We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base to visit the Certosa”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Italia
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A good base to visit the Certosa”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night, en route to the Lakes and to visit the Certosa di Pavia. It is an easy 15 minute walk, mostly along a beautiful tree-lined road, to the Certosa. Our room was spacious, very clean and modern; the bathroom was large and modern. The room had a TV and air conditioning and simple, but adequate furnishing.. The management was friendly and helpful. There is nowhere other than the dining room to have a drink (though we did see a terrace area on the first floor), so we had a drink outside the very local bar across the road. We had dinner at the hotel. There is a lift and safe, free parking and the hotel was easy to find. Overall, recommended as a base en route, and to visit the amazing Certosa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    134
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
60
100
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you want to see Certosa di Pavia and sleep there, practically this is the only decent chioce - and at walking distance to the monastery. The hotel is basicly OK, but there are a lot of small embarassing problems, which will make you finally unhappy. Rooms in a too much puritan style and with very little and old furniture (in our one not even a decent table), breakfast is poor and not with many choices. Rooms are not the cleanest, but OK, other common areas are worse. Beautiful inner courtyard and uppr corridor, but not a chair where you coud sit down.
The worst was the staff, not helpful at all, indifferent, as we felt we are really embarassing them with our stay. Minimum information, and no trace of the Italian style treatment. Basically they did their job, but I would expect much more in Lombardia.
Its a pity, this place could be much much better with a little of attention. Better go and sleep in Pavia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TF_Laszlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel overnight during our journey to Toscane.
This is obviously a familyrun hotel and it does what is has to do and what you need in hotel: rooms with a decent airco, parking space in a closed parking area and a restaurant where you eat very correct meal. All in a family atmosphere. Or where else is daddy serving in the restaurant ... ?
However I had booked a family room and a single as we were 5 in all , they suggested themselve to add a cod in our room to avoid the single room. Tell me which other hotel would suggest this and would not charge for it ?
Family room consists of 2 two separate rooms ( and 2 Tv's)with a bathroom in the middle.
Do not expect 5 star accomodation, you do not pay for it ...
Hotel is built in a "square " with a patio, the other side of our room was facing the street , however noise from the street was ok for a quiet night.
This hotel is very suitable for an overnight stay or for a bit longer if you need that much comfort.
But as I say , they will welcome you a smile and not as a number ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvk221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
225 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Italia in Certosa di Pavia, which is about 10km from the City of Pavia, for 2 nights. Pleasantly surprised by the hotel in general and the owners and staff were extremely friendly and hospitable. The room was spacious and clean. However the location is not ideal for a longer, holiday-type stay. The restaurant was another pleasant surprise - delicious Italian country fare served with passion! The hotel is within walking distance of the Monastery which is impressive and worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We were offered rooms at this hotel at E65 including breakfast, which left us expecting something not too good. Instead we have a modern room with tiled floors, air conditioning, a huge bathroom with toilet, shower and bidet, a big double bed formed of two pushed together, but they meet very well, and a restaurant on site that does a good trade "in house" and take away. There are also a couple of Michelin recommended restaurants within a few kilometres.

We have very limited Italian but the hotel and restaurant have been able to accommodate our needs and have some staff with good English. Breakfast is limited by English tastes but quite wide by European tastes, meats and cheese, yoghurt, fruit compote, rolls, breads and a toaster, croissants, butter and jams, multiple cakes and tarts, any sort of coffee and pots of tea.
The room has a few oddities. No bedside tables, though two tables are here, one in the bathroom where it is needed, and one beside a small couch in the room. There is a large wardrobe but no drawers (we are staying 4 days), no cups or glasses though I am sure we could have some if we asked (we travel with disposable ones), no fridge which would be appreciated, no hairdryer or tissues in the bathroom.
Blessings, there is a cable connection for your computer if you bring one, and a small desk to put it on in your room. There is also an elevator for getting the luggage upstairs.
We wanted to visit Milano and the local bus stops just outside the door. About 40 minutes to the bus terminal at Famagosta, then Metro with one change to Duomo, so a good hour travel. Worth it to us not to drive into Milan. However, there is not much open in the area at night.
There can be a bit of noise as guests arrive or leave, as tiled floors pick up the sounds of the rolling cases and the big self closing doors can be quite noisy. The hotel is built around a courtyard that also encloses the car parking at night, so sounds can be magnified a bit. Not too bad though. We get no street noise though there is a busy highway outside.
Clean as a whistle, cool, spacious. A good place to stop, especially if it will just be a day or two.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Doesn't look much from the outside as on busy main road, but surprisingly nice inside. Very clean and friendly, family run (although not much English spoken) hotel. We were visiting monastery and looking for overnight accomodation and had seen prior reviews in Trip Advisor. Restaurant (Saturday night) was pizza (good) mainly take away. Good value for the price of 65 Euro.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xabia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
331 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Hotel Italia in Certosa di Pavia was a pleasant experience. The rooms were extremely clean and quite peaceful. Breakfast was good being in Italy. We had both lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant: the food was excellent and rather inexpensive.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

We were on our way to the south and decided to spend a night close to Milan to visit the main attractions there. There is a frequent bus + underground connection to the center taking about 45 minutes.

If you want to explore Milan for several days, the hotel might be too far away for that.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpTravellerOulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Certosa di Pavia
3.0 mi away
Hotel Riz
Hotel Riz
#1 of 2 in San Genesio ed Uniti
210 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#2 of 6 in Pavia
239 reviews
19.9 mi away
Motel K
Motel K
#1 of 2 in Casei Gerola
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten
Hotel Rosengarten
#5 of 6 in Pavia
242 reviews
4.5 mi away
Moderno Hotel Pavia
Moderno Hotel Pavia
#3 of 6 in Pavia
209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Agri Village Pavia
Agri Village Pavia
#1 of 8 in Certosa di Pavia
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Viale Partigiani 48, 27012 Certosa di Pavia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Pavia > Certosa di Pavia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Certosa di Pavia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Pavia
Hotel Italia Province Of Pavia/Certosa Di Pavia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing