We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
176
13
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
176
13
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the blue room port arthur perfect hosts tasman peninsula one night homemade bread other guests delightful accommodation local wallabies wonderful hospitality complimentary glass of port private deck stayed longer local information acacia room great company lovely couple
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 196 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Idyllic setting overlooking Nubeena and the bay. Well-appointed and beautiful with wooden floors and a fireplace (or, if you prefer, electric heat). Friendly, helpful owners Bev and Gary made us right at home. The cabin also has a flat-screen TV and a nice selection of books. Wireless is spotty…you will likely have to hike up to the main house for internet access. It is a short drive (or a long walk) down to a nice little beach that you will have all to yourself. We found an echidna out back of our cabin (see photos) and spotted a wallaby from time to time. We paid $160/night for our 3-night stay and found that to be a bargain. Be aware that breakfast is only for guests at the main house.
Complaints about the view seem a bit whiny…classic “glass half empty” thinking. The view from the main house’s deck is astounding; the view from the cabin’s deck is merely spectacular (see photos). True, trees block your view of most of the bay, but you can see Nubeena, the docks, and the mountainside, while the main house cannot.
Highly recommend seeing the Remarkable Cave (easy ten-minute drive plus 5-minute hike), Pirate’s Bay lookout, and visiting the Tasmanian Devil Conservation Park where you can feed and pet Kangaroos and Wallabies. For that matter, all of the Tasman Peninsula is gorgeous…it’s not just about the Penal Colony at Port Arthur (which is nice, too).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lodestone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We obviously payed top dollar in mid January ($240/night) and this was the most expensive stay we had in our three weeks in Tasmania. The views on the web site were for the guest house and we stayed in the cottage which has much more limited views and the best view was from sitting on the meter box at the side of the cottage. The cottage was stifling hot when we arrived as the balcony is uncovered and on the western side. There was not even a fan.
Although tea was provided, there was no milk!!
I was expecting better than this for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dilly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

What an awesome place, so perfect a spot to stay when sightseeing in the Port Arthur area. The most beautiful views, as well as a homely friendly place to stay. The owners Gary & Bev are the perfect hosts. We stayed 3 nights and they helped with all the sightseeing as well as lots of local knowledge. Catching squid of the local jetty was the highlight of the holiday for hubby. A must do when travelling around Tassie!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theseniorstoorbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

A perfect place to unwind after a day at Port Arthur. Much nicer than staying in the busy motels near the historic site.
Wonderful views from the balcony. Breakfast was great, and the port and chocolates at night are a great touch. Access to wireless internet is another great perk.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queenbee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

If you are looking for a place to stay which is private and very quiet - then look no further.
I had the pleasure of staying here one night (october 27, 2011). It was such a clean and comfortable place, as soon as walking through the door it felt like home. Open plan, full size fridge, large tv with good reception, sliding doors that open out onto a huge verandah with a BBQ. The best thing of all was the peace and quiet which makes for a great nights sleep. I would recommend cragganmore cottage to everyone. Perfect !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews