We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harpers on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 White Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the cottage one evening. Plenty of room for two couples. Had the meal brought out to us. Beautiful place. Would recommend for a future trip to oz. mirrors were a bit on the high side but that's all.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewtownardsRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Harpers on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a lovely setting a stone's throw from the beach.The room was large and the bed comfy and the heating blanket was much appreciated as the heating unit on the wall didn't work very well even after it was on for a few hours. There was lots of hot water but the walls were a bit thin and in the main house you can hear the people in the dining room at night and in the early morning. If we stayed again, I'd book the separate cottage for a bit more privacy. There aren't many places to eat in the area but you can pre-book a three-course meal here for A$45 prepared by the owners (dining with the other guests) and they have a a small but impressive wine list. Note this is a set meal. Very good breakfasts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeGaribaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Owner at Harpers on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I think maybe you didn't realise the radiator in the room also has a thermostat which you can adjust to the temperature needed. It's pretty accurate as we've had some guests set it to 30 degrees celcius and leave it on when they leave and the room is pretty hot! Sorry if you were disturbed by noise. All three rooms open onto the lounge/dining room but it's rare for dinner to last beyond 9.30pm and we don't serve breakfast till 8am so there shouldn't be any noise too early or late.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Three nights in the separate cottage to the main (B&B) house was a pleasant experience. It is very much a Tassie shack by the sea. Clean and comfortable, we enjoyed coming back to chill out after day trips on the Tasman peninsula. It is on the beach (I counted 32 paces from the cottage to the sands) and there is a hammock in the garden to while away the time. The cottage had nice touches such as thick dressing gowns, slippers and toiletries provided. There was Austar provided as regular TV reception was poor. If we were to have one small criticism was the tricky access to wifi in the cottage. We also had a three course dinner one night at the main house. Jill was the perfect hostess and meeting other guests in the main house (B&B) made for a lovely evening. Good food, decent wine and a fabulous location made for a nice break away from home. We certainly did not encounter issues raised in other reviews.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basename164_friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent the last two nights of our Tasmanian holiday at Harpers and it was the ideal ending to the trip. We were flying out from Hobart the next day so it was a convenient stopover and was also handy for making our first visit to Port Arthur.
Jill was the perfect hostess and we had everything we needed in the room (one of three in the main house) for just the couple of days. The lack of wardrobe space has been noted elsewhere (it looked as though the wardrobe space has been converted to a tea-coffee-minibar-fridge alcove) but there were clothes hooks available on a wall and for just a couple of days you'd imagine most people would normally live out of a suitcase anyway.
We'd booked dinner on the first night and enjoyed it so much we were happy to book again for the second night and enjoy a bottle of wine without having to worry about driving. They have a thoughtful and reasonably priced wine list by restaurant standards including wines by the glass. I can recommend the Bream Creek Pinot Noir 2010 which understandably had a modest markup but was still less expensive than buying a bottle from the Tassy souvenir shop at the airport, so full marks to Harpers there.
When you take into account the room, quality fitout, free high speed wi-fi and huge breakfast, it was great value compared to some other places in Tasmania.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulreid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Harpers for two nights, staying in the main house with beautiful views of the beach. Jill was very welcoming and provided just the right amount of attention. The breakfast was delicious, and we also took advantage of the three course meal on the second night (we should have booked it for the first night too!) Great location, close to Port Arthur. I would recommend it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms with the beach views!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were warmly greeted upon our arrival by Jill. Our room in the main house was cosy and comfortable. I am surprised by some the other reviews, but they apparently stayed in the separate cottage, whereas our room in the main house was lovely. My only complaint was that there was no wardrobe or cupboard storage and the tea making facilities were a little cramped. But the bed was comfortable, and the room and ensuite were clean. The beach was very close (we could hear the waves from our room) and when we walked along it we felt like we were on our own private beach. We stayed in for dinner which was absolutely delicious, 3 courses which were reasonable priced. Breakfast (included in the price) was also very tasty. Overall, a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main house, perhaps facing the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Jill met us with lots of enthusiasm and good info apon our arrival which is nice. Good location and, although it is not ON the beach, all that separates you is the primary dune, gardens are lovey with lots of birds which is nice to wake up to. We thought that value for money was not there though, a bit much for what you get. Place was dirty too, which means a lot to us. Dont think the oven worked either, it was also very dirty.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ang312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Beach
6.2 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
579 reviews
12.2 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
392 reviews
5.8 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Storm Bay Guest House
Storm Bay Guest House
#2 of 2 in White Beach
147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
86 reviews
8.0 mi away
Norfolk Bay Convict Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpers on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpers on the Beach

Address: 8 Harper Pl, White Beach, Tasmania 7184, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > White Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in White Beach
Price Range: $86 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harpers on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes from Port Arthur, Harpers on the Beach offers luxury beachfront B&B accommodation, consisting of three luxurious queen rooms, a two bedroom self-contained cottage and a luxury self contained studio. The rooms are beautifully decorated and each has a private deck. The 2 Beachfront Rooms have views of the ocean while the The Beach Cottage, Beach Studio and Standard Room have garden views. Step off your deck and it is a mere 25 paces to the white sand beach. Dinner is served by arrangement and, whenever possible, is based around local and organic produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harpers on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harpers On The Beach White Beach, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing