We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Excellent”
Review of Turtle Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patnem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turtle Hill
Ranked #1 of 14 Patnem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most Excellent”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Great accommodation in this peaceful resort. Comfortable and reasonably priced. Nitin was very helpful too organising trips. Many passers-by asked about these huts as they stand out from the rest! We loved that we were so close to the beach and could enjoy watching life go by. We also liked that we had certain aspects of nature to amuse us - we had a couple of tiny frogs in our shower that hopped away when it was our turn!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DantheMan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights between a stop in Mumbai and a golden triangle tour. Ina trip full of big cities, this place was a haven. We didn't walk further than the south end of the beach for four days. We had one of the beach huts and it was lovely. The best shower I've had in ages. There isn't hot water but I struggle to imagine you would ever want it. So nice to rinse off after sunset on the beach.

The whole hut is very well appointed. The bathroom in particular is gorgeous. We stayed in late March and I was worried about no AC. Turns out it wasn't an issue at all. The fan combined with the breeze was plenty.

The huts aren't cheap but they really are a notch above all the others we saw. It's at the north end of the beach so much quieter. Definitely would go back. The staff is helpful, though sometimes a bit hard to find.

A quick tip though. We had a snake who took up residence in the corner of our rafters. At first we were terrified but after some frantic googling we figured out it was a non venomous tree snake. This was confirmed by the hotel. In the end, he became our unofficial goa mascot, but just something to consider if you hate snakes.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stunningly situated and decoarted with outstanding views and breakfast. This place is a must if you are in Patnem!! If you see the friendly beach dog that follows you here feed him and look after him he is adorable!! Beautiful place, views, service and decor.

Room Tip: The Hill bungalow at the top has fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dit111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Turtle Hill is what you dream of when you imagine a luxury beachside holiday. With just a few huts perched right next to the waterfront, you are seconds from stepping into Goa's warm waters. Each hut is slightly different - ours felt like the best because of it's open front terrace where loungers faced the water. The designers have gone to every effort to ensure the decor is fresh and stylish. There are lots of lovely touches - the silver bowl to dip sandy feet in, the thin cotton curtains overlaying slatted sliding doors, the fabulous open-air shower with coconut trees reaching above your head. Furthermore, the breakfast was to die for - healthy, plentiful, and beautifully presented.

Turtle Hill is probably the most expensive accommodation on Patnem beach but it's worth the extra cost.

Perhaps the only slight complaint is that the staff made a few 'clerical' mistakes that led to difficulties with airport transfer and ongoing stay - but to their credit, they did all in their power to rectify this once the mistake was clear.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here in January, we loved the huts on the beach - beautifully designed and spacious. The guy here (forget name) was very friendly, and gave us good advice about where to eat and what to do. The whole scene in Patnem was pleasant - a small beach, it felt like a little community with great food options, and very friendly. Nearby Patnem and Agonda were also beautiful beaches, and easy to get to by motorbike. Two different yoga studios nearby, with great yoga teachers. The beach is really gentle - great for swimming.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peregrineNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We discovered Turtle Hill as we ww travelled to South Goa for a friends wedding. We all stayed in Patnam in various beach huts, however we stumbled on Turtle Hill and all agreed it was the pick of the bunch. Great location with amazing huts which stood out due to their bespoke design and quality. Ended up staying in most of the huts over a two week period and loved them all. The ones at the top of the hill are better due to the view and extended layout. I hear they have plans for a fully operating restaurant next year which would complete the bliss. Highly recommend this amazing and hidden retreat to anyone!

Room Tip: The rooms on the hill have the best view on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shane199998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights over Xmas and really cannot fault it. We had stylish and spacious beach hut directly in front of the sea, beautifully kitted out, served by lovely, helpful and friendly staff. Open air bathroom and raffia style walls mean you are open to the elements, but falling asleep and waking to the sound of the sea was a magical experience for us. Its a B&B, but there is great restaurant a stone's throw away to grab a beer to take back to your room. Patnem is a slice of paradise and this is definitely the most upmarket place to stay for sure. We loved it so much, can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: The beach huts give you that added extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patnem
0.9 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
0.3 mi away
Oceanic Hotel
Oceanic Hotel
#9 of 19 in Canacona
145 reviews
18.3 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bougainvillea Patnem
Bougainvillea Patnem
#3 of 14 in Patnem
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lotus Oasis Beach Huts Resort
0.4 mi away
Om Shanti
Om Shanti
#5 of 23 in Patnem
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Hill

Property: Turtle Hill
Address: North Hill, Patnem, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona > Patnem
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Patnem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Bungalows are in harmony with nature., On the beautiful Patnem beach we found a proper seaside hill, In harmony with nature and located in a secluded area. We now have 3 bunglows and 2 hill side villas, they are uniquely styled by famous designer Bernd Slotta and even more spacious than before. So "Turtle Hill" is now well established. The Bungalows cannot be overlooked but nevertheless are only a stone's throw away from the beach. Even right now, some well known magazine publishers are interested in our bungalows . Two new bungalows and another villa are now in the planning stages for next year . Since February 2011 Turtle Hill has been operating and your bookings are very welcome, we look forward to seeing you here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turtle Hill Patnem, Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing