We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don´t recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Solanas Punta del Este
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Punta Ballena
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don´t recommend”
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Well let´s begin this analysis

Location: The place is "near" (u have to cross the road and walk 10 min to get to the beach they it´s only 100mts away) ... the Portezuelo beach is not that breathtaking ..but the sunset is pretty nice. About the location itself it´s far away from anything and to take a taxi to punta u might spend 20 dollars or more. U can also take a bus to Punta..but for that u´re gonna have to wait 30 minutes or something..

Staff : The attention is not good enough and cleaness is really poor. I mean ..the bedrooms are quite clean ..but the common areas are really dirty. Not to mention the barbecue area that seems to not be part of a 5 stars complex.
Besides all of this...when i first checked in they seemed to not know i was about to come... and asked me for a voucher they had never sent (expressing that this was my obligation) and then i should go to the reception with my computer...and send them the emails i've exchanged with the reservation area.....

Bedrooms : This is the funny part...as they kinda didn´t know i was about to come..my bedroom was not ready and they ''upgraded'' us to the best bedroom in the whole complex in the Forest area. Then after 2 days we came back to our poor one.
Yeah..really poor one. U pay 200 dollars to stay in very very bad bedroom in the Royalmar area (of course its not worth it) and the BEST one in the Forest area is not worth 400 dollars a day either...

Wi-fi : Of course a 5 star complex u pay at least 200 dollars to stay should have free wi-fi no? No, they don´t. And then u have 2 options... go to the reception (which is always far away from your bedroom and use the "free'' one in the reception or u can pay really expensive fees to have the access for a few hours...

Breakfast : Ahh pay attention to that. Paying 200 dollars doesn´t mean the breakfast is included ok?! Of course they didn´t mention it. Then i argued with them and they gave free breakfast for us... after some hours of stress.

Well talking about the rest...the complex is nice...it´s beautiful there...with nice swimming pools... tenis court...children attention and activities.......but the staff seem to be poorly trainned and the commercial and reception area doesn´t seem to work together as a team.

I would only recommend this place in one situation :

- Stay in Forest area (and don´t pay 400 dollars a day for it)
- Make them give u free-wifi
- Have a car to take u to Punta del Este or don´t care going there
- U´re with your family and want your children to have fun
- Don´t care a lot about the cleanness of the common areas
- Are willing not to "lose" the swimming pool towel coins ..or u can be charged !!
- Wanna be in touch with the nature

Well if u want to check if i am telling the truth... take a look on the other evaluation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brazilianboy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    236
    103
    39
    54
See reviews for
400
111
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

Stayed here for 6 nights. Nice aprt. style room. Clean. Lots of english TV ch. NOT a party place, then stay on the peninsula. I did not have any problems like some of the other reviewers.
Some very good restaurants near by. "Oliva y Sal" is very very good! Remeber that dinner is after 9 PM. If you like to walk, the nudist beach Chihuahua is 30-45 min away. VERY NICE.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwegianTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We traveled from usa and checked in and checked right out. The first house they showed us was very nasty there was a black ring around the tub in the bathroom and it smelled of mold. So we went back to complain and they upgraded us to a (new) part of the resort this was worse than the first, as they opened the door you could smell something like urin, it was terrible. If you plan a trip there do not stay there.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank toobadIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Punta Ballena hotels

Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We were 2 couples in our 40s. We travel alot and have been to Punta del Estes (highly reccomended) a few times. We know not to expect accomodations that are American standard in every country, but our 20 year old kids would not have stayed.

We booked and paid for a 2 bedroom appartment at Solanas using RCI timeshare exchange. The photos on the website have nothing to do with the reality.

We looked at 3 different appartments. the first one the walls seemed to be rotting, the bed covers were dirty, the whole place was really poorly maintained. The next 2 for an additional price were also dirty and smelled like urine. The 3rd smelled so bad I could smell it from the other side of the outdoor walkway as soon as the door was opened. The furniture was cheap and old in all three. Not one of them was clean. The beds sagged with old dirty covers and you wouldn't dare take your shoes off if you stepped in the shower.

Even though we had already paid for 2 weeks we couldn't bring ourselves to stay even one night.

Punta del estes is a beautiful place with really nice - clean- industrious people. The country is clean in general and people are working everywhere you look, even the small homes that are obviously lived in by poor residents appear to be clean. So this place - Solanas is not dirty because they cant find anybody that knows how to clean and it's indoor and outdoor facilities are not in disrepair because the "people' are lazy. There is no excuse for how filthy dirty this is and they should be ashamed to have it so in such a beautiful place.


I have had alot of help from tripadvisor contributors and feel like , I have to pass on what we saw to spare someone else a really bad place to stay and dissappointing experience.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank sheconoclast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

We spent only one night at Solanas and I wished we could've stayed longer. Condominium-style accomodations allowed us to lounge on our own private deck, prepare our own food and drink, and enjoy some privacy. The rooms aren't anything too special but the features are updated and they are clean. I was really impressed and thrilled with a giant whirlpool tub in the bathroom. The beach is maybe a two mile walk from the furthest condos but you can definitely use the exercise after feasting on South American beef all vacation long! And the beaches are absolutely breathtaking.

The Solanas has a little store where you can purchase your own food and there are many BBQ grills at the condos. We grilled up a feast with some friends at their condo. You will have to get used to walking around if you don't have a car. Conveniently located, Solanas has its own bus stop on the bus route from Montevideo.

A word to the wise tall people, beware of low-hanging ceiling fans in the living rooms. I put my hand in one and it only bruised (very dull fan blades) but I'm only 5'9"... a much taller guy would have to duck his head.

Not a luxury hotel, but save your money for food, wine, and shopping.

BEST CAIPIRHINIA: there's a little beach cafe a short walk north of Solanas on the beach. The Caipirhinias are so amazing.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — The beds were uncomfortable
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to get a condo closest to the beach.
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChicagoBrettski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Ballena
1.2 mi away
Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort
2.1 mi away
Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres
Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres
#1 of 9 in Punta Ballena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.4 mi away
Club Hotel Casapueblo
Club Hotel Casapueblo
#3 of 9 in Punta Ballena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Baie des Anges Apart Hotel
Baie des Anges Apart Hotel
#17 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Toscana Boutique Hotel
Villa Toscana Boutique Hotel
#43 of 65 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puesta del Sol
Hotel Puesta del Sol
#9 of 9 in Punta Ballena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solanas Punta del Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solanas Punta del Este

Property: Solanas Punta del Este
Address: Ruta Interbalnearia Km 118 500 | Punta del Este, Punta Ballena, Maldonado 20003, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > Punta Ballena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Punta Ballena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solanas Punta del Este 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean Style apartments, surrounded by Forest, offer a wide range of facilities, such as: Tennis courts, Swimming Pool, Gym, Lake, Restaurant, Spa & convention center, as well as 300 apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Solanas Punta del Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solanas Vacation Club Hotel Punta Del Este
Solanas Vacation Hotel
Solanas Punta Del Este Uruguay/Punta Ballena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing