We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, serene and natural beauty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarind Sands
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cabarita Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, serene and natural beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Cabarita beach is a wonderful location. It has beautiful beaches, trendy cafes, surf beaches, a big new supermarket yet is surrounded by natural bush. Tamarind sands is opposite a nature reserve with a big lake, so the units over look natural bush. The grounds are lush and neat. There's plenty of activities for kids. It's a short walk to the beach and Main Street yet very quiet and serene.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thispreciousearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I spent one week in Cabarita Beach and we had a fabulous experience. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a view of the pool. We had a full kitchen and cooked in our suite several nights, buying food in close by Cabarita. The receptionist helped us out numerous times with deciding what to do in the area and even help us set up surf lessons. It was very quiet there (May 2010) and we enjoyed watching some Australian tv at the end of our hectic days exploring Byron Bay, Hiking Mt Warning, snorkeling, and enjoying the beaches on the Gold coast. We loved every minute and will cherish the memories of our time here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jbelle380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cabaret Beach is a wonderful holiday spot between the Gold Coast and Bryron Bay. Tamarind Sands provides all you need for a great holiday. The units are spacious and well maintained, a sparkling pool, tennis court, mini golf and games room. The staff are very helpful, especially Liz in the office. The local town provides all you need and Kingscliffe is only 10 minutes away for the larger supermarket. Proximity to the main highway allows for easy access to the highlights of the Gold Coast and the airport. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort for your next holiday

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sagharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

It has all that you would expect, lovely pool, spa, BBQ facilities, pool table, table tennis & tennis court, but it also had a mini golf course. Very well presented and clean.
The stand out for me was our apartment. We had a 3 bedroom overlooking the pool above reception and members lounge. The apartment was very spacious and well laid out. Excellent water pressure! The downside for me is the water pipes (?) are very noisy.
Close drive to lots of great places such as beach, Kingdcliff, cabarita, Salt. We took our bikes and enjoyed the flat area and gorgeous beachside views. Lots of cheap places to eat.
Great stay. We're coming back in a few months.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Pleasantly surprised to find this well-maintained property on the NSW North Coast. Apart from the beach, Cabarita itself does not have much to offer in terms of attractions, restaurants, shopping, etc. However, its close proximity to Kingscliff (about 8 km) was a redeeming factor. The friendly management has obviously taken great care to keep the resort functioning as it does to attract the several repeat visitors that we met. BBQ and pool areas were clean and there was enough (mini golf, tennis, etc.) to keep the children occupied. There were ensuites to both bedrooms in our unit - a feature not often found in other resorts. The only negatives were the expensive internet rates and that some of the white goods (microwave and dishwasher) in our unit had probably reached their "best before" dates!! Overall, a great place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NKureshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here last year and where very happy, so we came back. We where just as happy this time. Nothing has changed, gardens, pool and rooms still A1 and very well looked after. the people running the hotel are very friendly.
So 99% positive and only 1% negative and that would be the bed, still to hard. But like I said last time, its only because I like a soft bed.
See you all next year.

Room Tip: If you have leg, back or hip problems, book the ground floor as there are no lifts and you have to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Queen_of_Dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Cabarita beach is a small, quiet, old fashioned seaside village - just fabulous. Enough shops, eating/drinking options, and close to expanding Tweed Coast developments and Gold Coast. Beach is sensational - 24 water temp and very clean, with great life guard arrangements. Blue rose cafe, beach bar and surf club great local coffee/meals/drinks.
We have a 3 bed apartment at Tamarind Sands, about 700 mtrs to beach. PROS > large 3 bed unit v well set up; 2 x queen rooms, 1x twin rooms and 2 x ensuite bathrooms, and additional sofa bedding in lounge. Kitchen well set up, convection microwave, but no oven. Flat screen tvs, pay tv, outside balcony seats four around a table. Property extremely well maintained, with great BBQ area, tennis court, mini golf, playroom, etc. Service from Liz and Frank is high class.
CONS > salt based pool is small, although a lot of fun for kids, with cave and waterfall. Wifi internet access charges are ridiculously high, and access to mobile Internet very patchy otherwise - also mobile phone access patchy.
Overall a gem of a place, our fourth visit in 6 years, and a great summer holiday spot. Ssh - don't tell too many!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank adss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarita Beach
2.3 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Halcyon House
Halcyon House
#1 of 4 in Cabarita Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beach Resort
The Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Cabarita Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mantra on Salt Beach
Mantra on Salt Beach
#3 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
3.7 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Pottsville Beach Motel
Pottsville Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Pottsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Sands

Property: Tamarind Sands
Address: 49 Tamarind Ave, Cabarita Beach, New South Wales 2488, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cabarita Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cabarita Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Sands 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Tamarind Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing