having control of the central heating
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Dragon's Den. We are so pleased that you were comfortable in the property and that it was so convenient to get into Chester to explore. We do hope that you come back to stay with us again soon, we'd love to have you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren O
2 reviews
“Amazing - Well worth the money!”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week long break in November last year and it was lovely! Well worth the money!
It's close to the local shops, one bus ride to the train station as well with the bus stop right outside almost.
The house itself is very warm and cosy, a small kitchen but it comes with everything you need. The owners were very helpful, they left us a guide on things to do and local restaurants and they had even purchased us a few bits of food like bread and milk for our arrival which I think was a lovely thought. We really enjoyed ourselves here and would recommend this to anyone thinking of staying in Chester.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joutet
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent - we will be back”
Reviewed January 9, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Very comfortable stay in this fantastic apartment, which has everything we needed. It was deceptively spacious, warm, clean and comfortable. The kitchen is very small but perfectly formed, kitted out with everything you might need (I learned how to use a halogen oven). The lounge, dinning area, bedroom and bathroom were very spacious. The owners were on hand for advice if needed. We will return.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byAULM
Karlshagen
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean marc...
Rouen, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: la deuxième chambre, pour notre fils, qui n'était pas faite lors de notre réservation.
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing