We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Gem”

Dr. Ramnath A. Podar Haveli Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Nawalgarh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Middleton, WI
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This lovely museum was one of the wonderful things we discovered when we visited India in March. We hadn't expected to find anything special in Nawalgarh, but it made a good half-way spot to stay overnight between New Delhi and Bikaner, so we stopped for a night, and were so glad we did. This museum building is an old haveli with beautifully restored frescoes, and a number of rooms about Rajasthani art and culture. We enjoyed learning about the Hindu festivals, and we liked the wedding costumes, the musical instruments, the miniature paintings, and the models of the forts. We definitely recommend this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    52
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pilani, India
1 review
“Most knowledgeful trip ever”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have visited many monuments in past but unable to know much them as the guide fees is either too high or they are not interested in explaining the historical significance of the monument to Indians . But this time the experience was different Guide Mr. Sunil & Rahul explained each and everything with a lot of enthusiasm.They shared their interpretation of various Indian customs .So the place is a must to visit in company these fabulous guides.Since we are college students so the fess was not too high around Rs 40/head.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank arpits123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained Haveli museum in Nawalgarh”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This haveli is truly one of a kind. The paintings are very well maintained, the spaces looked after and the guide can help you understand how these buildings worked in the past. Entry fee is a little high (100RP each) but definitely worth it. Also, our guide Rahul Singh was very knowledgable and answered all our questions. Highly recommend it.

Helpful?
3 Thank LilacAndYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Museum”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A good Museum with good structure and clean. Entry fee is on higher side in comparison to other great Monuments of India.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NIKHILDEVA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Truly amazing!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

From the moment you step into this museum you know that it is truly amazing. The frescoes dating back 300 years have been beautifully maintained the artefacts that have been collected to show the visitors are excellent. The Indian wedding attire display is really spectacular and also the turban display
It really is a master piece of articles from the Rajasthan region, so much to see and enjoy!
An absolute must see and definitely take your camera!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Ramnath A. Podar Haveli Museum also viewed

Nawalgarh, Jhunjhunu District
Nawalgarh, Jhunjhunu District
 
Mandawa, Jhunjhunu District
Fatehpur, Fatehpur District
 

Been to Dr. Ramnath A. Podar Haveli Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing