We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok..not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Punta Ballena
Certificate of Excellence
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ok..not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

ok but mediocre in most respects…..not well maintained. location is secluded, which is good for quiet but bad for access to any services. The resort has definitely seen better days. The staff were not especially helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guilford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    202
    56
    27
    7
See reviews for
255
229
4
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Pretty much the reviews I read had it exactly right. The lakeside setting is quiet and calming. But the property is absolutely showing its age. I found the food quite good and while the service was not over the top most of the staff I interacted with were friendly and helpful. But for early march with some very warm weather the hotel Defintely had an out of season feel. The staff seemed surprised that anyone would be in the pool - and many activities seemed to have been putto bed for the coming autumn. We were part of a small conference so the lack of activities did not matter but if you were here on vacation for more than a day or so you could become stir crazy and there is very little in the vicinity. I also advise a rental car as there are some wonderful places to visit further along the coast but you have to have your own transportation.

Room Tip: If you can request a lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heartlander_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

It was a very nice week we spent there, great service at the kids play room which gave us fathers a lot of free time for ourselves, also very good powerful massage in the spa, other than that the food was not very good, service in general was average, installations were in need of better maintenance.

Room Tip: We were on room 316 with a view to a tree. Really. Nice tree. Noisy A/Cs somewhere around. Avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I am sure that in its day this was a great hotel. It is now very run down. The golf view rooms overlook an hole that is not used now. The food was terrible. We came to down to breakfast one morning at 9:00 and it was not set up, no hot water, coffee juice or yogurts. On the positive side we upgraded to a lagoon view room which was very good and the golf course was very good although don't rely on the transfers. It will cost $80 us transfer into Punta del Esta return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sul Brasil, SC
Level Contributor
305 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is family oriented with a quiet atmosphere and friendly staff, however, The hotel is very outdated and the actIvities are gearded more toward the adults. There are golf classes for those willing to learn.
The ammenitues aren't bad but as mentioned above, are outdated. Pictures provided for a better idea of what i am talking about
for those allergic to carpets. This would be a nightmare.The carpet is so old it is discolored.
The curtains are also old and not well kept at all. I took a picture of the bottom of the curtain that was full of mold. Disgusting!!!!
There were also a lot of mosquitos in my room. There are pictures of that as well.
The furniture is from the 80s/90s
The hotel is also very far from anything so a carvrental is a must.
The only nice thing about this place was the view from my room and from the restaurant.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaerapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvaro R, Director de Recepción at Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Google Translation
Sra. Maria Araphe

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios en TripAvisor.

Efectivamente sus apreciaciones son correctas, el personal se caracteriza por su amabilidad y cordialidad, la estructura edilicia es una conjunción de estilos arquitectónicos combinados con arte y tecnología que es apreciada en pasillos y habitaciones.
Las actividades para adultos van desde clases de yoga, pilates, golf, tenis, natación, ritmos latinos, entre otras así como también los niños y adolescentes cuentan con clases de pesca, tenis, paseos y actividades con los recreadores.

Hotel del Lago Golf & Art Resort está ubicado sobre la costa de laguna del sauce, esta es una reserva de agua dulce y encierra valores ecológicos relevantes: 10 ecosistemas de los 16 existentes en el territorio nacional y zonas de nidificación de aves acuáticas de alto valor ecológico además de contar con el certificado de playa natural.
Ideal para descansar y disfrutar de la naturaleza, pero a tan solo 10 minutos de Punta del Este y 2 minutos de la playa más cercana.

Agradecemos sus comentarios y los tomaremos en cuenta para seguir mejorando nuestros servicios.

Saluda atte.

Álvaro Rodríguez.
Jefe de Recepción.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

This place is in a nice location on a lake, but the facilities are very outdated and run down. The aircon in the rooms works marginally, furnishings are old and worn, carpet is worn. It just hasn't had much maintenance since it was first built in the 60's or 70's. Room service is weak, food is poor and the prices are very, very high during peak season. I had confirmed an airport car pick up the night before at the airport, but no one was there. I asked for an electrical plug adapter for my room, none was sent. The front desk and bell service people are very good and eager to please but the rest of the place not so much. Not up to snuff given the high price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvaro R, Director de Recepción at Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Google Translation
Sr. Jack D:

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios en TripAdvisor.

Efectivamente el aire acondicionado no fue suficiente ya que la demanda es extremadamente alta debido a la ola de calor que sufre Uruguay en estas fechas.
Respecto a las alfombras, es correcta su apreciación el estado de las mismas requiere un cambio y nos encontramos trabajando en sustituir estas por piso flotante. En referencia a los valores de nuestros platos le podemos asegurar que la relación calidad precio de nuestro servicio de restaurant está por debajo de los restaurantes de Punta del Este.

Agradecemos nuevamente su opinión y lo esperamos en otra oportunidad cuando decida visitar Punta Ballena.

Saluda atte.

Álvaro Rodríguez.
Jefe de Recepción.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
230 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent the weekend here as a get away from the City and am glad we did. There are 400 objects of art in the hotel and on the grounds. The hotel overlooks the lake and can be very peaceful. It will get packed during the high season can be overrun with kids. Also, a greens fee for the golf course is included in the price of the room. We are planning return trips here for quiet weekends every few months. A nice buffet breakfast is included in the price of the room and serves quite a lot. The only down side, and this is problem everywhere here, is parking. If you get one of the few prime spots in the front of the lobby, you can be parking quite a ways off. After dark, the only entrance is thru the lobby - this caused us to signal thru the locked doors at the side parking lot to have someone go to the desk and have them un-lock the door. This will not prevent us from returning, but knowing this, we will get a spot near the front and not move the car.

Room Tip: Anything on the top floor, facing the lake and away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldtravelinggolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Ballena
1.1 mi away
Solanas Vacation Club
Solanas Vacation Club
#4 of 10 in Punta Ballena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres
Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres
#1 of 10 in Punta Ballena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
3.4 mi away
Club Hotel Casapueblo
Club Hotel Casapueblo
#3 of 10 in Punta Ballena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
8.4 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Puesta del Sol
Hotel Puesta del Sol
#10 of 10 in Punta Ballena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort

Property: Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort
Address: Costanera Laguna del Sauce _ Ruta Interbalnearia _ Km 116, Punta Ballena, Maldonado 20003, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > Punta Ballena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Punta Ballena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true art gallery, Hotel del Lago Golf & Art Resort is located next to a willow lagoon and beautiful golf courses. Part of The Chic Collection hotels & resorts group, Hotel del Lago has 10 tennis courts, a large outdoor swimming pool with wet bar and waterfall, heated pool, recreational areas and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Del Este
Barcelo Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort Uruguay/Punta Ballena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing