We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL B&B-SUPERB LOCATION”
Review of Les Trois Chenes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Trois Chenes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL B&B-SUPERB LOCATION”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have just returned from 11 glorious days at Les Trois Chenes.

On our arrival Frances showed us to our beautifully furnished upstairs bedroom which had a lovely bathroom overlooking the plum orchard.
We were made to feel at home immediately and nothing was too much trouble.
Each morning a delicious breakfast was prepared for us which could be taken inside or on the terrace (again beautiful).
We spent one evening having dinner with friends which Frances lovingly prepared. The table was laid beautifully and a lovely evening was had by all. The food was stunning!
A lot of our time was spent out and about and there was no problem if we decided we wanted to take food/wine back to the house for lunch, to enjoy at our leisure. Our wine was even chilled for us, if we fancied a 'tipple'.
The house is in a superb setting with a pool area and pool house with towels etc...where we spent our last couple of days, chilling. Heaven. The weather was glorious and again we were spoilt by our lovely host.
We could not find fault with Les Trois Chenes and will definately be returning (soon we hope).
Frances and Chris have managed to create a perfect haven for a perfect holiday. Outstanding!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolphillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I found Les Trois Chenes on Tripadviser and liked the sound of the reviews.

The house has only two rooms for B&B but both are excellent. My wife and I were downstairs in a room allowing access to the garden and swimming pool. It was a beautiful room with everything we could wish for including including a really comfortable bed with crisp linen and TWO easy chairs (how often do we find a room with just one chair?). Francis was most attentive bringing chilled milk for our tea/coffee tray and and glasses for our wine. When the Satelite TV box didn't work she phoned England to sort it out, even though we said it didn't bother us.

The garden and pool are beautiful, overlooking the plum orchard and with good quality furniture and sunshades. It was difficult to drag ourselves away and explore the surrounding countryside. The only fly in the ointment was that we had only four nights before we had to make our journey back to the uk. This was easily resolved - we decided we must come back in September and have a full week.

Breakfast each morning was a delight and, apart from one dull day, we were able to eat it outdoors. However,the real highlight of our visit was the night that we stayed in for dinner. Francis went to a lot of trouble lighting up the pool and setting up lots of candles on the outside terrace where we ate as dusk fell - very romantic with just the two of us. She is a FANTASTIC cook and we had one of the most memorable meals in a long, long time. When we do come back we will eat in more often than just the once!

This is an outstanding B&B with Francis a wonderful host (Chris was away at the time of our stay) and, much as we would like to keep the secret to ourselves, Les Trois Chenes deserves all the accolades we can give. We are getting excited about our return already.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ime08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Three nights at Les Trois Chenes is just not enough. It was our first time in this area of France and one of the highlights of our visit was staying at this beautiful B&B! First, the area where the house is located is gorgeous. Nestled in rolling hills where chateaus and vineyards abound, Les Trois Chenes itself is situated in a well manicured plum orchard just near the cute village of Saint Colomb de Lauzun. We had no problem whatsoever locating the property. When we arrived Frances greeted us whole heartedly and led us to a beautiful room, which had its own entrance leading to a lovely pool area. In terms of food, Frances is an amazing cook. The breakfasts were fresh, delicious and plentiful. Our last night Frances cooked us a 5 course meal that was to die for. My husband and I have travelled all over the world and Les Trois Chenes was probably the best B&B we've stayed at so far. Thanks again Frances, we'll be back:)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistayasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The highlight of our May, 2012 vacation to France was our stay at Les Trois Chenes, near Saint Colomb de Lauzun. The owners, Chris and Frances are the most gracious hosts a traveler could hope to meet. Their energy is boundless as indicated by their attention to every detail of your stay. You can make prior arrangements with Chris for touring, airport pick up etc. We simply enjoyed chatting with the two over a glass of good wine while enjoying the views of their beautiful orchard and lovely swimming pool. These two Britts offer the ultimate in a bed and breakfast. We have stayed in many in France and none compare to the service, hospitality and quality that you find at Les Trois Chenes. We can't wait to go back. In addition Frances is a chef extraordinaire! We were fortunate enough to have one evening meal from her gourmet kitchen-that was superb. The breakfasts were full English style and always served on fine (really fun) china. Rooms were beautiful with all the amenities you need for a perfect stay. We hit a spell of weird weather while in the region but there was always sun here. We feared we might be to far from the sites. Actually, you can easily see many of the small Bastide towns and vineyards in one day of touring or drive as far as Sarlat with time to spare for browsing and taking in all the area has to offer. A car would be a must unless you left the driving to Chris. Though we had a car, it would be fun to leave the driving to him on a future visit. For those of you who enjoy the look of a French home, you will love the design, terraces, gardens and layout of this house. We did take a spin on the bikes they had available. The roads were quiet, with beautiful vistas. This was a true GEM!

Room Tip: Our son traveled with us so we used both of the rooms they had for guests. Can't go wrong with e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packinlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, Kent
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights last week and were blown away. It's owned by a British couple Fran & Chris. Nothing was too much trouble. The room (and house) is beautiful, and very tasteful with top class furniture and fittings. French B&Bs can be so-so but not here, it was gorgeous! Our room was on the ground floor with it's own door onto the terrace, it was furnished in white antique french style. We had clean towels every day, pool towels were provided. There was a flat screen TV with some sky channels and a dvd player, Chris offered us a selection of dvds to borrow. Unusually for France there was a kettle and a tray laid out for tea and coffee making, Fran gave us fresh milk every day.There is a fabulous new large swimming pool, which was very welcome after a hot day touring the Dordogne, with a pool room and outdoor solar heated shower. Fran is a top class cook we ate better here than at most restaurants we've visited, the food was superb. The table was laid (beautifully) on the terrace overlooking the pool and plum orchards. I needed to eat early as I have a stomach problem but this was no problem for our hosts. This area of France has so much to offer with the Dordogne, Lot & Garonne rivers, there are numerous Chateaux and vineyards with wine tastings. The towns and villages are so pretty. There is an airport at Bergerac used by Ryannair, Chris said he would pick people up from there, it's only a 30 minute drive away.
We cant wait to go back again, we had a lovely time with lovely hosts.

Room Tip: They have two rooms, one on the ground floor with en-suite shower room,this room has access to the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeomanoftheguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Colomb de Lauzun
17.3 mi away
Hotel Le Moulin De Madame
Hotel Le Moulin De Madame
#2 of 9 in Villeneuve-sur-Lot
318 reviews
4.9 mi away
Les Vieilles Pierres
Les Vieilles Pierres
#1 of 1 in Eymet
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chez Madeleine
Chez Madeleine
#2 of 3 in Saint Colomb de Lauzun
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
L'Entree Chambres d'Hotes & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Villa Corisande
Villa Corisande
#2 of 11 in Eymet
93 reviews
11.8 mi away
Moulin de Labique
Moulin de Labique
#1 of 2 in St. Eutrope de Born
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Trois Chenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Trois Chenes

Property: Les Trois Chenes
Address: Les Champs | Saint Colomb de Lauzun, 47410 Saint Colomb de Lauzun, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Saint Colomb de Lauzun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Colomb de Lauzun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your French experience and receive a warm welcome from Chris and Frances Anthony. Frances is an experienced chef and has won many accolades in England and is passionate about her cooking. Chris runs Minibus47 a business for guided tours around the Aquitaine region of France for wine tours and sightseeing trips. Luxurious Bed and Breakfast, the focus of the rooms is for comfort and style. Each room has been individually designed using antique and reproduction antique furniture. Four bedrooms sleeping 8/9 guests. One en-suite bedroom with king sized bed and sofa bed situated on the ground floor having its own entrance with views to the plum orchard and has underfloor heating for winter stays. Our second ground floor en-suite has it's own entrance and private terrace. The third and fourth bedroom are on the first floor one with king sized bed and the other with twin beds. All rooms have flat screen television with DVD and CD player, radio/alarm, coffee & tea making facilities and Wi-Fi-internet is also available. All guests have the use of the salt water swimming pool, sun beds, pool house complete with books and games or you can just stroll around the plum orchard. Our own activities include Cycling (bikes are free to use) Archery under guidance (left and right hand bows) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Trois Chenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing