We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise by la mauricie (but for the mosquitoes)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Mathieu du Lac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I am contemplating my departure from this absolutely lovely auberge, not 10 minutes from the entrance to the equally wonderful La Mauricie National Park in Quebec. Jean-Marcel, a furniture-maker by trade, built the place by himself and his craftsmanship shows. Louise, his wife, is a charming hostess and a wonderful cook. I've eaten roast rabbit, quail stuffed with caribou and a desserts that sent my diet into a skydive. The setting couldn't be more pleasant. On the shores of a small lake, it is possible to take one of their canoes to paddle along with the resident loon.

The rooms are spacious and very clean (Denise and Linda come each day to change the sheets and such). I didn't try the sauna, but I'm sure it would be relaxing.

And, staying here puts you just 10 minutes from the SW entrance to the park, where I managed to see about 55 bird species, even though it is rather late in the breeding season.

So...come to Saint-Mathieu and stay with Jean-Marcel and Louise. You won't want to leave!

Chip Scialfa
Calgary, AB

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chelmi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres avec vue sur le lac
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christianlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank carobons34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Silvia4976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Côté lac si possible avec balcon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thierry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc
14.3 mi away
Hotel Sacacomie
Hotel Sacacomie
#1 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
1,192 reviews
9.4 mi away
Le baluchon Eco Resort
Le baluchon Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in St-Paulin
378 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Marineau Shawinigan
Hotel Marineau Shawinigan
#2 of 6 in Shawinigan
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Shawinigan
9.1 mi away
Auberge Le Flores
Auberge Le Flores
#2 of 2 in Grand-Mere
127 reviews
5.0 mi away
Auberge Refuge du Trappeur
Auberge Refuge du Trappeur
#6 of 6 in Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Mathieu du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Mathieu du Lac

Address: 2081 Chemin Principal, Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc, Quebec G0X 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc
Price Range: $95 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Saint-Mathieu du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Saint-Mathieu du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Mathieu Du Lac Saint-Mathieu-Du-Parc, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing