We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay
Nearby Hotels
$106
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$40
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OYO 1623 Hotel JS Regency(Jodhpur)(Great Value!)
$34
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Zone by The Park Jodhpur(Jodhpur)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveler rating
386
65
8
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
65
8
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage safarirural indiahome stayauthentic villagehis motheropium ceremonyhenna paintingauthentic experienceentire familytraditional hutsvillage stayfamily lifewonderful familycow dungblock printingblack buckbishnoi family
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 466 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We with family reached there on 14 Feb and we were amazed as Chhotaram himself came to Jodhpur Railway station for pick up. We received a warm welcome there by Chhotaram's Mother. They all are very nice, very friendly and really very hardworking. We are very well mixed up with them giving us a perfect feeling of homestay.
The huts are nice, rooms have all the basic facilities one will need. But if you're expecting a luxurious stay, this is not the right place to stay. You should only come to here if you want to see the real face of rural India. You can not blame the homestay if you dont get a luxurious feeling here, as it's not meant for the same.

Room Tip: There is no such room with any specific advantage, so every room is equal in quality. A bit noisy in wedding season. You'll have to listen Filmy songs starting from morning to evening.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashutosh11jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is our first trip advisor review but we are compelled to write - Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay was a truly authentic experience and indeed memorable.

Chances are you are reading this trying to plan your trip from a distance – not knowing India - but we would seriously recommend the experience of Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay.

Our Rajasthan sojourn was a combination of 6 star hotels and backpacking. On this part of out journey we stayed for 2 nights in Jodhpur and then moved just 30 minutes by car to Chhotaram’s homestay. It felt like a different world.

We were looking for an authentic village experience that contrasted with comfy hotels and we definitely found it with Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay. That is not to say we were uncomfortable – just authentic! We stayed with Chottoram’s family for 2 nights. We were totally welcomed into their family – a total immersion and TRULY unlike any other of our experiences in the four weeks we stayed in India.

We ate well – were made to feel totally welcome and part of the family.

It was great and we would totally recommend the experience – the real deal.

Just one tip - If you are visiting Rajasthan in the winter months then don’t forget to pack you woollies. Night is cold!!!!

Thanks Chhotaram!

Michael and Prisque

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Many people travel to India looking for the "real India", which means different things to different people. If you stay here, you will get the "real India"! :)

Chhotaram and his family are super nice and accommodating. His wife and mother make fantastic traditional Rajasthani food -- you will NOT go hungry!

The accommodations are traditional Rajasthani huts as others have mentioned so I will not go into them, so if you are looking for a 5 star experience, this is not your place. But if you want to stay with a wonderful family and mingle with the other guests during the Village Safari and at meals, then this is your place to experience the culture of a special area of India with special people. I was very happy to meet the people I did on the Village Safari and to get out into rural Rajasthan.

I stayed 2 nights and would return! The only downer for me was that the weather was too cold for me in February and that's not Chhotaram's fault! I am a hot weather girl! :)

Another good thing is that the family are weavers and belong to a weaver's co-op so you are able to buy gorgeous rugs that you would not find anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaliGrrl108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed 5 nights with this lovely family and had a great time. This is a unique opportunity to stay with a family and experience village life. The food was amazing and all cooked on an open fire. We had so many different breads and curd and buttermilk from the buffalo milk. We sat outside in he courtyard under a clear starry sky to eat our evening meal then the Karom board came out for a fun game. The village safari is interesting and we got to meet some interesting people. We also went fruit picking, collecting small berries which are dried in the sun. We also spent time wandering around the village meeting very friendly people. I would highly recommend this place, it is interesting and fun and Chhotoram and his family are amazing hosts!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the huts which was good. Fresh air coming through the roof. A little noisy in wedding season with music from outside.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim_Woods_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have returned to visit Chhotaram and the family and their warmth and hospitality delights us. The accommodation is unique in comfortable traditional mud brick huts with hot water showers, fan to cool the hut and cozy ample bed covers, to suit the season. Delicious meals are prepared by Chhotaram's mother and his wife Mamata, with guests joining the whole family to enjoy meals together around the open cooking fire in the traditional kitchen...great conversation and fun had by all. The safari experience gives a unique insight into village life as our host explains the traditions of the people. This is absolutely the highlight of our month in India and I recommend staying here over larger less personal village accommodation.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank phoebeMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews