We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Posada Aldila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Aldila
Ranked #4 of 11 Punta Ballena B&B and Inns
BC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I have to say that we were disappointed with this place. The pictures of this place looked great but when we got there the pool was under construction. No one let us know this and it didn't look like the beautiful grounds we were expecting. Pedro was very apologetic though and gave us a discount on our rooms, which were very nice and clean. Having said that, they definately had some water issues. We were there for 3 nights and every day at least once or twice we had to let them know there was no water in the room. If we did have water, the pressure was so bad it took forever to get the soap out of your hair. I think this would be a wonderful place to stay if everything was working properly. So my advice would be to ask the questions when you book and maybe follow up just before you go to make sure. I probably would not go back to this place because of the many issues we had but I do think it has potential to be a great place.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BeautifulBC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

I stayed at the Aldila at the Begining of January with my girlfriend as part of a 3 week trip in South America.
I have nothing but good things to say about Aldila and it was definitely one of the highlighs of our trip.

Right from the start of our stay the service of everyone involved with the Hotel (if you can call it that.........it's more like a huge house) was absolute fantastic, and the owner - Pedro - bent over backwards to make us feel welcome.

It's only a couple of minute walk to a great beach with amazing sunsets, but even if you dont like beaches the pool area is excellent too.

There isn't really a restaurant at the accomodation though they do provide a good healthy breakfast and snacks if needed, however Pedro was more than happy to give recomendations for both dinner and lunch depending on where in Punta you wanted to go.

Punta as a place is great and I deffinitely intend to go back at some point and see no reson to stay anywhere else other than Aldila

  • Liked — Style and Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Clappo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We booked for Christmas and New Year some 10 months in advance, and we had to pay upfront. We were a little apprehensive about doing this, but once we arrived, we weren't disappointed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The Staff are all very friendly and helpful, although they did have to cope with my limited spanish. The pictures on the website are exactly what you see.

The breakfasts were delightful and served outside on the veranda. A different cake / pastry was freshly made each day and it added a personal touch.

The beach is a 5 min walk, and the hotel kindly provide beach chairs and parasols. There aren't many places to eat of an eveing within walking distance of the hotel, however Medio y Medio is a real gem, a real family amosphere and by the end of our stay, we were met like old friends by the owners.

We thoroughly loved Posada Aldila and wouldn't hesitate in returning to the same spot. A lovely relaxing break with staff who couldn't do enough to help. We will definitely return.

  • Liked — Service and the staff
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UKTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv, USA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

Last month my husband and I enjoyed three nights stay at this pretty inn. PROs: gorgeous locale, quick walk to a huge, empty beach, lovely building and grounds with very nice appointments, great pool w/ drink/food service, cable TV w/ lots of english channels, nice breakfast, fine toilettries, our second story rm had a fireplace (we did not use) and balcony (we used a lot). CONS: no greeting upon arrival, we did not know what the hotel had to offer (wine cellar, room service, gym, "home theater", complimentary breakfast, etc.), staff has minimal english which is fine but I also did not feel like they were trying to work with my poor spanish, super high prices on wines from their cellar (go to the grocery store down the street) Pedro, the owner, seemed to avoid the guests, the worst massage I have ever had, and the worst part that almost ruined our stay - THE MOST UNCOMFORTABLE BED EVER. Honestly, I think we were sleeping on a box spring?

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acribari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

I must admit, even after checking the stellar reviews on Tripadvisor, we were a little worried about the distance of the hotel from the main city. We immediately rented a car from Dollar the airport (Reserve online. Don't call Price difference was $20/day versus $75/day, FYI They will drop the car off for you and pick it up! Cab rides are a big ripoff here. Anyway, the staff was SUPER helpful and gave us all we needed to know to have a great stay in Punta. A short 3 minute walk and you are on a HUGE, curved beach that is basically empty (Remember Dec - March is high season). The room was perfect, Room 6 was a cozy room with a fireplace and it opened onto a big patio. Free Wireless and a nice common space with a big fireplace and Piano.

  • Liked — Staff and the tastefully decorated hotel.
  • Disliked — Distance from Punta
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank citrusboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

This hotel is like staying in someones really nice villa. It is very convenient to the beach and most of the rooms have a lovely, slightly distant view. the grounds are intimate and lovely, the pool is terrific. The beach, to which you can walk, is endless, wide, clean and uncrowded. You will need a car head to get to Punta, but it is not a hard ride. The rooms were very clean, with fireplace, nice wines and a good TV. The wifi in the room did not work very well but there are two computers in the lobby readily available. The breakfast is simple but nice and the staff could not be more accomodating. My only beef is the fitness equipment which was less than basic. My partner and I will be back. Punta is wonderful and this hotel really impresses.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — fitness area
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gtrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2008

Posada Aldila is superb. It deserves the #1 ranking. I have been to >35 countries around the world and stayed in some of the most famous hotels, but this one is truly a gem. There are only 14 rooms so you need to book it early, particularly if you're going during their summer months. There is WiFi in all the rooms for free, and it's actually fast unlike at other South American hotels. There is a small gym, a beautiful pool area with comfortable lounge chairs, a swim up bar with fantastic salads and drinks, etc. It is a 5 minute walk down the hill to the beach.
My only advice is if you are arriving by bus from Colonia or Montevideo, you should get off the bus at the Maldonado bus station rather than the main Punta del Este Station. This hotel is in Punta Ballena which is super fancy and beautiful but is about a 10 minute cab ride from the main area of the city (and the cab actually cost more than the whole bus fare from Montevideo-- but was well worth it when I arrived to this fantastic spot!)

  • Liked — pool area, food, very fast internet, view
  • Disliked — 10 minute cab ride from main part of town (but this part of town is prettier anyway)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Ballena
0.6 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
1.7 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 65 in Punta del Este
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 65 in Punta del Este
348 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Beach Resort and Spa
Golden Beach Resort and Spa
#14 of 65 in Punta del Este
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Aldila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Aldila

Property: Posada Aldila
Address: Km 120, Rinconada Alta | Punta del Este, Punta Ballena, Maldonado 1005, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > Punta Ballena
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Ballena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Aldila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Aldila is located at Punta del Este, Uruguay. It offers air-conditioned rooms, all of which have Internet connection, cable TV, and mini-bar. Some of its amenities include heated outdoor pool, massage booths and sauna, and beach service. Posada Aldila is near the beach, golf camp, airport, and city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Posada Aldila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Aldila Hotel Punta Ballena
Posada Aldila Punta Del Este
Posada Aldila Uruguay/Punta Ballena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing