We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Chateau for a Family Holiday”
other traveler has booked this property
Chateau Caillac
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chateau Caillac
Cezanne Room (Groundfloor) Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Chateau Caillac
Cezanne Room (Groundfloor)
Balcony
Garden Pond
Turret
More Turrets
Pool House Dining Area
Private Jetty
Crystal Balustrade in the round Turret
Moreau Room
Wisteria in the front garden
Bouguereau Room
Cezanne Room with private lounge area
One of the beautiful Plane Trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Fongrave, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JerseyCIT...
Jersey Channel Islands UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chateau for a Family Holiday”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Chateau Caillac to celebrate our 50th Wedding anniversary with our three children and their children, total 7 adults and 9 children.
It was an ideal venue, lovely house in 5 acres of gardens right on the River Lot. Plenty of room inside and out for all to enjoy themselves at the excellent pool, on or in the River swimming or boating, or playing games and sports in the extensive grounds. The River Lot is barraged at this point and has virtually no flow, more like a lake. Very peaceful surroundings with pretty villages nearby, weather excellent, eating all meals outside.
Would definitely go again, and thoroughly recommend for a family holiday.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Chateau.
It's always great to hear that the whole family enjoyed their holiday.
Many families return again and we hope you will too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful chateau. Very French!”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time and the owner and housekeeper were very helpful and responsive. The situation and the chateau are absolutely idyllic. Decor could do with a lift and better showers would be good. But stunning!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2016
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and hope you will return for another holiday soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcclement...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first holiday to the Chateuaux Caillac but it won't be our last.
We were a party of 16 so needed a lot of space and this chateaux certainly provides that. The accommodation was perfect for such a large group all having our own rooms with ensuites which were very clean and beautifully furnished. The rest of the accommodation also works well as there are lots of areas to be able to enjoy without feeling on top of each other. Although it is very peaceful, there are plenty of things to do. We hired a boat and the younger adults water skied on the river. We also took out the little fishing boat and had an attempt at catching fish. Every day a group of the party went out on bikes to the local town or just explored the area. Badminton on the lawn was great fun. Table tennis competitions, and even swimming races in the pool !!
The chateaux is well equipped and we dined al fresco every evening.
We all want to have another holiday at the Chateaux next year, we enjoyed it so much. Thoroughly recommend it !!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
We are pleased to hear about your stay at Chateau Caillac and that you had such an enjoyable stay. We very much hope you will return again next year. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place I can totally switch off and enjoy the surroundings”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My third trip to the chateau and just as good as the first! Beautiful building, surroundings, setting and location. A great place to stay with friends or family with that extra special touch. I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates home comforts with a French twist.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2016
Many thanks. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for holidaying at Chateau Caillac and we hope you will return again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I intend to revisit this chateau and this area again and again and again.”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This luxury self-catering accommodation is situated right on the banks of the river Lot, which makes it ideal for large groups with diverse interests. There is space to be together for dining and relaxing, whilst there is also ample space to lose yourself to read, rest or reflect. I have now visited Chateau Caillac on several occasions, both with family and friends. It has everything to offer, for both young and old, whatever individual tastes and preferences. Despite unusually poor weather on this last trip, the outstanding beauty of the location shines through. Several beautiful villages are within cycling distance (some flat rides and some hills) and there are several bikes and tandems available for use. Places like Agen and Bordeaux are a manageable drive away and there are stunning historic villages in the vicinity, such as Penne d'Agenais and Monflanquin. I have travelled widely, but I return again and again to this idyllic location, for its peace and tranquility, relaxed lifestyle and friendly, helpful local people. I cannot recommend this stunning chateau highly enough, as it combines old world charm with modern comforts. The best of everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: There is nothing I can fault. I can't wait to go back.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2016
It has always been our goal to provide something for everyone so that groups all enjoy their stay at the Chateau and it's good to hear that we are getting it right. Thank you for booking the Chateau again this year and for taking the time to write the review. hopefully you will come along again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place to holiday with friends”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the chateaux for a girls holiday to celebrate a few special birthdays. The chateaux itself is amazing, with beautiful and tasteful decor throughout and every bit of equipment you could possibly need for an action packed and fun filled holiday (even chance to ride tandem!). The location is so peaceful and immediately on arriving you feel relaxed. The enormous amount of space both inside and outside allows a large party of friends to each find their own special place to relax, yet find plenty of communal space to celebrate and have fun. We loved every minute of our stay. Thank you and we hope to return someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2016
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that all your friends enjoyed their stay. We agree with you that the chateau is a special place and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPJ365
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“JP”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My guests and I recently stayed at Chateau Caillac where we all enjoyed a fabulous week in this truly amazing residence in what can only be described as a magical location on the river. Angela (the owner) was incredibly helpful prior to our trip and Kim who met us when we arrived helped us immensely in her role as an unoffical personal concierge! as she booked us into some lovely local restaurants in the area. Highly recommend a visit!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Chateau Caillac. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and we very much hope you return again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing