We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wlanut Grove is a not-to-be-missed experience!”

Walnut Grove Cookery School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Professional gourmet chef Maynard Harvey is waiting to share with you his wealth of experience and to take your cooking to the next level. Classes are fun, informal and inspirational – with no more than five guests to one chef everybody gets the personal attention they require, regardless of their skill level, with extensive hands-on time in the kitchen. Can also take one non-participant each course to join in with degustation!
Reviewed July 17, 2017

This was the first cooking school experience for my husband and I -- and it was perfect. From the knife skills to the plating to the cooking and baking, we learned SO much in an environment that is as comfortable as it is beautiful. Maynard is serious about the lessons without being stuffy and Freya makes you feel that their place is your place. It was a magical week that has our highest recommendation.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank DebbieandJaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Dear Debbie & Jaap
Thank you very much, it was a pleasure to meet and host you both, enjoy your 2 months cooking (and delighting) your friends and family at Lake Tahoe. We look forward to some photos!!
Best regards
Maynard and Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the kitchen"
in 17 reviews
"croissants"
in 6 reviews
"great fun"
in 5 reviews
"at home"
in 3 reviews
"train station"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful setting"
in 3 reviews
"walnut grove"
in 41 reviews
"group of friends"
in 2 reviews
"knife skills"
in 10 reviews
"cooking course"
in 8 reviews
"new friends"
in 7 reviews
"french countryside"
in 7 reviews
"wonderful experience"
in 5 reviews
"learned how"
in 3 reviews
"cooking experience"
in 3 reviews
"skill level"
in 3 reviews
"unique vacation"
in 2 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 76 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2017

The Walnut Grove cooking course is a wonderful mix of relaxing in the cutest B&B, and learning brand new skills from a professional chef. I was a little worried about the work-load before I came, but the balance was perfect. There was a lot of hands on time in the kitchen but also plenty of time to relax, amazing meals (don't worry, you won't wreck dinner!) I thought the course was good for a mix of levels and experiences.

I took this course alone and that totally worked, but I would love to come back with a group of friends.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Aleezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Dear Aleezza
Thank you very much for your review, it was lovely to meet and get to know you. We were very impressed with your mastery of working with caramel on the last night, well done!! I daresay your husband & friends have been reaping the benefits of your new skills! And enjoy your new puppy if you have got him yet!
best regards
Maynard & Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017

My wife Pat and I attended the Walnut Grove Cooking School in May 2017 and we had a wonderful experience. We met Vicki and John from England and worked on some delicious and amazing meals with Chef Maynard. Freya and Maynard made everything about the experience memorable – from food preparation, presentation and taste to the comfortable accommodations. We can’t recommend them more highly.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Dear Mike
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us, it is much appreciated. It was so nice to meet you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed the course. We hope you have been having enjoying your new skills - and have you succeeded with the chocolate piping bags?!!! Do keep in touch.
Best regards
Maynard and Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017

Mother and daughter.
Despite varying abilities the course was ideally suited to us both.
It took over three weeks to find a course that would be suitable.
It exceeded every expectation. The teaching was professional from a highly accomplished chef and was delivered with a great humour.
The website did not hint at the amazing level that could be achieved. We can't believe the standard we attained.
Great company from our American colleagues - will keep in touch with them.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Dear Julie

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it. It was lovely to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to seeing photos of your creations! Your final dessert was a winner!
Best regards
Maynard and Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

Wow, what a wonderful culinary experience we have just concluded. Walnut Grove is a beautiful compound located just on the edge of a small community just south of Laval. Wonderfully comfortable accommodations in one of the two preserved historic buildings. Cooking classes (max 5 students!) led by cooking wizard and affable Chef Maynard in the other adjacent building. Meals served open air on the adjoining porch by the effervescent Freya. We weren't sure what to expect before we arrived but our experience here at Walnut Creek has certainly been one of our best holiday outings....ever.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank LoveTravel312549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Dear Rob
Thank you very much for your comments, we really enjoyed meeting you both, and hope your cooking continues sucessfully! Let us know if you are back in France, it would be great to meet again.
Best rgards
Maynard and Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Grove Cookery School also viewed

Cosse le Vivien, Mayenne
Chateau-Gontier, Mayenne
 

Been to Walnut Grove Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing