We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“first time at a B &B most impressed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harpers on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harpers on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 White Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“first time at a B &B most impressed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our first ever stay at a B &B turned out to be close to perfect. Beautiful clean quite room, good bed, wi fi, great food breakfast and dinner. And a wonderful location with squeak clean white sandy beach just off the verandah and blue wrens nesting in the dunes. Just a wonderful stay. Excelent cellar and good prices. Just a magic couple of days..

Room Tip: beach front room was just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    22
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
124
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This accommodation was an idyllic location that was perfect for exploring the Port Arthur Historic site, visiting the Tasmanian Devil Conservation park and exploring the Tasman peninsula. The service was excellent from the cooked breakfast to the optional three course dinner and friendly conversations with the owner. I can highly recommend this as an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PiaStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I wrote some notes on this place:

Gorgeous location
Right on the beach
Lovely room and decor
Breakfast is more than what you need
Incredible time here

Other than that, I am speechless.
Oh but you need a car to get here, but great places to visit nearby and places to eat dinner.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room, the view is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingmookshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahl am Main, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

It ist a nice Place on Earth! Jill is a charming and absolute friendly hostess. All rooms are in good style. We have had a delicious dinner and nice and gainful conversation with several other guests. We enjoyed the stay very much.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide, australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a superior property for an affordable rate. The hosts have got the B & B philosophy right with attentive care but careful respect for privacy. The breakfast options are great and will set you up for the day. The rooms are impeccably clean and the comfortable beds ensure an undisturbed sleep in this perfect location. Quiet without being too far away you can be in Port Arthur in no time if you have a car which is the best option for Tasmanian touring. I highly recommend this property and its fabulous hosts

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

What a wonderful visit! We arrived in Tasmania for a short, 2 day visit. Jill at Harper's did so much to make our stay comfortable, fun, and relaxing.  She emailed with me several times before our trip responding quickly to my emails and sending along many helpful and top notch suggestions for activities including a fun and not to be missed Tasman Island Cruise (3 hours, well worth the $$ and time) and dinner options nearby (strongly suggest the restaurant at Stewarts Bay Lodge if you're near Port Arthur) . When we arrived, the cottage was ready for us complete with an espresso machine, tidy house, comfy bed. It was my husband's birthday, and Jill made a yummy lemon cake for him and presented it to us when we arrived (just in time for us to enjoy it on the deck before our long walk on the nearby beach). We decided to have dinner at Harpers the first night. Good choice! Jilly cooked an delicous gourment dinner of fresh salmon and garden veggies. (all keeping in mind our dietary restrictions on other meats). The wine list included lots of local Tasmanian wines - we enjoyed a fragrant and delicous bottle over dinner. The apps of shrimp were also great, the dining room is comforatble and has a great view out the window. Desert (excellent) included a hot baked apple crisp and coffee. One of our best meals of the trip. We rested comfortably in the cottage, with the sound of lapping waves along the beach just outside. I highly recommend Harpers! Thanks Jilly for making this a special and memorable trip for us.

Room Tip: The cottage is nice for a couple and two singles - there are two rooms with a shared bath and a laun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolonda_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Jill was a very welcoming hostess to her lovely house on the beach. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast well made. The locations is about 6 miles from Port Arthur, and a little bit secluded but the beach is quiet and a great place to walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dzonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Beach
6.2 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
12.2 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
5.8 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Storm Bay Guest House
Storm Bay Guest House
#2 of 2 in White Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpers on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpers on the Beach

Property: Harpers on the Beach
Address: 8 Harpers Place, White Beach, Tasmania 7184, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > White Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in White Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harpers on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes from Port Arthur, Harpers on the Beach offers luxury beachfront B&B accommodation, consisting of three luxurious queen rooms, a two bedroom self-contained cottage and a luxury self contained studio. The rooms are beautifully decorated and each has a private deck. The 2 Beachfront Rooms have views of the ocean while the The Beach Cottage, Beach Studio and Standard Room have garden views. Step off your deck and it is a mere 25 paces to the white sand beach. Dinner is served by arrangement and, whenever possible, is based around local and organic produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Harpers on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harpers On The Beach White Beach, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing