We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The magnificent chateau Caillac”
other traveler has booked this property
Chateau Caillac
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chateau Caillac
Cezanne Room (Groundfloor) Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Chateau Caillac
Cezanne Room (Groundfloor)
Balcony
Garden Pond
Turret
More Turrets
Pool House Dining Area
Private Jetty
Crystal Balustrade in the round Turret
Moreau Room
Wisteria in the front garden
Bouguereau Room
Cezanne Room with private lounge area
One of the beautiful Plane Trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Fongrave, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cathy H
1 review
“The magnificent chateau Caillac”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in June 2018

We have just spent a glorious week at this magical place,which exceeded all our expectations. Everything was provided over and above our requirements on 5 separate holidays in chateaus in France this one was far and away the best we have ever stayed at. The splendid location on the river Lot enabled us to go boating and kayaking which were both provided, our family party of 11 enjoyed all the games provided,and of course spent hours in the swimming pool. The owners Angela and Steve were so friendly and so helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2018
Hello Cathy. Steve and I were delighted to meet you and your family and it's great to hear you had a wonderful stay. You and your family are very welcome to return again some time. Thank you for the fab review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderers...
Essex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Above & Beyond!”
Reviewed June 13, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Booked for a party of 14 adults to celebrate my 50th birthday. I researched a lot of chateau in advance and this ticked all the boxes. All the bedrooms are big and all but one are ensuite (last one has a huge shower and toilet room next door). The chateau has been tastefully decorated with many thoughtful personal touches. It’s spacious and you don’t feel like you are on top of each other. Plenty of crockery and cutlery to use 2 huge fridge freezers in the main house and another fridge down by the pool which also has a well stocked kitchen area.

A local kayak company picked us up from the Chateau and dropped us 11kms up the river and we had an easy 2 hr kayak right back to the river at the bottom of the Chateau (with a cheeky pit stop at one of the villages en route). We also used the bikes and did a nice 12 mile loop!

The housekeeper Kim cooked an excellent 3 course meal for my birthday. Superb. I would highly recommend her. More fun to have a catered evening in this beautiful chateau.

We only ate out a couple of times including at the new restaurant in Fongrave. This was lovely and well worth a visit.

The supermarket was only a short drive away in the next village. All very accessible.

We were all blown away by the Chateau. And one day We would love to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2018
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. Thank you also for the lovely card you made and sent to us after your stay. We hope that you will stay at Chateau Caillac again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette121...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed June 11, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The chateau is incredible! Stunning property with a fabulous garden that backs on to the river, there is also a swimming pool. The rooms in the chateau are huge, each with own private bathroom facilities. There is plenty to do at the chateau, including bike riding and kayaking.
We had a meal cooked for us by Kim, the housekeeper. We all thoroughly enjoyed this, her cooking was superb.
Would definitely recommend this chateau for friends and family, and would happily go back and stay there again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2018
Thank you Susan for the wonderful review. You would decinatelybe welcome back in the future and thank you for recommending to your friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyP2013
2 reviews
“A Dream Getaway”
Reviewed May 30, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This was my third visit to the Chateau and I'm already looking forward to my fourth. Located in the peaceful French countryside, Chateau Caillac is the perfect getaway for large groups of friends and family. The Chateau itself is situated right next to the Lot river and is close enough for a quick cycle into the local villages (bikes provided). There's plenty to keep you occupied at the Chateau too (boats, table tennis, pool table...).

I spent most of my week by the beautiful pool area, which comes with outdoor BBQ equipment - excellent for evening meals. The surrounding area is picturesque, relaxing and quaint. If you're looking to get away from it all, then Chateau Caillac is the most luxurious option you could choose.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2018
Thank you for taking time to write the review Andy. I am delighted that once again you enjoyed your stay at Caillac. I very much hope you and your friends will book again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerD...
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Superb week in a beautiful Chateau.”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Chateau Caillac was just perfect. Comfortable and spacious rooms with ample bathrooms. Lovely setting, with own river frontage. Popular pool and poolside facilities Nothing lacking in any department - even the jigsaw was complete!

The area was plentifully supplied with interesting places to visit and with good restaurants. I wish we had booked for longer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
Thank you very much......it's great to hear you all had a fabulous holiday. Look forward to you coming again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intrepidt...
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous chateau”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent the most fantastic week in this simply stunning chateau. The perfect retreat for a large group. There is so much to do (bikes, boat, kayak, table tennis, pool table) and so much space for the children to run around in. The pool is great with a wonderful BBQ area and the chateau itself is just oozing charm and comfort. Very thoughtful owners have really thought of everything - really couldn't have asked for anything more. Can't recommend highly enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Thank you for your review. We work hard to try to think of everything you may need for your holiday, and it's great to hear how much it's appreciated. Hopefully you will return again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragonzol...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous chateau in stunning location”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from an amazing week at the absolutely incredible Chateau Caillac - truly a stunning venue for our family group holiday with lots of fabulous little touches which made our stay truly memorable for us all , from the baby through to grandparents - Thankyou

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review and we hope you will return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing