We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest hosts in Tasmania!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Storm Bay Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 White Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendliest hosts in Tasmania!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have just returned from a motorbike riding holiday in Tasmania, and would like to acknowledge the excellent and friendly service that we received whilst staying at the Storm Bay Guest House. Bev and Gary are amiable hosts sharing their gorgeous home and view with strangers. They have a sign at the door about entering as strangers and leaving as friends, which we certainly felt having spent a marvellous evening with them and their other guests. I generally avoid staying at B&Bs, however I couldn't have felt more at home and cared for as if we were part of their extended family. The weather was quite wild and Gary invited us to put our bikes in his shed, which was greatly appreciated. The rooms were comfortable with the Bayview and Blue rooms having terrific views across the water. The view from the verandah is spectacular. Gary was wonderful in the morning marking out all the local viewpoints with his personal ratings which we followed and were not disappointed, especially enjoying our fish and chip cones at the "Doo-luscious" van in Doo Town! We would recommend staying at this establishment unconditionally and wish Bev and Gary continued success. Sharon and Ashley.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabarita7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormy91, Owner at Storm Bay Guest House, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much Sharon and Ashley for the fantastic review. Bev and I love to see people enjoying themselves and we really appreciated your company.It was just a shame that the weather wasn't kinder to you.
The Tasman Peninsula is a wonderful place and we are glad that we could contribute to what was shaping up to be a great holiday.
Thank you kindly once again and we hope that you may return in the future to enjoy more of the great bike rides in Tassie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    13
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
103
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
601 reviews
282 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I could not recommend this property highly enough, it was wonderful. If you look at my profile, we have stayed at hundreds of places, and this is up with the best

You would not call it luxurious - we stayed in the self catering cottage, but it it large and has wonderful views out to the sea. Happily we did not encounter any of the eponymous storms during our stay. The cottage is very well kitted out, there is a wood fire for colder days. It was very good value for money, and perfect for visiting Port Arthur a few minutes up the road

The only slight problem was that there were very few places in easy reach for evening meals , but we were doing our own cooking anyway

The owners were charming and helpful, and made time for a chat

So if you are visiting Port Arthur, then stay here

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormy91, Owner at Storm Bay Guest House, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you kindly for the wonderful recommendation and obviously with your travel history you have seen many accommodation facilities throughout the world. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and that you had time to relax and take in the views over Parsons Bay. It is a good point that you make in regard to our local Nubeena resturants and eateries as a number reduce their hours of trading outside the summer months while the Port Arthur establishments maintain fairly consistent trading days/hours. However, since your recent stay, one establishment has now extended its trading to include dinner and one other is now operating seven days a week. Again, thank you for the feedback and we wish you a happy and healthy 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stumbled on this property while planning a brief visit to port Arthur. Unfortunately we visited while Antarctica was sharing some horrid weather with Tasmania. We had a front row seat watching the storms move across White Beach from the cozy guest lounge. The view is spectacular. We had originally planned to stay for one night then move across the Huen to take a boat tour of Bruney Island. After talking to Gary, he convinced us to take the Tasman Island tour instead. With the weather supposed to clear in a couple of days, we booked another night and Bev booked us on the boat tour for a day hence. Armed with local information from Gary and a borrowed warm coat from Bev, we spent a day touring the peninsula. Wow, so much to see and such beauty. The day for our boat tour was sunny as the weatherman had promised and it was a highlight of our 2 month holiday in Australia! We even got in a few sunny but chilly minutes on the deck to admire the view. We stayed in the red room, it was compact but comfortable. We shared time in the guest lounge visiting with other guests by the fireplace. Bev was so willing to supply us with whatever we needed in the way of dishes and cutlery. The chocolates and port were nice. Breakfast was delicious. Thank you both so much for a great stay. We will always remember it.

Room Tip: There are three room available in the house, the blue room has a view. The red room is comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airdrietraveler_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormy91, Owner at Storm Bay Guest House, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Wow...what a magnificent review...we will have to include you on the payroll. We would have to acknowledge that your stay was during the worst weather that we have experienced in the three years we have been operating Storm Bay. We felt so sorry for all of our guests who experienced that period of weather. However, we are extremely glad that amongst all of that you enjoyed your stay with us and more importantly that you finally had the opportunity to experience the Tasman Island Cruise when the weather abated. Hopefully the Sun God has been appeased.

We really appreciate the review. Thank you kindly for choosing to stay with us and we are ever so pleased that you consider your experience on the Tasman Peninsula to be the highlight of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

we had our 5 minutes chance to enjoy the stunning view, than the heaven darkened and hell (ok, just huge storm, but they name few sightseeing places devils something don't they?)started. we did as much as was possible without freezing , but the knowledge of Gary and his stories made up for stuff we didn't see.The atmosphere around the fire place, drinking beers and port was great, you just felt like a part of travelling family, maybe grown up backpackers? anyway Bev and Gary has the ability to make you feel very comfortable,help with everything,...breakfast was also very nice and room comfortable, clean and sometimes with stunning view. Next time I bring sunshine and will just sit on the terrace!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormy91, Owner at Storm Bay Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for the delightful and humorous review. We have to agree that the Sun God hasn't been too happy with Tasmania in the last few weeks and that the weather has been quite unusual. As you say,it can be quite cosy sitting around the fire place on a rainy night. Bev and I are very glad that you felt very comfortable and part of the "travelling family"...that is an excellent compliment and means a lot to us.
Thank you once again and hope you had a great holiday in Tassie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

While staying at another B&B in Hobart, we ran into a couple who had previously stayed at Storm Bay Guest House. They recommended it to us, and we promptly made a reservation for the following night. Once we arrived and were welcomed by Gary (and Bella the goat!) , the place and location were so perfect that we promptly changed our plans and booked a second night. Bev showed up a little later, and the two of them gave us much local information and booked us onto a boat trip for the following day. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise - we hadn't realised that there would be eggs and ham, in addition to the regular continental breakfast (as well as fresh bread). This is a lovely place to stay, and Gary and Bev go out of their way to provide as much help as you could want. Bev also did a load of laundry for us for a few extra dollars. They have DVD's available, and a player built-in to the bedroom TV. Port and chocolates were a nice extra. This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardinDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormy91, Owner at Storm Bay Guest House, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
What a great recommendation! Thank you kindly and Bev and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Storm Bay. In regard to the unusual welcome, Bella (the minature angora goat) has been dismissed from her welcoming duties and now has been demoted back to her original lawn maintenance role. Thank you again your wonderful comments and we are glad that you had the opportunity to appreciate the wonders of the Tasman Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were made so welcome for our two night stay at Storm Bay and had the most spectacular view from the Blue Room out towards Parson's Bay. It was ideally located for visiting historic Port Arthur and seeing other sights on the peninsular. Our hosts were most welcoming and helpful and looked after us with tasty breakfasts and in the evening with port and chocolates. We thoroughly recommend this most delightful B&B set on the most amazingly heavenly viewpoint. Thanks for a wonderfully relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanMPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormy91, Owner at Storm Bay Guest House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you kindly for the great review. We are very lucky to have such spectacular views from the main deck and the views from the Blue Room are also pretty stunning. Bev and I are extremely pleased that you chose to stay with us at Storm Bay Guest House and hope you had a wonderful holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at beautiful Cragganmore Cottage for seven nights and could not be happier about our experience. With spectacular views of idyllic Parson's Bay and just ten minutes from historic Port Arthur, this cosy holiday rental on the Tasman Peninsula was perfect for our group of four adults and two children. From the warm welcome we received on arrival to the fully equipped kitchen and wood burning stove, we were always comfortable and felt perfectly at home. Wildlife abounds in the area and on our strolls to White Beach, we were lucky enough to spot echidnas, cockatoos, blue wrens, wallabies and even one tasmanian devil. The location of Cragganmore Cottage was perfect for our holiday - although groceries were easily bought at nearby Nubeena and Port Arthur is only a quick ten minute drive, we felt as though we were miles away from it all. We highly recommend Cragganmore to anyone and hope to one day visit again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormy91, Owner at Storm Bay Guest House, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you kindly for your very comprehensive review.....you should write the content of our marketing material. Looks like you met just about all of the wildlife including "Bella" the mischievious goat. Cragganmore Cottage is very comfortable and well positioned for family stays. Bev and I are very happy that you had a great stay at Storm Bay and hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Beach
6.0 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
5.7 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harpers on the Beach
Harpers on the Beach
#1 of 2 in White Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storm Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Bay Guest House

Property: Storm Bay Guest House
Address: 91 White Beach Rd, White Beach, Tasmania 7184, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > White Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in White Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Storm Bay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Bay Guest House is set high on Hardy's Hill overlooking Storm Bay just 10 minutes from Port Arthur. There are four en suite rooms and room features include a luxurious spa, private decks and breathtaking views. Enjoy a sumptuous cooked breakfast or dinner (by prior arrangement)in the beautiful dining room with fabulous views across Storm Bay. Also available is Cragganmore Cottage, a self-contained two-bedroom cottage that will sleep six. Storm Bay is truly a Tasmanian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Storm Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storm Bay Guest House White Beach, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing