We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SA take lessons!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ndlovu Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hlane Royal National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ndlovu Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“SA take lessons!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Excellent value for money, excellent experience, excellent staff, excellent food, excellent location - we will be back for sure. The restaurant is on the edge of a waterhole and you can just sit there for the day and watch the parade :). Elephant, rhino, hippo, antelope, etc will wander in and out. The roads in the Park are good, there is a lot of animals to be seen, the place is well-maintained and not overcrowded. Swaziland is one of the African Countries that still knows how to cater for tourists. Well done... and SA, go take lessons on value for money!!

Room Tip: nature at its best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meganinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    44
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
49
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had three lovely nights in Hlane, lovely accommodation without electricity in a cozy camp. Perfect if you wanna get disconnected for a few days. The food was good and so was the service. It was really nice to have breakfast with a view of 5 rhinos just 50m away. The guides at the game drives also did a really good job!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DanLah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spend one night and two days in Hlane Royal National Park in Swaziland, and it was an awesome experience. A cozy candlelight night with friends and jungle safari in easy misty morning where you were greeted by Lion King, oh! what else do you want now? Delicious food, great location, noisy neighbors( wild animals) and thrilling safari!! Everyone should have this wild experience in Africa, at least once.

Room Tip: Well, do not rely on their online booking system because we had some problem during checking out as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoDewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very nice and romantic accomodation without electricity and candlelight / petroleum lamps. Restaurant with good food on site. Gamedrives good too, we saw lions among other wildlife on all three drives over two days. Waterhole is home to a large crocodile, witnessed a groc kill there, loads of rhinos to be seen at the hole throughout the day. If you can live without electricity then this camp is definitely worth a visit! We'll be back .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maiklechner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Well we were surprised! Were only told a short time before we arrived that there would be no electricity available to us. It was our second place we had stayed in without electricity out in the bush. Stayed here for two nights. The huts were accommodating and clean. Just a short distance away was the restaurant or eating area which was under cover but outside where bats reside in the roof. Camping and rhino. facilities were available. Don't forget to bring a torch with you as you need one when walking back from your meal to your hut. The staff come round and light your lamps. The first night I couldn't turn mine off. Very pleasant location and if you want to get away from it all visit this place. Went for a sunset game drive. Didn't' see the lion just the giraffes and rhinos. Wow! The breakfast is unreal you won't go hungry!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 696HelenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place is definately worth a visit. We had one of our best wildlife experiences and camp experiences there, after having visited Kruger NP and Limpopo as well.
We liked the basicness of the place and the atmospheric ablutions building.
During our own braai (good facilties) we heard an elephant eating just outside the fence. The guided morning drive gave us an up close encounter with a group of lions. To top it of the waterhole which you can see from the campsites has rhinos, hippos and elephants frequently visiting it,
For us this is a place that we would surely recommend to others!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Femmiline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked and paid to stay at Ndlovu Camp for 3 nights over weekend. Upon arrival we were told that campsite is full. We then had to drive another hour to a remote unused campsite with facilities that have not been used or cleaned for months. The trip was a disappointment not only because of lack of service or even basic fascilities but also because there are very little game to see. R600 park fee was money wasted (in addition to accomodation charge) It would seem that pouching is affecting the area. The general condition of basic infrastructure is evidence of neglect over time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius Schoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGameParksSD, General Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting Hlane Royal National Park and I am sorry your experience was below par.
Please be advised that you were accommodated at a remote bush-camp (Sundwini Camp)that is not often used for public. This site was suggested based on an unexpectedly busy camp at Ndlovu Camp and your group’s desire for privacy. The suggestion was also based on the apparent self-sufficiency your group presented. Please note that we would have been able to find space for the entire group, it is just that you would not have been together hence the attraction of Sundwini Camp.
It must be stressed the Sundwini Camp is a wonderful remotely located camp and not the everyday camp, as experienced at Ndlovu Camp. Furthermore, Sundwini is not more than 30 minutes drive from Ndlovu camp and we feel that the R80 camping fee is full value.
Entry into Hlane is also a nominal R40 which goes directly to conservation and is in fact Free of Charge to holders of valid Wild Cards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hlane Royal National Park
0.0 mi away
Happy Valley Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Shewula Mountain Camp
Shewula Mountain Camp
#2 of 4 in Hlane Royal National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hlane Royal National Park - Caravan Park
Hlane Royal National Park - Cara...
#4 of 4 in Hlane Royal National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Simunye Country Club
Simunye Country Club
#1 of 1 in Simunye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mvubu Falls
Mvubu Falls
#1 of 5 in Ezulwini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndlovu Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndlovu Camp

Property: Ndlovu Camp
Address: Hlane Royal National Park, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Lubombo District > Hlane Royal National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hlane Royal National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Ndlovu Camp Swaziland/Hlane Royal National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing