We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Famiana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Anja Beach Resort & Spa(Duong Dong)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Praha Hotel(Duong To)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Praha Hotel(Phu Quoc Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveler rating
360
208
67
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
208
67
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach zonebeach sidephu quocgolf buggyswimming poolbeach boysthe main hotelbusy roadbeachfront villabeach barnight marketwestern optionsconstruction noisebreakfast buffetgreen villaocean viewgreat facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 661 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for five days in December 2013. There is a lovely spread of beach and the resort offers many lounge chairs on the beach and around the pool. The Famiana is mostly oriented to families with children. If you find having children around annoying, you might want to consider staying somewhere else. All the same, the setting is quiet and you can select lounge chairs away from children if that suits you. You can lounge by the beach all day and order drinks and food from the restaurant.
The standard room was spacious and clean. We paid for the breakfast/dinner option. After a few days, the breakfast, which had a good variety of options, became monotonous. We like to eat healthy and most of the healthy food was the same day after day. Dinner was ok. When we able to order a la carte (from a limited selection), the food was really good. That was only one night; on the other four nights, a dinner buffet was offered and had the same problem. Many options, few healthy. People who like buffets and don't fret about health will like the breakfast and dinner buffets. The fitness room was a disappointment. The equipment is like home exercise equipment and not heavy duty like a fitness club. The swimming pool looked very nice but we never used it because it was always full of children and families.
The location, as noted in many reviews, is quite far from downtown. We rented a motorcycle from the front desk each day to go out for lunch and a little shopping. They do ask you to pay for gas but you only need to put in a liter or two. You can also get taxis just outside the resort but we couldn't see how you would find a taxi to come back if you went somewhere off the beaten path unless you rented the taxi for an extended time which is expensive and none of the drivers speak english.
The best feature of the place is the attentive staff, particularly at the restaurant more than the front desk. They don't speak English, but if you're patient and smile, all is well (the management should really bring in some English teachers; dining room staff should know the names of foods and so on). In general the staff were accommodating and responsive. We encountered two problems that soured our stay a bit with the front desk staff after checking out. First, they insisted that a bathrobe in our room was missing and just kept asking us about it again and again. We felt like we were being grilled. It was clear that housekeeping had not replaced both robes. Then it turned out that another couple, right next to us, was being questioned about the same thing and they were getting really upset an offering to unpack their bags! The front desk staff eventually dropped it. Second, after we checked out, they refused to rent us a motorcycle to use for the few hours remaining before our flight. They said there were none left. This seemed unlikely because there was a long line of motorcycles in the same spot as rental motorcycles had been everyday before that (separate from staff motorcycles). It was probably because they had returned our passports and felt they had no leverage (despite having credit card information).
All things considered, our stay was nice. $150/night however, felt like a bit much to us; also a huge resort is being built directly next door. That can’t be good news unless you like banana boats and jet skis. we will probably stay somewhere else if we return to Phu Quoc.
[If you find this review helpful, please click 'yes' below]

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the beach are nicer, but much more expensive
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank supakorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

4 of our families stayed at this hotel back in early Oct. 2013 and had a great time there. Hotel is clean and nice layout. We booked the garden deluxe with dinner (just a few dollars more thinking just in case we want to eat there) it was great a deal and we end up having dinner at the hotel for quite a few nights . The breakfast was great especially the Vietnamese coffee is so awesome! The staff are very helpful in answering all our questions. We are very happy with the service

Room Tip: Garden deluxe was fine for a couple one of our windows has the ocean view which was nice. our friends who have 2 children booked 2 garden deluxe and is much cheaper than get a bigger room for 4.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JT2T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed here for our Christmas holiday with 3 year old daughter.
I have seen various places in Vietnam and Asia in general and was positively surprised about the good food and decent service.
The beach is clean, the water crystal clear and infrastructure is almost new. The staff is well trained and motivated.
Like everywhere in Vietnam, if you want western style food and and service you will pay western prices. This is not a budget hotel. Unlike in Thailand, the options for local dining are very limited.
Unfortunately the mandatory Christmas "Gala" Dinner Party was quite a disaster. Poorly organized, absolute horrible local live music and a cheap buffet. Service only if you pay for drinks.
For us it spoiled Christmas. We would have gone for dinner somewhere else, had we expected this.
Still, all in all a good choice on phu quac.

Room Tip: Block f and g for ocean view
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Winegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

After a month in Asia, this hotel represented probably the worst value for money for any hotel we stayed in. The position is good, right on the beach with beautifully maintained grounds but it is a long way out of the town although there are taxis hanging around outside & 70K to village. A couple of beach bars in neighbouring room complexes offered beers at a third of the price the hotel charges. A lot of families staying and there are huge inflatables in the sea water for kids which block the view and take up half the beach, plus without being a killjoy as we did not have kids, becomes quite noisy. Same in the pool.

The rooms were OK, but nowhere near as good as other rooms we stayed in and for the price we paid, I would have expected them to be updated and more luxurious. This is not a 4* hotel, no more than a 3*, we paid the same price for a 5* hotel in HCMC. Really stupid design of clear glass giving full view out of bathroom next to shower & corner bath, so you have to keep the blind down at all times! There is a 2cm gap under the front door so we shared our room with a ghekko family - not good for the squeamish - and it allowed mosqitos and flies to get in. You also hear road noise. There is much vegetation around this resort, good repellent is essential.

The air-con was very noisy and ineffective and our toilet was blocked when we checked in. We reported both these issues plus our door did not lock from the inside and asked for them to be fixed whilst we went out for dinner. They were not done so we had to insist they got someone out to mend the toilet on our return which they did. The other issues were not resolved but we could not make the receptionist understand us and asked for the manager to see us but he made no effort to speak to us although we saw him directing the Christmas decorations.

Breakfast was a strange affair with the normal mix of western and Asian but involved a huge amount of salad items including pate and coleslaws. There were so many staff on duty but our egg order of only frying one side could not be understood on 3 consecutive mornings, even though they were sent back to be replaced each day. Most people seemed to be on a breakfast & evening meal deal, but there are a lot of restaurants plus the great night fish market to choose from in the town so no need to be on this deal.

We got our washing done for a quarter of the price the hotel advertised in the village.

A huge hotel is being built next door which really annoyed me that no warning was put on either the hotel's website or booking agencies telling you this; however you do not hear this from your room as the air-con drowns it out but it is very apparant from the pool and beach.

Overall, although you are on an island and the hotel room rates were higher, I think if we had found rooms on arrival, we would have found better value accommodation as there were plenty of small guest houses offering rooms although not all were air-conditioned.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fleming75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Phu Quoc people are the nicest people in the world. On the first night there, my 1.5 yrs old son blacked out from high fever and had to be rushed to emergency. I was in total panic and jumped into a taxi with nothing with me. The taxi driver gave me usd75 and stayed with us for a while at the emergency. The shift manager at Famiana Mr Duy also went there, helping me out. It was the scariest night in my life and everyone was just really helpful, helping me get thru it.
Back to the hotel:
Staff is extremely attentive and nice. Really really nice. For me, that is the highlight of this resort.
Beach is nice, not crowded, with some inflatable games.
Buffet breakfast and dinner are good.
Children below 5 get free porridge all day.
There is game room for children.
Overall, love this resort.

Room Tip: Block I has good view. If you have children, suggest to ask to be on ground floor since they can play in the garden area in front of room. Each block has only 2 floors.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CocoonHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews