We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hidden Gourmet Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Oceanic Hotel(Canacona)(Great Value!)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bhakti Kutir(Canacona)(Great Value!)
$35
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Dream Residence(Canacona)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Palolem Inn(Palolem)
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shawnels Beach Resort(Palolem)(Great Value!)
$36
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Tubki Resort(Palolem)(Great Value!)
$33
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
31
11
3
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
11
3
6
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 54 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed there for almost 2 months because it is such a nice place. the view is unbelievable! you will not find anything like it somewhere in patnem/palolem and if this is not enough the restaurant makes the loveliest western food i could find there. the staff is serving the guest with love and is always there to fulfill your demands (if its possible!) I had some nice late (late!) nights with some of the staff members and i already miss them (Michel and Petar)! If you are looking for a nice and quiet place to stay then check out this lovely little B&B.
and for those who wrote the last reviews, if you think you can go to a 3rd world country and expect the same as you have at home: stay at home!

Room Tip: try the bungalows and the fabulous tent!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranubis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

By far the worst accomodations ever. Dirty, smelly, unorganized and the manager was a pr*ck. If you are headed to Goa, do your homework. All of the accomodations on the beach are pretty rustic. If you enjoy camping and want a back to nature experience, Goa is for you. If you like amenities such as hot water, clean towels & air conditioning, spend the extra money and stay at La Lait. You can take a tok-tok down to Putnem Beach & have the Goa experience. There are some nicer bungalows on the beach but bear in mind that there are dogs and roosters barking and crowing all night. Bring earplugs. Hidden Gourmet, absolutely awful...fun far, run fast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Spend five days at this wonderful little B&B. We had the best time my girlfriend and I. Great location, nice rooms with plenty space, quiet and with cheerful and serviceminded staff.

We really had a good time this january - go there and enjoy - so much better than the other place we stayed at in Patnem and a lot more charming than Palolem.

I would definitely stay there again if I went to Goa again :)

Miss you guys James, Michel and everyone else - Denmark is bloody freezing by now :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoachimCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I cant say any more than the last reviewer..I was so looking forward to our stay and it was nothing at all like the pictures..It was dirty.. the grounds were not clean ( toilet roll outside the main toilet block covered in ants!!)....and etc etc etc..we had paid for a bungalow..yuck..we went and bought pillows blankets dettol gloves buckets for water and it still didnt help... Then the water outside in the water tank pored all night.We stayed one night. The high light of our stay.. being the toilet exploding back on us when we flushed it..such fun..!!...It is really really not worth the money... it is a low budget hut of which you can get many in Patem for less than a third of the price..and clean!!...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilliwooscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We were looking forward to our stay in Hidden Gourmet and had booked ahead. We are travelling for 3 months so on a budget and picked the room nearest the kitchen which was the cheapest 1700 IND no hot water and no wifi albeit the same throughout hidden gourmet (however nothing seemed to be different in our cheap room from the more expensive room in the same block). Upon arrival I was overwhelmed by the stunning views and location - absolutely fantastic and exactly what I had imagined of Goa but it was all to go downhill from there. We were told almost immediately that other people had arrived earlier in the day and left within an hour as it was 'too rustic' and that others had been no shows - great technique telling new customers that upon arrival - very odd!!!

The room was pretty dirty to be honest and didn't look like it had been cleaned all season and the mosquito net was so filthy I asked for it to be taken down which they did. The private bathroom next to the bedroom was basic but ok. After a walk round town we got back to have showers to find there was no water in our room at all, no sink water, no shower water. Our room unlike the others shared water supply with the kitchen and this was more important apparently given there were customers waiting to eat! . All the other units were full so we couldn't shower elsewhere but their water was working. We were told this would be sorted in half an hour and a complimentary beer was given - no problem whatsoever. An hour later and at 7.30 at night when we would have liked to be showered and eating there was still no sign of water. Upon enquiring again we were told that the restaurant took priority and that 1700IND was a cheap room and we shouldn't expect water!! We were told that had we parted with more cash we would have had water and that hey, this is India, it happens! Plus he told us that he had other staff issues which were more important! I couldn't belive his attitude - customer service - ZERO!!!

All I can say is that we left in the next 5 mins due to the highly rude and bad attitude of Peter, the guy temporarily in charge. We are now staying in cheaper and much better accommodation in the heart of Patnem with hot water and wifi etc and very accommodating staff. Better deals to be had elsewhere I'm afraid but the views are worth a look - maybe pop up there for a drink but that is all I would recommend.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, stay in a bungalow although prices are pretty hefty and not value for money. DO NOT stay in the room nearest the kitchen as you may not get water!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugartot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews