We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Edisto Beach

“Fresh Local Seafood”

The Waterfront Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went with three other couples while on a weekend getaway in the off season. It was busy which is a good sign. We were seated almost immediately. We ordered fried green tomatoes for an appetizer. They were delicious as were the grits with remoulade they were served on. I had crab stuffed flounder with broccoli and grits. The grits were creamy and the cheese in them delicious. The she crab soup was outstanding. The shrimp tasted fresh and was probably caught that day. Our waitress kept our glasses full and did not hover too much. Another gem on the island. Great place to go for a nice evening meal.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 724 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2020

My husband and I stopped in for dinner last night. We have been to Edisto many times, but never ate at the Waterfront. We should have tried much sooner! The fried oysters were excellent. Then we shared a dinner plate of blackened sesame salmon. The sides were stone ground grits and collards. It was plenty of food for two along with the appetizer of oysters. I am not a huge fan of collards, but they were very good. Moderately priced meals and drinks as well. We will be back.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GlobalNurseRoxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

It was not crowded. It was November. We were seated in the tiniest booth ever in the back of the restaurant. Service was very slow both in ordering and receiving our food. The food orders were grilled shrimp and FF and a cup of ham and bean soup and popcorn shrimp. The food was mediocre at best- not that hot or tasty. Staff seemed more interested in talking to each other and doing some project they were working on- decorations maybe? Would not recommend.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank buddog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanF612, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a more enjoyable visit with us. We will be sure to address this with our staff as we always want our guests to have exceptional service. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are hoping that we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

My family has dined at the waterfront restaurant quite a few times since we have been coming to Edisto Island. The service is always great and employees are friendly. The seafood is usually great. Broiled flounder and shrimp are fantastic and the sides are very tasty. Prices are reasonable. This is our go-to restaurant on Edisto.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank M9896HAbenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

Ok for a local pub, but can beer and no glass was a little low class and wasn’t asked.
I had the fried scallops and oysters. Awful. Overcooked and spices were terrible.
Atmosphere was good, service very fast. Maybe the broiled seafood would have been
better.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank aroberts29223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing