We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little sanctuary in Goa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Secret Garden Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Patnem B&B and Inns
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little sanctuary in Goa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed at Secret Garden for just under a month in October and struggled to leave to go home. The resort is a tranquil little slice of paradise and for me Secret Garden became my own personal sanctuary where I could relax and unwind (away from the noisy, commericalized beaches and tourist traps) during the second half of my stay in Goa. I stayed in the Rose hut and it had an incredibly comfortable bed, clean bathroom, and a great view of the yoga space below. I felt secure with the locked gate every evening and especially enjoyed the amazing food and drink. I will never forget morning chai, or Nazir's speciality teas (tulsi and ginger delish) and the evening meals were outstanding. I look forward my return trip and visiting my Secret Garden family again soon.

Room Tip: Rose and Lotus have the best views, with Lily and Sunflower being the quietest. All are fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkgirl306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    14
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
26
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stay here, eat their curry and have fun. Great place to walk to Pathan or palolem from. We stayed febuary in a tent very nice went to north goa...hmmmm then came back and stayed in hut. We usually stay in different places so it must be good. Garden is coming along nicely and attracting many birds.

Room Tip: Any room is good tent is cool with composting toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We started our 3 week trip around South India at Secret Gardens. Our plane was delayed into the early hours of the morning yet our pick up waited and Nazeer, our host was there to greet us when we arrived about 3am. All the staff were great there, they couldn't do enough for you. it's a nice and relaxed place and in a good spot between both Patnem and Palolem beaches. both are accessible within 10 mins walk. The huts are basic and ideal to create a feeling of living within the nature around you. Had a great time there and rested well so we had energy to tackle other parts of India. The Yoga classes were great too abd cheap compared with other classes around. We ate there a few times and discovered Nazeer was a fanatstic cook, really cook fresh and tasty curries. Thanks for a fab stay. Debs & Al

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs73_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were supposed to stay four days, but liked it so much that we stayed for six days.
The wooden huts are nice and clean. Nazir, the owner is super helpful and also a great cook! (The best Rogan Josh EVER) Located perfectly between Patnem and Palolem. We prefered Patnem which is more peaceful, and is about 5 mins from Secret Garden. The safety is really good. They wait for all the guests to come home before the lock the gate. I would really come here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Secret Garden is an oasis of calm in the heart of Colomb - with easy access to the beaches and restaurants of Patnem and Palolem. I had intended to stay for a week, in between stints of work in Goa and Mumbai, but ended up spending more than a month. The landscaped grounds are very well kept and the huts are comfortable, with good beds, hot showers and pleasant verandas. Nazir and the boys (and Gita too) are incredibly friendly and very attentive. Nazir is also a dab hand in the kitchen, whether it's a plate of American pancakes, or a full on (and extremely delicious) North Indian meal (Shabir does a mean pilau too). Full marks to everyone at Secret Garden. A real gem worth returning to time and again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at Secret Garden for a week before moving to Agonda and as a solo female traveller have only positives to say about the experience - i was well looked after by Nazir and staff, had some lovely Yoga sessions with Shiva right outside my hut, the food was delicious and i was made to feel at home and cared for. I would go back. Thank you very much everyone for a great introduction to Goa!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at Secret Garden and decided to move on because we wanted to be by the sea. However we enjoyed our time the garden and would recommend it to anyone looking for a green, calm space with good huts, coffee and service only 10 minutes from Patnem beach. The staff are also very friendly and made us feel very relaxed

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobermoryBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patnem
0.4 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#3 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dropadi Inn
Dropadi Inn
#9 of 9 in Palolem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Fiesta
Casa Fiesta
#6 of 23 in Patnem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palolem Beach Resort
Palolem Beach Resort
#28 of 79 in Canacona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marron Sea View Resort
Marron Sea View Resort
#4 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bougainvillea Patnem
Bougainvillea Patnem
#2 of 14 in Patnem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Resort

Property: Secret Garden Resort
Address: Patnem, Palolem | Canacona, Patnem, Canacona 403702, India (Formerly Secret Garden)
Location: India > Goa > Canacona > Patnem
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Patnem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the calm tranquil atmosphere of Secret Garden Resort set amongst tropical plants and flowers. Located in Columb Bay, between Patnem and Palolem, a pleasant short stroll to either beaches. Secret Garden Resort offers a collection of eco friendly cottages with kitchen facilities and with essential comforts to ensure your stay is enjoyable whilst surrounded by beautiful nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Secret Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Hotel Patnem
Secret Garden Resort Patnem, Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing