We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A great place

This vast, pebble beach is a great place for getting out into the outdoors. Unfortunately, being... read more

Reviewed April 23, 2021
Geoff H
,
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Morning walk

First visit. Beautiful beach. I would recommend a walk to blow away the cobwebs and help with any... read more

Reviewed October 20, 2020
MDB1718
Read all 209 reviews
  
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
129
59
15
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
129
59
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low tide rock pools sea wall great place be careful camber sands rye harbour morning walk road dog miles summer beach cliffs end hastings shingle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 209 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

There's a concrete path at the back of this shingle beach, there's not much here. The smugglers pub and a 'beach club'. But a beach is a beach, it can't be compared to Rhossilli in Gower or Magherawarden in Fanad.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank JGClyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

This is the most lovely beach, perfect for a brisk walk in the howling wind, a leisurely stroll on a cool day or for a glorious swim when the breeze is light & the sun is shining and the sea is flat. You feel like it's your own private beach at times, it's never crowded & on the whole, dog owners are responsible. We love it!

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

Beautiful shingle beach in East Sussex bordering a nature reserve Facilities are limited but food/drink is available from a local hostelry and fast food vans

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

From the road you really would not know this amazing beach was the other side of the embankment.
Plenty of roadside parking & paths or steps up to the pathway.
Once there you are met with a huge expanse of shingle & sand beach.
I had checked Trip Advisor & tide times prior to our visit, so knew that low tide was the best time to visit. We were also very lucky that it was a calm day & the sun was out.
We walked out to the rock pools. But beware with where you walk as although I have walked on many similar beaches around the uk but I came unstuck here by taking a wrong step & suddenly I was up to my calves it muddy sand !!!! We laughed about it, but for a young child or elderly person it could be quite dangerous. We found out afterwards that apparently this happens quite often.
Don't let this put you off though,just take care.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank places2seeplaces2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

Visited in July 2017 on a family coach trip. Parking was easy and first impressions were great. Lots of shops, restaurants, arcade, etc.. The beach itself was beautiful and peaceful. We sat on the pebbles enjoying the great sea breeze and I could have stayed there all day if it didn't start raining. The kids had a dip in the water and loved it Seagulls were everywhere, trying to get into our bags and everything and once the food was out they started to pounce. Each child had food snatched from their hands so we just ended up going to eat at one of the many restaurants; fish and chips were delicious. I would definitely visit again.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank KIM1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews