We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My little hut!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ndlovu Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hlane Royal National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ndlovu Camp
Certificate of Excellence
WA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My little hut!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Well we were surprised! Were only told a short time before we arrived that there would be no electricity available to us. It was our second place we had stayed in without electricity out in the bush. Stayed here for two nights. The huts were accommodating and clean. Just a short distance away was the restaurant or eating area which was under cover but outside where bats reside in the roof. Camping and rhino. facilities were available. Don't forget to bring a torch with you as you need one when walking back from your meal to your hut. The staff come round and light your lamps. The first night I couldn't turn mine off. Very pleasant location and if you want to get away from it all visit this place. Went for a sunset game drive. Didn't' see the lion just the giraffes and rhinos. Wow! The breakfast is unreal you won't go hungry!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 696HelenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    44
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
49
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place is definately worth a visit. We had one of our best wildlife experiences and camp experiences there, after having visited Kruger NP and Limpopo as well.
We liked the basicness of the place and the atmospheric ablutions building.
During our own braai (good facilties) we heard an elephant eating just outside the fence. The guided morning drive gave us an up close encounter with a group of lions. To top it of the waterhole which you can see from the campsites has rhinos, hippos and elephants frequently visiting it,
For us this is a place that we would surely recommend to others!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Femmiline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked and paid to stay at Ndlovu Camp for 3 nights over weekend. Upon arrival we were told that campsite is full. We then had to drive another hour to a remote unused campsite with facilities that have not been used or cleaned for months. The trip was a disappointment not only because of lack of service or even basic fascilities but also because there are very little game to see. R600 park fee was money wasted (in addition to accomodation charge) It would seem that pouching is affecting the area. The general condition of basic infrastructure is evidence of neglect over time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius Schoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGameParksSD, General Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting Hlane Royal National Park and I am sorry your experience was below par.
Please be advised that you were accommodated at a remote bush-camp (Sundwini Camp)that is not often used for public. This site was suggested based on an unexpectedly busy camp at Ndlovu Camp and your group’s desire for privacy. The suggestion was also based on the apparent self-sufficiency your group presented. Please note that we would have been able to find space for the entire group, it is just that you would not have been together hence the attraction of Sundwini Camp.
It must be stressed the Sundwini Camp is a wonderful remotely located camp and not the everyday camp, as experienced at Ndlovu Camp. Furthermore, Sundwini is not more than 30 minutes drive from Ndlovu camp and we feel that the R80 camping fee is full value.
Entry into Hlane is also a nominal R40 which goes directly to conservation and is in fact Free of Charge to holders of valid Wild Cards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a very pleasant and peaceful stop. Caught at the right time the waterhole is teeming with wildlife and you can enjoy the view with a cold drink. The lanterns instead of electricity add to the charm...and the hot water is still hot! The rooms are clean and beds comfortable, this is an excellent national park lodge/camp.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acaciapc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
260 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

A simple but well set up camp site in the Hlane park. Facilities are simple but clean and in good order.
Brick braai site on all pitches and free wood provided by the park.
Really enjoyed the game drive and the local dance troupe that visited on the Sunday evening.
Watching the rhino at the watering hole every evening was a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The camp is nice with a curio shop ( not very good curio shop ), a bar and some very Hansel and Gretelesque accomodation.
The house which we shared with 3 others in our group was beautiful and a true experience, hidden among the trees and lit by paraffin lamps due to the lack of electricity in the camp. It is something to behold to lie in your bed and hear a pod of hippos roar in the water just outside and lions ball from somewhere in the park.
The watering hole is a very good spot to see rhinos and other game but you would need to allow a bit of free time to ensure sightings because all we got to see were hippos but that was due to a lack of time to observe the watering hole.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallODonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Ndlovu Camp is situated away from any populated area, leastways I didn't see many people about. Arrived at the camp mid afternoon to a very warm welcome from the staff who quickly showed us where our accommodation was, The Big Barn. As we are two males who wanted separate rooms we had booked the only roundel with two rooms. Big surprise, as well as two comfortable double bedrooms we also had a sitting/dining room with a kitchen off, a bathroom with bath and shower over plus a massive mezzanine area above us that had another six or seven single beds, enough room for a couple of families to stay with room to spare. There is no electricity in the big hut but a gas fridge(?) and loads of lanterns to see by (lit by the staff for us). A great place to stay.
The camp has a restaurant where breakfast and dinner are taken if you are not having a braii outside your hut. You would need to bring supplies with you as there are non for sale at the camp. Food was good although not gourmet class.
When we arrived we took a look at the waterhole, just the other side of a flimsy three strand wire fence, where three hippo's were relaxing in the water. In the morning when we awoke as well as the hippo's there were two Rhinos sitting next to the water, amazing!
We took a game drive with a very knowledgeable guide, didn't see any lions but did see more rhinos from close up, very close up, as the guide let us get out of the vehicle.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and smiling all the time.
I think there were no more than a dozen to fifteen people staying at the camp which made for a nice quiet, relaxing break.
All in all a different, down to earth camp for someone used to staying in hotels but I thoroughly enjoyed the change. Would I go back? Like a shot, great fun.

Room Tip: The Big Hut, take anything up to about 12 of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CroquetDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hlane Royal National Park
0.0 mi away
Happy Valley Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Shewula Mountain Camp
Shewula Mountain Camp
#2 of 4 in Hlane Royal National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hlane Royal National Park - Caravan Park
Hlane Royal National Park - Cara...
#4 of 4 in Hlane Royal National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Simunye Country Club
Simunye Country Club
#1 of 1 in Simunye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mvubu Falls
Mvubu Falls
#1 of 5 in Ezulwini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndlovu Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndlovu Camp

Property: Ndlovu Camp
Address: Hlane Royal National Park, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Lubombo District > Hlane Royal National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hlane Royal National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Ndlovu Camp Swaziland/Hlane Royal National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing