We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Big Game but Beautiful Setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moholoholo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moholoholo Forest Camp
La Jolla
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“No Big Game but Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed one night when in the Hoedspruit area at the forest camp. The accommodations were excellent, the rooms were very nice and the food was great and wine was cheap! We did a night safari and then a walking safari in the morning in addition to visiting the Moholoholo rehab center which I will review separately. The night safari was pretty good and we saw quite a few of the smaller night animals like civet and some larger animals including giraffe. The walking safari was a great change and we were able to go to the water hole hide and see a heard of zebra in great morning light in addition to wildebeest and kudu up close from the ground. They may not have the big five but that does allow one to walk around and experience all the other animals. The room setting in the forest is quite stunning. Overall a great stop-over and very well priced if you are staying overnight in that area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nicely situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful lodge, magnificently managed by Katie and her awesome staff! Cottages spotless, cleverly decorated, secluded. Bathrooms very creatively designed, particularly the showers! Toilet was separate with a door - great. Plenty towels, linen and huge mosquito nets over sumptuous beds. Our visit to rehab centre a lifetime highlight! An essential is the 4pm wild vulture feeding.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hiloettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife Charlotte and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon - my second visit, her first (and her first safari experience). I had high expectations from my previous visit in April 2012, and it did not disappoint.
The setting is truly incredible, the buildings tastefully styled inside and out so that they blend into their beautiful surroundings. We saw nyala grazing outside of our cabin regularly. The visit to the Rehab Centre was enjoyable and really informative - Moses was a great guide. The drives were also fascinating, helped by the knowledge of our drivers. Finally, spending time round the camp was a joy, comfortable and homely, every staff member making us feel at home. Many thanks to Kate, John, Cody and the rest of the team for an unforgettable experience. We hope to return soon! Geoff & Charlotte.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed at Forest Camp for two nights, but wished we'd had longer there. The rooms are beautifully done with views out to the game park so you can watch the animals and birds. The staff were really friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the wildlife. Both the night game drive and the early morning walk were fantastic as we saw loads of animals and birds and learnt a lot about them and their habitat. All in all a very special experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jule01010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our second visit to Forest Camp this year and I always leave wanting more! Managed by Katinka who always goes beyond the call of duty for her guests and makes one feel like family.
The camp is built into the Forest with Nyala, Bush Buck grazing around the chalets. We heard Hyena and Hippo during the night and of course the resident troop of Baboons.
Pork Chop the resident cheeky Wart Hog joined the breakfast party.

We stayed in Chalet 10 - 2 bedrooms, lounge and exquisite bathroom - very luxurious .
Food and service - just wonderful.
Tea/Coffee always available in the lounge .
WiFi
Great wine selection at the honesty bar.
The Camp is so relaxing/peaceful we did not want to leave and do anything but of course that would be a complete waste .

Bush Walks are very educational and a pleasant change from Big 5 hunting.
Sunset or Night Drives - also a great experience.

The highlight of our second stay was a Private Tour of Moholoholo Rehab Centre - Brian the manager and his team are totally dedicated to the animals in their care, supported by a team of volunteers from around the globe their work never seems to be done. To spend 3 hours learning about the animals, their stories and hope for the future is fascinating.

Forest Camp guests have un-limited access with a Ranger to the centre.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 bed chalet 10 - all are luxurious with beautiful linen and towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familybrown176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to flying home to Australia. We didnt actually go to the rehabilitation centre as we went to Khamai Reptile Centre to do a photo shoot (which was amazing).

The location of moholoholo is at the base of Drakensberg mountains. My friend and I shared a bungalow which was lovely, clean and spacious. We were there during their cooler months, whilst there was no heating in the rooms, they were reasonably warm, i used a hot water bottle in bed at night. The restaurant / meals area is also an open so I would recommend dressing warm. Kate was lovely, very friendly and helpful.

The animals tend to wander around, there were some nyala's near our room as well as some baboons (at different times).

The rehabilitation center is near by, one morning they walked up to breakfast about 3 lion cubs which were not small! Whilst they are very cute and fluffy, they are still wild animals and if you get young children (or even adults) near them who will possibly run up to them... who knows what could happen. Lion's tend not to let go of something once they have hold of it which proved true when they took a cushion cover and wouldnt let go... hence a new cover was required after the lion had finished playing with it.

It was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

After a long flight to Jb and drive from Jb to Moholoholo, we (three families 2+2) got a very warm and enthusiastic welcome by Kevin - our guide during our entire stay. Kevin really made our stay special for each of us. The setting of the camp was beautiful, close to Drakensberg.
Both the chalets and the common rest and dining areas were really nice. Having the children in one chalet and adults in another was not a problem. One of the families had a very nice chalet with two separate bedrooms. It was really special to see so many animals close up, like young nyalas playing with each other outside the chalet and warthogs eating.
We had both night drives and morning walking safaris inside Moholoholo. Kevin were good at finding both very small insects and different animals, as well as tracks. Taking good care of all animals/reptiles/insects were in focus, so even stopping the car when ants crossed the gravel road was fun.
We also learnt a lot during our trip to Moholoholo rehabilitation senter. After a fun and interesting introduction, guides followed us around the sendter and tought us about the different animals, how the animals had been injured, how animals were endagered, rescued, relocated /reintroduced to its natural environment. Animal - human conflicts, pollution etc.
Thank you for an excellent stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daydreamerNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moholoholo Forest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moholoholo Forest Camp

Property: Moholoholo Forest Camp
Address: North Eastern Lowveld Drakensberg mountain range, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Moholoholo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Moholoholo
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing