We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Secret Garden Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Patnem B&B and Inns
Nantes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a perfect place to stay”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We spent one week at Secret Garden just before christmas with our 2 young daughters (2 and 4 years old).
We were very happy of the new place. It is not on the beach, but in a very quiet and green garden. Our cottage was spacious and very clean.
We liked because each day we could choose between 3 different beaches to go by walking: Colomb beach in just 2/3 minutes, and Patnem and Palolem beach in 7/10 minutes.
The road and the path wich go to the beaches are really beautiful and quiet, with portuguese houses and sea view. It is really more quiet than the shacks you can find on the beach.
The staff is very very nice and always help you if you need.
You have many restaurants, some are really good, just few minutes by walking.
We will come back as soon as possible to Secret Garden.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcAttack1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
24
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Thanks to Nazir and Tracey for a lovely week at Secret Garden. It's a beautiful place, nice clean and quiet. Only a few minutes walk from both Patnem and Palolem beaches, but at a comfortable distance from the noicy dogs at the beach.
Both Nazir, Tracey and their staff were really helpful and friendly.
Perfect place to stay.
Thanks to you all at Secret Garden for a wonderful vacation.
Flemming, Lene, Christoffer and little Sally.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flemmingandlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We have always found Tripadvisor a great help and indicator when booking accommodation. Secret Garden however didn't live up to our expectations at all.

We booked a hut via internet before coming here and were told by Tracy and Nazir that the hut would be spacious with quality mattress and bedding.
We paid 2200 rupees per night for two adults and two small kids. The hut wasn't spacious at all. The bed was the most uncomfortable we've slept in here in India so far.
The told us they had wifi - but it didn't work.
The hut was also stinking of gasoline.

The staff was courteous, very friendly and willing to help. However there was a strict hierarchy between them, and the ones higher up were bullying those further down. Something we found uncomfortable and upsetting to be part of.

The new location is a 15 minutes walk from the beach. Although the garden is nice enough, it's a bit far off and includes tiresome walks through street stalls and hawkers who will not let you pass without notice.
There are no hawkers at all on the beach itself (Patnem) which is peaceful and magnificently beautiful. There are also plenty of accommodation which caters for all budgets on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LetThemEatLotsOfCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

After travelling for 6 months we are looking for a few days rest in south goa when we stumbled across the Secret Garden. After being there for two nights we decided we just couldn't leave such a beautiful place and booked another five weeks and it was fantastic. The accommodation is clean, tidy and has fantastic character, the people are fantastic and Naziers food it AMAZING!!! The area surrounding the huts is green, peaceful and beautiful and in my opinion perfectly situated. Can't praise the Secret Garden enough. Just hope one day we will be lucky enough to return. The best place we stayed.
Becky & Michael Sharp

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bexterbex2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We found this little gem away from the beach front but within easy walking distance. We ended up staying for 3 weeks, it is the kind of place you dont want to leave! Nazir and Tracey were more than great hosts we became friends, going out together and Nazir even allowed me to cook in the kitchen one night ( I am a chef!).

The place had a very chilled vibe and you could easily spend a day lazying around if you didnt fancy the beach. All staff very friendly and eager to please.

We will definatley return to the new 'Secret Garden' in the future. Would not hesitate to recommend this perfect place to stay in GOA.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJJBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2011

first of all like it's name there is something special in the garden that surround the huts and rooms, it's very peaceful and beautiful..all day u are at the beach any way, so for me i liked the green and the flowers..even the huts has flower names
i saw other huts on the beach but there were less clean, and hadn't had the homey feeling u get in secret garden, and as a solo traveler i felt so secure.
the people who work there can't be any nicer than they are, and they have the best breakfast and falafel in goa..and more...
nazir the owner will provide u all the things u need, information, arrange trip bout who will take u right from there, and if u don't feel so good he will get u what u need:-)

in the buttem line - i fell in love with the place !

lily/ayelet

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayelet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed at Secret Garden for about 5 nights during the New Year period (2011) and would recommend it to others based on these things:

Cottages are large and cool (fan)
Restaurant is very, very tasty (Kashmiri - esque, I think)
Excellent location near the beach (but not ON the beach)
Free wifi
Atmosphere is superb -- it really does feel like a "secret garden"


However the very first night we stayed, and this perhaps couldn't be helped by the hotel I realize, some CRAZY person was yelling for hours very, very near our cottage. It was honestly scary, and we couldn't sleep for a long time due to his yelling. At one point I yelled from inside the cottage for this individual to shut up -- I was disappointed that no hotel staff took this matter into their own hands to help resolve the issue.

Also -- our bathroom was constantly used by people eating at the restaurant. (it was not attached, but was right next to our cottage) We did have a lock, but it being Goa and us being on vacation, we often forgot to lock it. Not pleasant to be paying that much for a shared bathroom.

Still -- if you want peace of mind, it is easy to book ahead and is a very beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kschlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patnem
0.4 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dropadi Inn
Dropadi Inn
#9 of 9 in Palolem
50 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Fiesta
Casa Fiesta
#5 of 23 in Patnem
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palolem Beach Resort
Palolem Beach Resort
#28 of 79 in Canacona
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marron Sea View Resort
Marron Sea View Resort
#4 of 9 in Palolem
97 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bougainvillea Patnem
Bougainvillea Patnem
#2 of 14 in Patnem
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Resort

Property: Secret Garden Resort
Address: Patnem, Palolem | Canacona, Patnem, Canacona 403702, India (Formerly Secret Garden)
Location: India > Goa > Canacona > Patnem
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Patnem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the calm tranquil atmosphere of Secret Garden Resort set amongst tropical plants and flowers. Located in Columb Bay, between Patnem and Palolem, a pleasant short stroll to either beaches. Secret Garden Resort offers a collection of eco friendly cottages with kitchen facilities and with essential comforts to ensure your stay is enjoyable whilst surrounded by beautiful nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Secret Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Hotel Patnem
Secret Garden Resort Patnem, Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing