We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even better than the 1st time”
other traveler has booked this property
The Chateau
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Chateau
The Pool Degas Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
The Chateau
The Pool
Degas Room
Renoir Room
Roll top bath
Chateau Caillac
The Turret Staircase
South facing terrace with river views
Hallway Seating - Perfect for quiet reading looking over the garden and the river.
Lounge with Satalite TV and DVD,s
Cezanne Room (Groundfloor)
Balcony
Garden Pond
Kitchen & Dining Area - enough room for everyone
Turret
More Turrets
Pool House Dining Area
Private Jetty
Crystal Balustrade in the round Turret
Moreau Room
Wisteria in the front garden
Bouguereau Room
Cezanne Room with private lounge area
One of the beautiful Plane Trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Fongrave, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
archieada...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Even better than the 1st time”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This was our second visit to the Chateau and it once again surpassed all our expectations. The place really is truly magnificent and Angela and Steve have thought of pretty much everything. We all agreed upon leaving on what an amazing time that we had and that a week is just not long enough (we said this the first time as well!!) Unfortunately the weather was not as good as when we first visited. This did not however dampen our spirits and only strengthened our resolve to return again soon and this time for two weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
Really happy that you and your family enjoyed the Chateau again this year. Looking forward to hearing from you in the future for that all important two week booking. Thanks for taking the time to write the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine...
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful holiday venue with everything you could ask for!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had an amazing week at Chateau Caillac. The children loved the pool, the bikes, the pool table and the space to play cricket in the garden! We did a few rowing boat trips on the river at the bottom of the garden too. The adults loved the rooms, en-suites, the kitchen and the lovely outside eating area. The owners had thought of everything and we all had a relaxing time. The village restaurant was great and really family friendly and the walk to get the bread in the mornings was fun too. It was lovely to have a farm shop across the road too. Perfect holiday for all age groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and outdoor dining area.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2013
Its always good to hear that our clients have had a lovely time. Thank you for writing the review. We hope that you and your family return again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire W
Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday in a spectacular chateau in a beautiful location”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed for two weeks in Chateau Caillac with three generations of our extended family and everyone had a fantastic time. Good first impressions driving up the plane tree avenue just got better and better. The chateau was beautifully and comfortably furnished with lots of space inside and out for the family to be all together or for some quiet time apart. The main kitchen was large and very well equipped with the added bonus of gas barbeque and second kitchen with another dishwasher next to the shaded outdoor dining area by the pool - perfect for family meals. The was loads to do on site with the pool, pool table, table tennis table and our own personal highlight swimming in the river which was deep and still and a pleasure to swim in (as well as row and paddle on!). Lots of bikes were available on site which alllowed a small party to head off to the local towns (St Livrade or Castelmoron) along quite roads to buy the bread. Good cycle routes also allowed longer excursions through beautiful rolling countryside. Angela the owner made booking very simple and provided helpful directions. Kim, the local 'agent' was exceptionally friendly and helpful and unobstrusively made sure we had a good stay. I would recommend this property without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Staying in a beautiful chateau and having direct access to a beautiful river.
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2013
Its great to hear that you and all your family enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review and your recommendation and we hope you stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuban-Hea...
Fife,Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastically appointed French Chateau”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I am in 2 minds over writing this review given that the more this property is reviewed, almost inevitably highly, the more in demand it shall become making it harder to book for a return visit.
The house is amazing. Large enough for our 4 families to spend a week in without feeling cramped. The weather was very hot but the pool is great and the river if you're feeling more adventurous.
We enjoyed a good meal at the cafe in Fongrave one evening and everyone loved the market evening on the Thursday which is weekly July through August. Given how nice the chateau and its grounds are you should be prepared to do very little during your stay as it's so nice staying on site but clearly there is no shortage of villages, towns and castles in the vicinity to visit if you wish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: Difficult to find negatives. It was very hot all week and small fans in the rooms would be a welcome addition
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2013
We agree with you, the market on a Thursday is surely not to be missed!Very pleased that you enjoyed your meal at the local Beau Rivage, its traditional french food is always enjoyed both by tourists and the locals. We hope you will visit Chateau Caillac again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flyerboy4...
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chateau Cayac was the perfect place for us!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The Chateau was everything we could have expected in a real French holiday. The home is very spacious and the bedrooms are beautifully decorated. Most of our time was spent in the kitchen which was big enough for all to help out at mealtimes. We were welcomed to the chateau with a lovely basket of staples to get us started and a beautiful vase of flowers (which lasted the entire week). The outdoor spaces did not dissappoint either. We spent most evenings outside on the back patio looking at the peaceful river traffic and listening to the frog in the fountain. The house is surrounded by farms from which we purchased fresh fruits and vegetables. There are lots of charming towns nearby to explore by bike or car. We miss the place already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the river location
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the welcome hamper and flowers that we left for you.

It made us laugh that you mentioned the resident Bull Frog, he is very vocal and often has guests looking around to see what animal makes such a funny noise.

We hope that you will visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyPau...
Sydney
1 review
“The chateau offered plenty of space for two large families, peace, shade in a satisfyingly grand setting.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had one week (wish it had been two) at Chateau Caillac. Ten of us fit very easily. The kids loved the pool, the river, the shadey garden and tabletennis /pool table as required. The adults loved the outdoor kitchen by the pool, the beautifully renovated, airy and stylish bedrooms and the grandeur of the house and grounds. Local markets were a highlight and in easy reach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet beautiful location
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope that you and your guests will return again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyELaV...
La Verne
1 review
“Beautiful house and property”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Chateau Caillac a few weeks ago and other than having a little more rain than we would have liked we loved it. The property itself is beautiful and very peaceful. We loved being on the river and being able to use the row boat and kayak that comes with the rental. We were able to bike ride and were very happy with the nice selection of bikes. The house itself was great. We used both the indoor and outdoor kitchens. The pool was also a hit on those warmer days. We highly recommend this to anyone wanting to experience some quite French life. We had dinner at two different nearby restaurans and both were great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and pool.
Liked least: Mosquitos
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2013
Hello Patty. Thank you for taking the time to review Caillac. I am so pleased that you had a lovely stay, we hope that you will be back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$5,978
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing