We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harpers on the Beach
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
193
27
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
27
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseport arthurbeach cottageother gueststasman peninsulawhite sandseparate cottagetasmanian winesgorgeous locationwonderful cookfabulous place to staylovely beachlong strollwished we could have stayed longerown gardenexcellent hostsbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 227 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

what attracted me to this little b&b was the proximity to the beach, literally less than 15 meters. however it was the service and the tranquility that has me keen to write this review.upon arriving as weary travellers we were so grateful for the warm welcome and understanding that we didnt want 30 minutes of the house rundown but just wanted to put out bags down and rest. That was very much appreciated. there was no nuisance hovering constantly checking if things were ok.... just a bell to ring if there was anything we needed. immediate response from the owners when the button was pressed with a smile and a willingness to help at anyime. very impressive.
this place has little to no traffic noise.... lots of birds to watch, the beach in reach under 30 seconds and reasonable rates for the room and meals. the food is healthy and fresh.
id highly recommend Harpers on the Beach to interstate travellers and to locals.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fionaa1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Many thanks to Jill for making us so welcome in your little slice of heaven.
We were 3 couples, so the whole B&B was ours.
After being welcomed so very nicely, it was up to us to make the most of what was on offer. The boys chose to sun themselves on the balcony whilst the girls walked the almost deserted beach.
Jill had been busy in the kitchen and the 3 course gourmet meal was the best we had during our trip to Tassie.
Our tours had all been organised by Jill so it was hassle free for us. After returning from the Ghost Walk those beds were just what these weary bodies needed. Soft and warm!
Breakfast was as expected, hearty and filling. Definitely no complaints!
Many thanks for all the work you put into making our stay such a memorable experience.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We cannot write enough superlatives to describe this place. Firstly, the view from the rooms over the white sandy beach is like something from a movie. The accommodation is clean and comfy and the bed was fantastic. Jill was a lovely host and her home cooking is to die for. If she offers you the set menu then take her up on this offer as it was amongst the best food we had in Tassie. Need I go on - this place (and Port Arthur in general) is a must for anyone touring Tasmania

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in the beach cottage and couldn't be more happy. Fantastic location - just a 30 second stroll out the back door to the beach. Everything you could need, nicely decorated and full of handy conveniences like a selection of DVDs, books and travel guides, spices and oils for cooking and a coffee machine. Friendly people and great breakfast too. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our stay was so relaxing, the cottage was warm, clean and comfortable. Would go back again. Less than a minute walk to the beach which was excellent for the kids. I needed to relax and that's what I got staying there, we were left alone in privacy which we desired and was able to access the owners easily

Room Tip: No pool, didn't need it
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews