We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
169
13
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
13
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe blue roomport arthurperfect hostsone nighttasman peninsulaother guestshomemade breaddelightful accommodationlocal wallabieswonderful hospitalitycomplimentary glass of portstayed longerprivate decklocal informationacacia roomgreat companylovely couple
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 189 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Could not have asked for a better place to stay, everything was clean, tidy and beautiful. The owners were very helpful attentive and nice without being in your face. Will definately be returning there.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_moo_385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormy91, Owner at Storm Bay Guest House (Bed & Breakfast), responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you, we really appreciate your feedback. Bev and I are very happy that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we look forward to you coming back some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at Cragganmore Cottage for two nights in Oct 2012 as a couple. Found the cottage to be very well appointed with good kitchen and open plan lounge/dining. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating and Parsons Bay very scenic.

We found Storm Bay Guest House (either Cottage or the B&B) to be an deal base for a full day trip to Port Arthur and also the other historical and natural coastal attractions on the west and north-west side of the peninsula. It is only 1km off the main peninsula loop road making it a short drive to Nubeena where there are shops, pub and small cafe restaurants. 10km to Port Arthur - which is very handy for spending a whole day there.

Highly recommended. Most views are from the main house B&B deck but all guests are encouraged to take drinks up to the main deck to watch the glorious sunsets over Storm Bay.

Room Tip: Cottage is self contained short distance downhill from main house. B&B is located at main house (separate 'flat/apartment' style).
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlf_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormy91, Owner at Storm Bay Guest House (Bed & Breakfast), responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

What a wonderful review and very informative for other travellers....thank you very much. Bev and I are really happy that you had a great stay with us at Storm Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The good weather was got stuck in the rest of Tassie. Down here it was miserable. Not the fault of our hosts for the night. It just meant we missed the sign on the road and had to do a U-turn. Up a step driveway to the carpark next to the house. A dash to the door through the rain where Gary greeted us with welcoming smile. He accepted our luggage which we dropped off before driving the extra few minutes to Port Arthur. After returning cold and wet, we sat in the guest lounge thawing out in front of the wood fire before my wife retired to the comfortable Bayview Room. I returned to Port Arthur for some more rain and hail whilst on the Ghost Tour. I can tell you the spa bath was much appreciated upon my return that night.
There is a great view from Bayview Room and yes you can see the green watertanks. However, you have to go looking for them to be able to see them. In no way do they block the view of the bay. The view from the guest lounge is even better. Breakfast is taken in the guest lounge at one large table. Juice, various cereals, a fruit platter, variety of breads for toast, tea or plunger coffee. Plenty to eat.
We found sitting at the one table with other guests wonderful as it gave us a chance to talk to someone other than the wife/husband/partner. Our fellow guests included a young couple from Canada. Talk with other guests is not as easy when seated at separate tables.
The only issue I had was that the wood fire in the guest lounge had been neglected during the morning and the room was becoming a bit chilly. And I don't really feel the cold usually.

Room Tip: Bayview room is not overly spacious but the bathroom is with a very welcome spa.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Idyllic setting overlooking Nubeena and the bay. Well-appointed and beautiful with wooden floors and a fireplace (or, if you prefer, electric heat). Friendly, helpful owners Bev and Gary made us right at home. The cabin also has a flat-screen TV and a nice selection of books. Wireless is spotty…you will likely have to hike up to the main house for internet access. It is a short drive (or a long walk) down to a nice little beach that you will have all to yourself. We found an echidna out back of our cabin (see photos) and spotted a wallaby from time to time. We paid $160/night for our 3-night stay and found that to be a bargain. Be aware that breakfast is only for guests at the main house.
Complaints about the view seem a bit whiny…classic “glass half empty” thinking. The view from the main house’s deck is astounding; the view from the cabin’s deck is merely spectacular (see photos). True, trees block your view of most of the bay, but you can see Nubeena, the docks, and the mountainside, while the main house cannot.
Highly recommend seeing the Remarkable Cave (easy ten-minute drive plus 5-minute hike), Pirate’s Bay lookout, and visiting the Tasmanian Devil Conservation Park where you can feed and pet Kangaroos and Wallabies. For that matter, all of the Tasman Peninsula is gorgeous…it’s not just about the Penal Colony at Port Arthur (which is nice, too).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lodestone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We obviously payed top dollar in mid January ($240/night) and this was the most expensive stay we had in our three weeks in Tasmania. The views on the web site were for the guest house and we stayed in the cottage which has much more limited views and the best view was from sitting on the meter box at the side of the cottage. The cottage was stifling hot when we arrived as the balcony is uncovered and on the western side. There was not even a fan.
Although tea was provided, there was no milk!!
I was expecting better than this for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dilly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews