We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for families, great location”
Review of Tamarind Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarind Sands
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cabarita Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent for families, great location”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We've been to Tamarind Sands three times now. Our daughters are young teens and so for us the units, facilities and proximity to Gold Coast and theme parks makes this an ideal holiday location. The units are gradually being upgraded with new furniture. They are clean and well maintained. With a new big Woolworths open now (2 minute drive/10 minute walk) self-catering is easy. The BBQ area is lovely, and the pool is so inviting! Beach is a short walk away. Yvonne and John are so friendly and have lots of tips on maximising usage of timeshare. They both take great pride in maintaining the resort, and ensuring a comfortable stay for guests. One bug is the cost of internet - so we use our own wireless 'dongle' instead. Nearby: Beaches, Tropical Fruit World; Clubs; Restaurants. Further afield (about 45min drive) are the theme parks and Gold Coast. Shopping at Harbourtown or Robina. We'll be going back again for a fourth stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband and I just spent 2 weeks here with our daughter and son-in-law from Brisbane joining us for the weekend in the middle. This is our second visit here and we could not fault the facilities. We had a middle level room and the kids slept on the sofa beds for the one night which was adequate. A 2 bedroom unit would be essential for a longer stay for 4 people! The BBQ facilities are immaculate and the pool glistening and so refreshing in the beautiful weather we had. Cabarita is untouched and the beach stunning! Walking along the beach is wonderful - we did that everyday! The addition of Woolworths was a great surprise! Highly recommend the Resort and the general area - so close to the Gold Coast if you want to go there. Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful - we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I spent a week with friends in three units of the Resort. It was fun to dip in the pool and spa after a walk to the beach each morning. Great for families - two teen girls enjoyed watching DVDs on hand at the resort, and all of us had fun playing the Charades game one night. BBQs allowed for plenty of relaxing in evenings. Slightly older facilities, comfortable enough, not for those wanting 5-star luxury. Wi-fi was surprisingly expensive, so I used my Optus prepaid dongle, best received on the balcony, and went to the Cabirita Sports Club for free access; this could be an advantage if you want to detox from overusing the internet!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Clear-Direction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanthorpe, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Apartment was basic. Unfortunately our unit location was a big minus. Our very minimal twin bedroom was basic to say the least. External noise and light not pleasant. Only two towels supplied and then wash yourself or buy from reception. No hair drier. Amenities relied on the courtesy of those in the main queen bedroom. Privacy almost impossible.
Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: High floors only and three bedrooms even if not all to be used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navy949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Cleanest, best stocked, most pleasant place I have ever stayed in.
Great beaches nearby. Great facilities in the town.
Couldn't be in a better location. Only thing I didn't like was the racist "letter from an Irish mother" posted in the games room. Especially annoyed by it as the manager is allegedly Irish.
I'm Irish, not super sensitive, but didn't appreciate that attempt at humour.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed here every year for a number of years. The facilities and apartments are excellent, and the staff very friendly. The whole resort is very clean and tidy. The grounds are very neat with lovely plantings. There are activities such as mini golf, table tennis and pool. It caters for everyone from singles to families. There is a great sports club nearby that has good well priced meals and drinks. A courtesy bus operates and picks up and drops off at the resort. The beach is about 10 minutes walk away and there's plenty of great walks there. The near by Madura tea plantation is well worth visiting. The Gold coast is 20-30 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RADMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012 and had a lovely time, this place must be the cleanest place i have ever stayed in I don't think I was one piece of rubbish or cigarette butt the whole time i was there and the rooms are spotless. The staff are very friendly and so helpful, we where going to the beach and asked about a beach chair and they presented me with their own private one. I loved that every couple of mornings you could pay $5 and the staff put on a cooked breakfast that you could go down and have beside the pool, (eggs,bacon) (pan cakes) Our flat overlooked the pool the whole place is lovely. Would differently go back.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tracybundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarita Beach
2.3 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
612 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beach Resort
The Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Cabarita Beach
193 reviews
3.7 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mantra on Salt Beach
Mantra on Salt Beach
#3 of 5 in Kingscliff
2,549 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pottsville Beach Motel
Pottsville Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Pottsville
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamond Beach Resort
Diamond Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cabarita Beach
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Sands

Property: Tamarind Sands
Address: 49 Tamarind Ave, Cabarita Beach, New South Wales 2488, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cabarita Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cabarita Beach
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Sands 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Tamarind Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing