We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!”

The Waterfront Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Ate here twice while we stayed at Edisto Beach for 2 weeks. The first time we had a large shrimp salad and the 2nd time had Shrimp and Grits. Both meals were very good.They also give complimentary Hush Puppies while you're waiting for your meal. Those are very tasty and we asked them for more which we received promptly. Service was very good. We would return and recommend to our family and friends!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 63JB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 651 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed grilled shrimp and husband had fried flounder. Both meals were delicious. Waitress was helpful and friendly but looked a bit stressed. Possibly not enough help staff. This was our first visit to the restaurant and will return.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank vicp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I have had Dinner and Sunday brunch several times at this restaurant and have never been disappointed. Their wonderful grits are not just for breakfast. Be sure and order the grits even if you have never liked them before.
Seafood is fresh but even the burgers and steaks are delicious as well.
Prices are reasonable and portions are adequate even for this chubby guy.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Pandfhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

If you're going to have something on your menu, do it well; the prime rib was full of fat and fatty striations that made it tough and chewy. That just means they don't have the best supply of "prime rib"; it was "choice rib" at best.

A/C was out; and it was really too hot inside.

The crew seemed overly wrought with closing; getting out what had been ordered and closing. Even though it was just 8:30pm

Haley, the bartender, even with the "closing" pressure, still took a "to-go" order for a couple that had just walked in the door. cudos.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Had a little bit of a wait but the food was definitely worth it. Everyone in our party enjoyed the flavor and freshness of the seafood. Edisto is definitely on island time so you wouldn't want to eat here if you are in a rush. But to be fair that goes for pretty much all the eating establishments on the island. Service was friendly and the server was knowledgeable about the menu and specials. Prices were fair and the serving size was very appropriate.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roxanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing