We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
168
13
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
168
13
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe blue roomport arthurperfect hostsone nighttasman peninsulaother guestshomemade breaddelightful accommodationlocal wallabieswonderful hospitalitycomplimentary glass of portstayed longerprivate decklocal informationacacia roomgreat companylovely couple
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 188 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We obviously payed top dollar in mid January ($240/night) and this was the most expensive stay we had in our three weeks in Tasmania. The views on the web site were for the guest house and we stayed in the cottage which has much more limited views and the best view was from sitting on the meter box at the side of the cottage. The cottage was stifling hot when we arrived as the balcony is uncovered and on the western side. There was not even a fan.
Although tea was provided, there was no milk!!
I was expecting better than this for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dilly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

What an awesome place, so perfect a spot to stay when sightseeing in the Port Arthur area. The most beautiful views, as well as a homely friendly place to stay. The owners Gary & Bev are the perfect hosts. We stayed 3 nights and they helped with all the sightseeing as well as lots of local knowledge. Catching squid of the local jetty was the highlight of the holiday for hubby. A must do when travelling around Tassie!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theseniorstoorbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

A perfect place to unwind after a day at Port Arthur. Much nicer than staying in the busy motels near the historic site.
Wonderful views from the balcony. Breakfast was great, and the port and chocolates at night are a great touch. Access to wireless internet is another great perk.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queenbee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

If you are looking for a place to stay which is private and very quiet - then look no further.
I had the pleasure of staying here one night (october 27, 2011). It was such a clean and comfortable place, as soon as walking through the door it felt like home. Open plan, full size fridge, large tv with good reception, sliding doors that open out onto a huge verandah with a BBQ. The best thing of all was the peace and quiet which makes for a great nights sleep. I would recommend cragganmore cottage to everyone. Perfect !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband Mark and I stayed at Storm Bay for 3 nights and we had a great time. It was our first trip to Tassie and we couldn't have chosen a better B&B. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and relaxed. Owners Gary & Bev are the perfect hosts - friendly, helpful, and accommodating but without being intrusive. We stayed in the Bay View room which was lovely and spacious with amazing views of White Beach from the balcony. The room has a spa bath - perfect to soak into after a day of walking - and we were very thankful for the heater which warmed the room nicely (we stayed during a very chilly May!).
The breakfasts were delicious - a selection of cereals, fresh fruit (locally-picked pears are divine) and home-baked breads with jams - served in the dining room that overlooks the beach. Gary brought us the paper to read in the mornings which we thought was a lovely touch, as was leaving a carafe of Port and selection of chocolates out in the evening, so we could enjoy in front of the log fire. With no televisions in the guesthouse we could literally switch off from the outside world and relax with a book, play cards, plan our next day's walk...
And Storm Bay is in the perfect location for lots of good walks around the Peninsula, as well as being only 10mins drive away from the historic coal mines site and Port Arthur, both of which are definitely worth a visit. Our favourite walk was the trek from Devil's Kitchen to Waterfall Bluff, which passes the stunning Waterfall Bay enroute. We'd love to do the longer Fortescue Walk next time.
We really enjoyed our stay at Storm Bay and the hospitality of Bev and Gary was first-class. We wish we could have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mooii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews