We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't have asked for more!”
Review of Mirabelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asnieres-la-Giraud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mirabelle
Nottingham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We couldn't have asked for more!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We tried to book for the summer but as it was fully booked we snapped up the chance to visit during May half term and although the weather wasn't amazing, the place, the set up and everything in the surrounding areas made it a wonderful holiday for us and our 3 children.

Firstly our Gite Vanille was spacious with a great set up for our family; the large living area was in the centre with our bedroom and ensuite on one side and the children’s bedroom with 3 lovely matching beds and their ensuite on the other side. There was a box of toys which the kids loved and a well set up kitchen and a washing machine. The beds were beautifully comfortable with lovely bed linen and the gite was absolutely spotless.

What exceeded our expectations was the space and the set up for the children, we have a 7 year old and 4 year old twins and it was fortunate that all of the guests children at half term were 6 and under, there was also the bonus of the owners 12 year old son and his 12 year old friend who had come for half term, they were the most well mannered, lovely boys I have ever met and were absolutely wonderful at entertaining our 7 year old son, they even arranged 2 camp over’s on the field which was one of the highlights of my sons holiday! The owners provided a sleeping bag and mattress etc and I provided the snacks - memories he'll treasure for a long time.

The other play equipment and enormous safe space was amazing, the children ran and played to their hearts content, they loved the woods and the tree house - while we were able to sit and relax, which doesn't happen very often!

The pool isn't heated, which I imagine isn't a problem when the weather is warm, unfortunately as with the UK at half term this year, we also got some mixed weather so the kids braved the cooler pool - and once they were in - they all loved it. It was nice as many of the other guests children were also in the pool at the same time, so they all played together.

So when the weather isn't great, the only thing to do is to get out and explore which there is loads to go at. The Aquarium at La Rochelle is unbelievable and then to spend the day in and around the old harbour is a real treat. The Zoo is also great. The beach at Playa sur la Mer is beautiful and great for kids who want to explore as is the old Chateau where the prehistoric caves are, the children even saw wild otters there which they loved.

Saintes food Market is a must and a wonderful experience for everyone and even a day in nearby St Jean Angeley is fun filled. We only managed to use the kids club on one day as we went out in the mornings and spent the afternoons by the pool or playing on the field. The kids club is ace and Philippa who runs it is brilliant with the kids.

My husband had a great time at the guest’s v's locals - Dad's football match that they owners arranged, watched avidly by all the families who cheered them on with supper time picnics and glasses of wine, while the kids ate ice creams and played on the zip wire.

A lovely concept is the BBQ night on the Thursday; this was a good opportunity to chat and get to know the other guests while the children all played. Philippa and her husband spoilt us all with their fabulous cooking and were excellent hosts. There were a few headaches the following morning...

It was an idyllic week which echoes the reviews that we read before we booked. Really great holiday which our kids loved every minute and we actually got to relax. THANK YOU MIRABELLE - see you again next year!

Room Tip: Vanille had a great sun terrace which was perfect for the afternoons and evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSinclairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an average week at Mirabelles Gites. The website promises the Best French Gites and luxury. I beg to differ. Maybe luxury should be looked up in the dictionary. We stayed in Citronelle. It was filthy with dead flies and cob webs everywhere. A sofa that has long seen it's sell by date and fusty smelling towels that we had to hire. I was later informed that they were definitely clean having been washed back in September for the following May? Really? When we informed the owner that we weren't happy we were met with a rather sarcastic reply followed by a week of no communication. We had dared to complain and apparently we were the very first to ever do so! The owners son and friend had pitched a tent very close to the gites and so we had to endure 3 nights of teenagers being up until 1.30am. Not the relaxing holiday we so badly needed. The pool wasn't heated so was of limited use. If you cater for young families then heat the pool. Surely that's common sense? The Gite (read shed) was damp and generally very unhomely. We will never ever go back. The absolute best thing about the week was Philippa who runs the kids club and the weekly BBQ. She is fab and made us feel welcome, unlike the owners who couldn't have cared less. They did in fact go and buy a new sofa, and so they should've given the existing one was old, uncomfortable with a lovely damp patch on it. There is so much competition out there for family friendly gites. We won't be entertaining these again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank boolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy015, Owner at Mirabelle, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello Boolia
Thank you for your comments and we are genuinely sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. It is deeply unfair to say we couldn't have cared less as we offered you a full refund and responded to all of your demands immediately (see below).
We know that you wanted to stay in Vanille, and you wanted beams etc but all other gites were booked when you made your reservation and we cannot control that. The photos of our gites are accurate representations of the accommodation. From your pre-arrival emails we know that you considered not coming and wanted details of the other children staying to ensure your child had playmates (which he did). When you arrived you gave us a long list of things that you were unhappy about and we offered a full refund but you didn't actually ever say if you were going to take this up or not so it was left for other guests to tell us that you may or may not leave. Now let's state how we dealt with each complaint.
Cleanliness: When you told us that your surfaces were not clean Michelle came over immediately, apologised and cleaned them. She offered to re-clean anything that you weren't happy with but you chose to 're-clean' the gite without showing us and then come and tell us afterwards so it was impossible to verify what was wrong. I also gave you a complimentary bottle of wine as a goodwill gesture.
Sofa: You told us on Sunday that the sofa was uncomfortable and by Monday I had removed it, bought a new one, hired a van and delivered it to your gite. You will remember this as you sat in your car and watched us remove the old one and replace it and never even acknowledged that we had done this.
Towels: You complained that they weren't fluffy and fresh enough so Michelle immediately provided a brand new set (with labels) and you then asked us to wash them to make them 'more absorbent'. We did not charge you for either set.
Pool: The pool is not advertised as heated but it does have an excellent solar cover and is normally warm enough to swim in and your child swam with the other children quite happily. It was not a warm week but we opened it so people could use it if they wished. Most gite complexes don't even open their pool until peak season but we know it is important to children.
Tents: We put up tents all summer so that children can enjoy camping out in a safe environment and we placed it at least 50 metres form your gite. On the 2 nights that our 12-year-old son and guests camped out they were asleep by midnight and after you complained we stopped them from camping out.
We are happy that we could not have done any more for you during your stay so to say that we didn't care or respond is blatantly not true. We hope you enjoy your future holidays.
Paul and Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just back from our first ever week at Mirabelle Gites and we already can't wait for next year :) It was just fantastic. Paul was running the show and he is a great host. He made us feel at home straight away with his big friendly smile and was so helpful all week. Horse riding, BBQ night and kids club were all great. The swimming pool was gorgeous and our 2yr old had a great time with all the swim toys and all the space to run around and toys to keep him entertained for hours on end in a really safe environment. It is a beautiful part of the French countryside and a really relaxing holiday. Would not hesitate in recommending this to anyone... but might just keep it a secret ;) Roll on Sept 2014 and our 2weeks in lavande :)

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have been back in the Uk for a couple of weeks now and it is not getting any better. We just miss Mirabelle. The children are being bribed with sleepovers, meals out and summer camp but frankly, nothing is working.

Why is Mirabelle so great? It just is - the gites themselves are bright and happy, but that's not the point, since you spend more or less all your time outside. As other reviewers have said, it is all about the atmosphere - Paul and Michelle, Sol and Safia have created something really special here. Its hard to put one's finger on it - but the sense of space, safety, freedom and exploration from our 3 and 4 year old girls' perspective is something very special. Paul - you and Mary did a great job in kids' club - thank you! - and Alexa was so pleased to see Michelle restored to Mirabelle at the end of our holiday. BBQ night and the 'midnight' swim were a great hit.

I have foolishly decided we'll venture elsewhere next year, though am comforted by having booked Mirabelle for 2015. Nothing we're currently looking at for next year comes close and I am feeling faintly panicky. There is so much to do at or near Mirabelle that is eminently suitable for small persons - La Rochelle, La Palmyre zoo, the beaches, the little boats etc etc - but what is really memorable is just the integrity of the welcome and the happiness of our time there. Thank you and see you (relatively) soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexakit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently had a 2 week holiday at Mirabelle (Citronelle) and our girls, aged 7 and 10, loved it so much that they asked to go back next year. We happily obliged and have already booked and paid our deposit. However next year we're staying in Vanille so we have 2 bathrooms and a bigger fridge/freezer.

Paul and Michelle have created a wonderful haven where apart from having to leave for food, you can pretty much spend all of your holiday on site. Every time we tried to have a day out, an hour or so later our girls would be saying "we want to go back and play in the pool with the other children". Though can highly recommend the aquarium at La Rochelle - puts our aquariums in the UK to shame. The Natural History Museum in La Rochelle is also worth a visit.

BBQ evening and night swim a huge hit as were the cinema nights and kids club days. Can't wait for next year :-)

Room Tip: Safran and Lavande both have back doors to the play and pool area, so if you have younger children t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just returned from a blissful fortnight at Mirabelle. 
Our five-year-old twins had the time of their lives - "better than Disneyland" was the verdict as we reluctantly drove off yesterday morning. 
They loved the pool, kid's club and getting the chance to explore the grounds and all its fantastic play equipment with the kids from neighbouring gites.

All this new-found independence meant my husband and I had some lovely free time to relax and do what we wanted which turned out to be not very much at all except swim, read and soak up the sun on our terrace. 

Other highlights included the weekly BBQ nights and the horse-riding excursions which were a great way to see the gorgeous sunflower fields and vineyards that make up the local landscape.

There are lots of fab options for day trips in the area - lovely beaches, beautiful chateaux, picturesque towns and great markets. However, while we managed to get out and about a bit, most of the time it was too hard to drag ourselves away from Mirabelle.

Paul and Michelle are perfect hosts - their friendly and helpful approach is a big part of what makes Mirabelle such a special and unique place. 

We can't wait to return. As I typed this, my daughter came over to ask if I was booking Mirabelle!

Room Tip: We stayed in Citronelle and would happily do so again. However next time we will go for Lavande or S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Paul and Michelle have created a perfect setting for families with younger children. Plenty to keep them occupied, gorgeous countryside, comfortable and quiet accommodation and delightful hosting skills.
The pool, kids club, activities, outdoor toys, grounds and setting means children are happy and engaged from first thing in the morning until they eventually slide into their beds! Leaving parents to play along, read, relax, swim....or drink by the pool.
Quite simply the best family holiday possible. The kids have made great friends.

Room Tip: Lavande is the best location as it offers access to both the pool and the courtyard. However, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mirabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabelle

Property: Mirabelle
Address: 29 Chemin de Saint Hilaire | Chez Cornet, 17400 Asnieres-la-Giraud, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Asnieres-la-Giraud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Asnieres-la-Giraud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Mirabelle France/Asnieres-La-Giraud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing