We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schulphoek House
Nearby Hotels
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
$508
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
175
41
13
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
41
13
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarscallopsvegetable gardenguest houseocean facingdecorated roomsbreakfast and dinnerself catering cottagecatfishuninterrupted viewspacked lunchrecommend staying herefantastic viewsour honeymoonjacuzzi bathwine loverscrashing waves
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 235 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

After coming from a less than perfect experience in Stellenbosch,(interestingly the place in Stellenbosch doesn't come up on Trip Advisor to be rated) this B&B revives my faith. The location is right by a small bay with walking paths along the water in front of the facility. The owners are generous & knowledgeable about local cuisine & wineries. We are staying in the Scallop room which has a 280 degree view of the water, a lovely bathroom with tiled walk-in shower, speedy WiFi, heated towel rack and lots of space. The complimentary dinner with a bottle of wine plucked from the owners' own cellar is not to be missed. Yesterday whales were seen in the Bay & we are hoping we get lucky as well. I love this place!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We visited Schulphoek in July this year for 3 nights as part of our trip to South Africa. On arrival at the Guesthouse we were welomed by Petro with a warm cup of tea on a very wet and windy day. We were taken to our room which was named the Scallop suite. Our first impressions was that it had an amazing view over the bay and we were hoping to see some Whales if we were lucky. The room was huge and included a luxury bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and a big shower. There was also a seated area where you could read a book or use the massage chair. Hermanus was a beautiful town it was just a shame that the day we were due to go whale watching the trip was cancelled due to bad sea conditions.We did however visit Betty's Bay where we saw the penguine colony. We had a great time and it only cost a coulpe of pounds to enter. We also did a shark dive through marine dynamics in gansbaai, this was an amazing experience. We saw 10 great white sharks, the largest measuring a whopping 4 1/2 metres long!!! As part of our stay at the guesthouse we had included a meal expertly cooked by Mannes. We were also taken to their vast wine cellar to chose our wine for our private dining experience. The food was amazing and so was the service we couldnt have asked for more. Overall we had a great stay despite of the weather and the dissapointment of not seeing Whales!! Nevermind we will just have to visit this beautiful place again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Petro and Mannes run a beautiful appointed, luxurious, yet relaxed guest house. We were personally welcomed by them both, and treated to a gourmet 4 course dinner, with a fantastic choice of wine from a well stocked cellar. We had beautiful views of the bay, and sadly missed out on seeing whales frolicking in the bay on one of the mornings! The rooms were beautifully furnished, and extremely comfortable, with complimentary sherry, nuts, tea/coffee and a bowl of fruit, replenished every day, with the option of relaxing in the main lounge with tea/coffee, cake, and well stocked bar! Not to mention daily breakfast!! The staff were wonderful and friendly as well, and we felt secure at all times. We stayed for 15 days, and it was well worth the relaxing atmosphere, especially lying at the swimming pool!! Petro's recommendations of things to do in the area are amazing, and we had a wonderful Saturday at Hermanuspietersfontein, tasting the local produce, and drinking wine, as well as meeting the locals!! The price was right, and I will definitely stay again, in fact will be bringing my husband!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Sea horse Suite, which was ideal
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyL699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This small guest house, seven or eight rooms, right on the sea is superbly run and managed by Petro and Mannes. Nothing is too much for them and it has to be said that the dinners prepared by 'chef' Mannes are delicious. The very well stocked wine cellar ensures you have the right bottle for whatever may be offered for dinner. All the staff are proactive and helpful.
It is a truely relaxing place with walks right along the sea's edge courtesy of a long walkway connecting the small hamlets on this part of the coast outside of Hermanus.
Great place to locate for a few days to explore the surrounding vineyards and restaurants.

Room Tip: Be aware that only one room right now has a sea view and that is the Scallop Suite, so be sure to specifiy this. The other rooms are beautifully furnished but look onto the courtyard.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arcjnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We visited Schulphoek Guest House in Winter. The view was spectacular and the room we had was roomy, luxuriously appointed and very comfortable. In addition, the friendly and accommodating hostess Pietro made us more than welcome with her generosity and helpfulness. She even gave us a bottle of a very nice red wine at the end of our visit. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there and we would love to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews