We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
175
13
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
13
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the blue room port arthur perfect hosts tasman peninsula one night homemade bread other guests delightful accommodation local wallabies wonderful hospitality complimentary glass of port private deck stayed longer local information acacia room great company lovely couple
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 195 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband Mark and I stayed at Storm Bay for 3 nights and we had a great time. It was our first trip to Tassie and we couldn't have chosen a better B&B. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and relaxed. Owners Gary & Bev are the perfect hosts - friendly, helpful, and accommodating but without being intrusive. We stayed in the Bay View room which was lovely and spacious with amazing views of White Beach from the balcony. The room has a spa bath - perfect to soak into after a day of walking - and we were very thankful for the heater which warmed the room nicely (we stayed during a very chilly May!).
The breakfasts were delicious - a selection of cereals, fresh fruit (locally-picked pears are divine) and home-baked breads with jams - served in the dining room that overlooks the beach. Gary brought us the paper to read in the mornings which we thought was a lovely touch, as was leaving a carafe of Port and selection of chocolates out in the evening, so we could enjoy in front of the log fire. With no televisions in the guesthouse we could literally switch off from the outside world and relax with a book, play cards, plan our next day's walk...
And Storm Bay is in the perfect location for lots of good walks around the Peninsula, as well as being only 10mins drive away from the historic coal mines site and Port Arthur, both of which are definitely worth a visit. Our favourite walk was the trek from Devil's Kitchen to Waterfall Bluff, which passes the stunning Waterfall Bay enroute. We'd love to do the longer Fortescue Walk next time.
We really enjoyed our stay at Storm Bay and the hospitality of Bev and Gary was first-class. We wish we could have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mooii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The views from this B&B are sensational. Great value for million dollar views 10 minutes away from Port Arthur, with great hosts and good breakfast. The Blue room has its own balcony with fabulous views

Room Tip: The Blue room is the pick of the bunch
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

My partner and I stayed in the Bayview Room and had a very lovely evening. The owners couldn't have been more accomodating helping us find somewhere to eat where we had a lovely dinner at a nearby pub. Our bed was very comfortable and we woke up to such an amazing view over the bay. The only thing we felt could have been better is we would have loved some eggs for breakfast! Nothing fancy, even just a boiled egg would have been much appreciated as we like to stock up on a hearty breakfast before we set off on our day. However, we really loved this B&B and would recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the area - especially if you are doing the nightly Port Arthur ghost tour!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbottoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

StormBay is a B&B and also has a self-catering cottage nearby. We stayed in the cottage (so I cannot comment on the B&B) for 3 nights - part relaxation and part tourist visit. The cottage has lovely views across the water to Nubeena, but there are much more spectacular views from the terrace of the B&B, which is a little higher up the hill. The cottage is perfect for 'chilling out' - it was clean and comfortable and had all the amenities we required- comfy sofas, a great wood fire (and electric heater if you want) and comfy beds.There is also a BBQ on the deck, although weather prevented us from using that. The new owners, Bev and Gary, our hosts, are friendly, unobtrusive, but there when needed.
StormBay is a short 10 min drive to the Port Arthur convict settlement. If you are going to fully self cater, you can get your food, newspapers etc from the little town of Nubeena, which also has a delightful lolly shop! We tried one local cafe, Lucky Ducks and enjoyed the meal. Take the time to drive around the coast road from Nubeena and you will see some lovely water views and cute little beaches.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mordeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

My wife and I travelled down from Hobart for 2 nights at Storm Bay. We stayed in the Bay View Room, which was lovely. The room had beautiful views across the bay, from the private balcony. The room also had a large ensuite bathroom with double spa bath, which was a great way to relax after a busy day exploring the Tasman Penninsula. Breakfast on the deck, off the main room was a treat as was the nightcap left out for our return in the evenings! The owners are lovely & make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. We will definitely be booking another visit to Storm Bay guest house.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Del666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews