We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Magical Week!”
other traveler has booked this property
Chateau Caillac
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chateau Caillac
Cezanne Room (Groundfloor) Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
Chateau Caillac
Cezanne Room (Groundfloor)
Balcony
Garden Pond
Turret
More Turrets
Pool House Dining Area
Private Jetty
Crystal Balustrade in the round Turret
Moreau Room
Wisteria in the front garden
Bouguereau Room
Cezanne Room with private lounge area
One of the beautiful Plane Trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Fongrave, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gill437
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Magical Week!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Wow, what a wonderful week our extended family enjoyed at the Chateau. It is an amazing house with a garden to delight all, especially the young children. As this was a family get together it surpassed our expectations. From the moment we drove up the tree lined drive and entered the house it was a moment of amazement. We were blessed with a week of sun and blue skies which meant we ate outdoors for all meals and more! The pool is very suitable for family with young children and was enjoyed for many hours each day. I just loved the outdoor kitchen area beside the pool, seeking shelter from the sun for lunch somedays. It was so well equipped.
Bedrooms are beautifully furnished and I loved my bathroom in the turret! The character of the chateau has been maintained which adds to its beauty. Kitchen is so well equipped, in fact there is nothing wanting in this chateau. The owners have carefully thought of everything needed to make one's stay enjoyable. Being able to cycle to the local market close by was enjoyed by the older children and adults too!
It was sad to leave this beautiful, peaceful place. Must now be content with photos for memories. Great memories for all the family. Would love to return some day. A magical place. Thank you Angela.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty of chateau
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2012
Gillian, Steve and I are delighted that you and all your family enjoyed your holiday at the Chateau. We hope that you will all be able to spend another holiday there in the future. Kind Regards Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen T
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous fairy tale accommodation”
Reviewed June 18, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

To stay in this magical place will be a memory to last a life time.
Breakfast on the patio with fresh pastries from the local bake shop.
A day out visiting the best bastiille towns in France.
And back to the Chateau for a superb BBQ sipping excellent wine.
Excellent facilities here at the Chateau including fabulous bedrooms, bathrooms and a kitchen that Gordon Ramsey would be jealous of.
Endless activities to keep all ages entertained especially fishing, cycling, reading, sun-bathing, pool, table tennis and badminton and many many more.
This is a must for any wildlife enthusiast with The hoopoo bird and red squirrels sharing the delights of the gardens.
You can imagine that your are Romeo & Juliet, Rapunzel or even Sleeping Beauty in this magnificent building.
All ages will appreciate this holiday you must go if only to make all your friends green with envy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2012
We are very pleased you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemma k
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“WOW! the most amazing holiday ever!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed at Chateaux Caillac with our closest friends and their children. We have the most amazing week of relaxing, cycling, swimming, playing games and cooking and eating great food. We could not have asked for a more perfect holiday home. The rooms are decorated beautifully, the grounds are stunning and there is so much space for the children to make adventures!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2012
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your week at Chateau Caillac. We very much hope you will come back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 30, 2012 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Chateau Caillac.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Wales
Reviewed October 7, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge
Reviewed September 14, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawkeyeKe...
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed September 10, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We stayed for two weeks as an extended family age range 1yr to 69 yrs.
The weather was perfect so we made much use of the poll and covered BBQ area which has a large first rate gas BBQ witha kitchen incorporatin a frige, dish washer, sink and cupboarde loded with enough cutlery and crockery for all 15 of us. This is matched by the equipment in the chateau, the that is on a grander scale and the eqipment in the separate accommodation
We fished and boated on the river, swam in the pool and relaxed in the shade of garden trees and in the chateau itself.
I am trying to think of some criticism and the only one that comes to mind which afflicts all men who are over 6ft. tall is that beds with coards at both end can be a bit of a problem.
If you go to this chateau you have to visit fongrave on thursday evening in summer, people form miles around come for a party.One of our three year olds developed a tatse for snails!!
We all had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: Length of beds for tall people
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing