We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ten Bompas
Nearby Hotels
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$192
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Capital on Bath(Johannesburg)
$100
$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
$88
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$122
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$44
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
$241
$229
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
92
20
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
20
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary mini barwine pairingsteam bathboutique hotelbottle of champagne on icefree laundryprivate balconyan amazing hotelsitting roomsmall conferencespacious suitedelicious dinnerprior to our arrivalevery amenityeach eveningnespresso machinean oasis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 120 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We love Ten Bompas, so it's often our choice for our annual wedding anniversary night out/sleep-over. And this last trip didn't disappoint.

The rooms are as generous and comfortable as ever, the service attentive, the extras (sparkling wine, fruit plate, mini bar included) thoughtful. The gardens are still lovely. There's also wifi now, and Nespresso coffee machines.

All in all, we had fun, and a delicious dinner (salmon tartare, vichyssoise, duck confit and mushroom risotto) served in our suite by the efficient Winnet. The only small disappointments were the sluggish hot water and below-par breakfast.

But we'll be back again. Probably.

Room Tip: This was our fourth stay and our second stay in Suite 5. Had I been more organised I would have asked for a suite we'd not had before. All 10 are different, so it's nice to try each one.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiffanyMarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Tiffany, thank you for visiting Ten Bompas again. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the extras that contribute to your enjoyment of your stay. We have also brought in Nespresso tea machines (which will now be available for those who prefer tea to coffee in their suites!) Our water is heated by eco friendly natural gas which circulates throughout the hotel. Unfortunately, and unusually, we had a water leak in the night and the plumber had to interrupt the flow resulting in a drop in a temporary water temperature and it took longer to warm. Happily the problem was soon resolved. I would be grateful if you would send me your contact details so that I can discuss the breakfast offering with you - please send to peter@mix.co.za - warmest regards Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We only stayed here for one night but feel in love with all the finer details. Complimentary mini bar (with enough). Complimentary Wi-Fi access. The small fruit bowl when we arrived with the sound of music through the room. Details are everything and it was great. The biscuits and turned down sheets, to morning paper and a delicious breakfast. The rooms are large and extremely comfortable with a separate lounge area. Recommend the accommodation to anyone from travellers to business people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Lesley - Thank you for staying with us at Ten Bompas and for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the small touches that we hope make your time with us all the more relaxing and enjoyable. Warmest regards, Peter and the Ten Bompas Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I have not stayed at the hotel but we have enjoyed both breakfast and dinner on several occasions in small and larger parties. We have always enjoyed the innovative menu, the attention to detail and friendly service.

In pleasant weather a breakfast on the pool deck is delightful and you have the option of the elegant dining room when eating outdoors is less attractive.

Somehow if there is a 'family occasion' to be celebrated, Ten Bompas always seems to spring to mind first.

Frank & Jenny

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Frank and Jenny, thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Ten Bompas on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stays and your meals at Ten Bompas. I would like to let you know that there are some changes afoot. We are changing the interior of the hotel restaurant and it should open mid June serving French inspired cuisine. At the same time we are busy developing 8 Bompas and will open two new conference rooms and a lounge and terrace overlooking the hotel's vegetable gardens. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ten Bompas and to our new restaurant. Warmest regards Peter and the Ten Bompas Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

First I must mention that I have been visiting Ten Bompas on and off for 10 years. And there has been a steady decline in the experience the last few years. The service today has been lacking, it was like it was our waitress' first day and that she has never waitered before. The breakfast was a combination of partially cooked mushroom, old looking potatoes and messy poached eggs. Asked for Dan the manager twice, still waiting... Could not in good conscience recommend Ten Bompas to anyone. I still struggle to understand that this kind of experience is acceptable in the current world economic situation.

Stayed: January 2013
4  Thank AlwynVanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Alwyn

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent experience at Ten Bompas. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast. We prefer not to overcook fresh produce and we poach our eggs in a pot of boiling water with the result that they are not perfectly shaped. Nevertheless as soon as the waitress was told that the food was not to your liking she should have offered a replacement or taken the meal off the bill. This is a good lesson for us all and we have had a meeting with our serving staff this morning empowering them to do just that. I understand that our General Manager did ask for your telephone number - as he was out when you table concluded their breakfast meeting. Of course he should have attended to the complaint when he first became aware of it. My apologies for your disappointment but my thanks for the lessons we have learnt from this. If you do decide to return to Ten Bompas for another breakfast, please let me or Danie know as we would be delighted to offer it to you with our compliments. Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We often stay over in Johannesburg en route to other South African destinations. We stayed at Ten Bompas for the first time this year on two separate nights because the hotel we normally use was booked. This might prove to be our first choice in future, and we would definitely recommend it. The rooms/suites are very spacious and well laid out, with every amenity including coffee machines. We were able to add an extra bed so our three children could share one room, and there was still plenty of space. There are ipod docks in each room and good wifi signal. There were also lots of lovely extra touches which made the stay special: complimentary mini bar and spirits, with delicious hot snacks provided each evening. Meals are generally delicious: the inclusive breakfast had lots of choice and the chef was especially helpful in adapting choices for our daughter. Dinner was also great, in particular the banoffee pie which we rated the best ever. The staff were friendly and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable, even though we were there for just the one night each time. The mood was calm and peaceful, even in the centre of the city, and we will definitely use Ten Bompas on future trips.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ismelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Ismelda

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your recent visit to Ten Bompas Hotel. Thank you for providing such detailed feedback on your stay and it is gratifying to see that you enjoyed the meals in the hotel's restaurant. We started our own vegetable garden in the beginning of 2012 and hope to make produce sourced from the hotel's gardens more of a feature in our restaurant. Although we always served coffee on a complimentary basis we thought it a good idea to also introduce Nespresso machines into the suites for guests who preferred to make their own. It is good to see that you liked this feature. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to Ten Bompas! Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews