We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic Cooking School

I highly recommend Walnut Grove Cookery School. Beautiful location, comfortable accommodations and... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed February 10, 2019
Bruce S
Wonderful experience

Great setting. Great comfort. An excellent mix of presentation, variety & difficulty. Chef Maynard... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed January 19, 2019
kensynnot
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Read all 78 reviews
  
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
74
3
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
74
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wide range walnut grove cookery comfortable accommodations first class cooking techniques fantastic cooking school students skills practice knowledge participants chef hands teaching blend lecture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 78 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2017

The Walnut Grove cooking course is a wonderful mix of relaxing in the cutest B&B, and learning brand new skills from a professional chef. I was a little worried about the work-load before I came, but the balance was perfect. There was a lot of hands on time in the kitchen but also plenty of time to relax, amazing meals (don't worry, you won't wreck dinner!) I thought the course was good for a mix of levels and experiences.

I took this course alone and that totally worked, but I would love to come back with a group of friends.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Aleezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Dear Aleezza
Thank you very much for your review, it was lovely to meet and get to know you. We were very impressed with your mastery of working with caramel on the last night, well done!! I daresay your husband & friends have been reaping the benefits of your new skills! And enjoy your new puppy if you have got him yet!
best regards
Maynard & Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017

My wife Pat and I attended the Walnut Grove Cooking School in May 2017 and we had a wonderful experience. We met Vicki and John from England and worked on some delicious and amazing meals with Chef Maynard. Freya and Maynard made everything about the experience memorable – from food preparation, presentation and taste to the comfortable accommodations. We can’t recommend them more highly.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Dear Mike
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us, it is much appreciated. It was so nice to meet you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed the course. We hope you have been having enjoying your new skills - and have you succeeded with the chocolate piping bags?!!! Do keep in touch.
Best regards
Maynard and Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017

Mother and daughter.
Despite varying abilities the course was ideally suited to us both.
It took over three weeks to find a course that would be suitable.
It exceeded every expectation. The teaching was professional from a highly accomplished chef and was delivered with a great humour.
The website did not hint at the amazing level that could be achieved. We can't believe the standard we attained.
Great company from our American colleagues - will keep in touch with them.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Dear Julie

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it. It was lovely to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to seeing photos of your creations! Your final dessert was a winner!
Best regards
Maynard and Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

Wow, what a wonderful culinary experience we have just concluded. Walnut Grove is a beautiful compound located just on the edge of a small community just south of Laval. Wonderfully comfortable accommodations in one of the two preserved historic buildings. Cooking classes (max 5 students!) led by cooking wizard and affable Chef Maynard in the other adjacent building. Meals served open air on the adjoining porch by the effervescent Freya. We weren't sure what to expect before we arrived but our experience here at Walnut Creek has certainly been one of our best holiday outings....ever.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank rob a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Dear Rob
Thank you very much for your comments, we really enjoyed meeting you both, and hope your cooking continues sucessfully! Let us know if you are back in France, it would be great to meet again.
Best rgards
Maynard and Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017

Really great week of cooking. Loved how with a small group any question was answered and that I had the Chef instructors full attention. Many techniques were covered especially 'chef tricks of the trade' and plating composition. Will be going back if more courses are offered for chefs. Definitely worth the money, great location and hospitality.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Guest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Dear Rob
It was great to get to know you and hear about your yachting/ski chalet stories! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Good luck with it all and don't hesitate to ask if you have questions.
best regards
Maynard and Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews