We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Woodwark
Post
Inbox
Search

“Piece of Paradise”

Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Woodwark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Description: Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill sits right on the water's edge just outside the beautiful Whitsundays' town of Airlie Beach, Queensland. The relaxed venue offers an inspired fresh menu of grilled produce and seafood. Select from one of the widest range of craft beers on tap in Northern Queensland, or choose from an amazing array of tier one and tier two wines from Australia and around the world.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Get away from busy Airlie Main Street, a beautiful located resort under palms with great ocean view. The music was peaceful and the food so fresh we were positively surprised. Lovely friendly staff, will definitely return!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 404vegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curiosity769740, Manager at Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Piece of paradise - love the review and thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited Northerlies restaurant for 2 nights in January. Friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Great winelist and great for seafoodlovers.
For us, the best food at Northerlies was the food that was simple and basic, unfortunately, cooked food, like the salmon felt a bit "overworked". The salmon was great, but the risotto to it was unnecessary overworked. Simplicity is often best in the long run.
Worth a visit, absolutely.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yava1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sensational lunch or dinner location! Courtesy bus from Airlie was friendly and punctual. Service upon arrival was great! With no reservation we were seated at the beach end of the restaurant with a lovely sea breeze and beautiful view. Table service was awesome. Food was great. Very nice way to spend an afternoon

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank MandaJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curiosity769740, Manager at Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting Northerlies. We are stoked you enjoyed your experience. We do hope to see you again soon. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and partner went here for our anniversary dinner having been recommended it my others.
Unfortunately it did not live up to expectations.
We ordered two steaks, one with bugs and both with sauce.
The sauce was cold, the steaks hasn't been rested, the bugs were inedible and the presentation very messy.
The restaurant is beautiful and open with a lovely breeze which is one reason the food should be coming out of the kitchen piping hot.
Service was very lacking - apart from the hostess and the barman. Our table waitress took the order and cleared the plates. There was no check back and trying to catch someone's eye to tell them about the food proved impossible, even though at the time the restaurant was not particularly busy with many staff on.
We were thoroughly unimpressed.
I wasn't going to write a negative review because we didn't complain at the time (we just wanted to leave as were both very upset with the meal and total lack of service). However, I personally wrote to the restaurant following our visit to give our feedback which has been left unanswered after two weeks.
Lovely spot but we won't be back for a meal anytime soon unfortunately.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank rls300693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curiosity769740, Manager at Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning,

To start yes we did receive your email (8 days ago), and I apologise for not responding......we found the email rather contradicting so we chose not to respond.
We do at Northerlies take on board both positive and negative feedback. In this case, as you have both stated in your email and this review, chose not to inform any of the staff at the time of dining your issues with your meal. We always empower all the staff to ensure that guests leave with a smile on their face. Had you chosen to let us know on the night, I am sure that our professional staff would of immediately rectified any issues you had.
Over the Christmas period Northerlies have served over 12,000 meals, on the night you dined we had 34 reservations and actually did 174 covers, so in this case our service staff may have been a little pushed. It is one of those I guess crystal ball moments that we had not correctly forecast. We apologies that maybe on this occasion we may have missed the mark, but again; if you had chosen to inform our staff at the time of dining, I am positive that the outcome would have exceeded expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Out of all the restaurants in Airlie beach we decided that we would go to Northerlies for lunch for my husband's birthday. We had a great lunch with our family and really enjoyed ourselves. Unfortunately there wasn't enough room in our daughter in laws car. She made 2 journey on the way. But we decided to use the courtesy bus on the way home. My son & I spoke to a waitress who gave us details of the stop off points. We waited for the bus and the driver turned up he did not make eye contact with any one or spoke to anyone. We were near the back & he went sailing past first stop then the second stop. We eventually came to a stop in Airlie Beach. We were quite flabbergasted maybe we should have shouted out but we were led to believe he made the stops. As we got out he sarcastically said" You're welcome" so we had to get a bus most of the way back. So what started as a lovely meal was spoilt by this surly man. Shame really as everything else was lovely

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 785lynnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curiosity769740, Manager at Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for contacting us in regards to your experience. I will be in direct contact with you today. We sincerely apologise that your Northerlies overall experience did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing