We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointment guaranteed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Relais Paris-Bale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montieramey
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“disappointment guaranteed!”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

rooms poor value for money, nothing like picture on website, unbelievably rude staff, restaurant way way way too expensive, at least the bugs in the room were free!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    17
    20
    24
See reviews for
21
37
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We hadn't fancied staying in Troyes and selected the Relais Paris-Bale mainly for its perceived convenience and restaurant. Big mistake! Surprisingly full, mainly business people holding team meetings or evidently visiting Troyes the next day.

Offhand staff, no lifts (we didn't want to leave luggage in large open car park) but steep stairs with lights on time switches that one never quite reached in time, hideous decor and fittings (orange bathroom suite anyone?), little traffic noise at back of hotel but frequent trains overnight.

If you want to find the restaurant and avoid the long walk round the unlighted car park, you are obliged, in the absence of staff at Reception, to take a challengingly circuitous route through the basement and echoing empty conference rooms to reach your goal. Evening meal satisfactory but over priced. Breakfast perfunctory.

To be avoided.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reynom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montieramey hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We chose this hotel for a stop-over on our way from Calais to Geneva because the rooms were cheap and the breakfast was expensive (9 Euros pp) on the premise it was a gastronomic experience... This could not be further from the truth!! We wished we had booked in at the local Auberge 1 mile away

The hotel itself was very dated, clinically functional and somewhat uncomfortable although the pool and Crazy Golf provided a pleasant distraction for the children. The welcome was indifferent and the environment somewhat dark and oppressive... and things only got worse!

We were looking forward to our 'expensive' breakfast the next morning before setting off for a quick swim in the Lake and onward to Geneva... We wished we hadn't booked breakfast...it was terrible! I work in the hospitality industry and can honestly say that this was the worst breakfast I have ever had the misfortune of paying for... practically no choice... stale bread, watered down milk, cold, cheap instant coffee, undrinkable 'cool' chocolate and rubbery croissants... yes RUBBERY not lovely!

And to top it off the service was appalling... actually there was no real 'service' to speak off... the brasserie was dirty and the atmosphere tense with disatisfaction from us and other guests! When we decided to complain and ask for some of our 36 Euros back the Manager refused and refuted our comments, offering us a cheap bottle of plonk as compensation! Keep your wine... if it as good as the food all it will be good for is de-icer!

Avoid this hotel like the plague!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olly106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Looked nice from the outside but don't be fooled! Inside it is old and in need of major refurbishment, very dated. The rooms had a fusty smell with no air conditioning which was needed after 32C all day and were very small.

In the bathroom, while the towels were clean the plug in the sink wouldn't stay down until the basin was half full, then when you did let the plug out the water came up through the plug hole in the bath bringing sludge with it. There was also no hot water, after running water for a number of minutes and still none appearing me and my daughter went down to reception to enquire why and after ringing the bell a number of times no-one came so we returned to our rooms - a task in itself. The lights were on a timer, obviously to save electricity which I have no problem with, but the light wasn't on 2 minutes before it went out, leaving us to climb a staircase, find our rooms and insert the key in total darkness.

After getting into our small hard beds with pillows like concrete and sheets as stiff as boards the paper-thin walls then allowed us to hear everyone else returning to their rooms running their baths and then letting the water run out again when they also found they had no hot water. However one of the things which worried me most was that there was no smoke alarm in the rooms and i didn't see one in any other part of the hotel.

Overall I would say avoid this hotel at all costs and you would be better off sleeping in your car! Thank goodness we only booked one night!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nleggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We (me, my husband and 3 kids 5,3 and 1) stayed here on our way to and from the south of France. For our purposes it was ideal: the family room with 4 single beds plus cot had bags of room for all our stuff, the bathroom was spacious and there was a 'hallway' to park our buggy. The breakfast provided was fine and there was plenty of choice for the kids. After a long day's drive the swimming pool offered much needed, if very cold, recreation. On the downside there was no lift, but it was only about 10 steps up to the room and the gap in the little balcony was a bit dangerous.The hotel won't be winning any style awards but for a single night it was all that we needed - roomy, clean and well located for the major routes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montieramey
5.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Golf & Spa De La Foret D'Orient
7.5 mi away
Le Val Moret
Le Val Moret
#1 of 1 in Magnant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
8.7 mi away
Logis Le Tadorne
Logis Le Tadorne
#1 of 1 in Piney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Logis Hotel des Sources
Logis Hotel des Sources
#1 of 1 in Creney-pres-Troyes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel de la Poste
14.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Paris-Bale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Paris-Bale

Property: Hotel Relais Paris-Bale
Address: 6 rue du Relais de Poste | Le Ménilot, 10270 Montieramey, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Aube > Montieramey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montieramey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Paris-Bale 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Relais Paris-Bale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing