We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the drive - no longer a prime spot in Swaziland”
Review of Ndlovu Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hlane Royal National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ndlovu Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked and paid to stay at Ndlovu Camp for 3 nights over weekend. Upon arrival we were told that campsite is full. We then had to drive another hour to a remote unused campsite with facilities that have not been used or cleaned for months. The trip was a disappointment not only because of lack of service or even basic fascilities but also because there are very little game to see. R600 park fee was money wasted (in addition to accomodation charge) It would seem that pouching is affecting the area. The general condition of basic infrastructure is evidence of neglect over time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius Schoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGameParksSD, General Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for visiting Hlane Royal National Park and I am sorry your experience was below par.
Please be advised that you were accommodated at a remote bush-camp (Sundwini Camp)that is not often used for public. This site was suggested based on an unexpectedly busy camp at Ndlovu Camp and your group’s desire for privacy. The suggestion was also based on the apparent self-sufficiency your group presented. Please note that we would have been able to find space for the entire group, it is just that you would not have been together hence the attraction of Sundwini Camp.
It must be stressed the Sundwini Camp is a wonderful remotely located camp and not the everyday camp, as experienced at Ndlovu Camp. Furthermore, Sundwini is not more than 30 minutes drive from Ndlovu camp and we feel that the R80 camping fee is full value.
Entry into Hlane is also a nominal R40 which goes directly to conservation and is in fact Free of Charge to holders of valid Wild Cards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a very pleasant and peaceful stop. Caught at the right time the waterhole is teeming with wildlife and you can enjoy the view with a cold drink. The lanterns instead of electricity add to the charm...and the hot water is still hot! The rooms are clean and beds comfortable, this is an excellent national park lodge/camp.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acaciapc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A simple but well set up camp site in the Hlane park. Facilities are simple but clean and in good order.
Brick braai site on all pitches and free wood provided by the park.
Really enjoyed the game drive and the local dance troupe that visited on the Sunday evening.
Watching the rhino at the watering hole every evening was a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The camp is nice with a curio shop ( not very good curio shop ), a bar and some very Hansel and Gretelesque accomodation.
The house which we shared with 3 others in our group was beautiful and a true experience, hidden among the trees and lit by paraffin lamps due to the lack of electricity in the camp. It is something to behold to lie in your bed and hear a pod of hippos roar in the water just outside and lions ball from somewhere in the park.
The watering hole is a very good spot to see rhinos and other game but you would need to allow a bit of free time to ensure sightings because all we got to see were hippos but that was due to a lack of time to observe the watering hole.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiallODonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Ndlovu Camp is situated away from any populated area, leastways I didn't see many people about. Arrived at the camp mid afternoon to a very warm welcome from the staff who quickly showed us where our accommodation was, The Big Barn. As we are two males who wanted separate rooms we had booked the only roundel with two rooms. Big surprise, as well as two comfortable double bedrooms we also had a sitting/dining room with a kitchen off, a bathroom with bath and shower over plus a massive mezzanine area above us that had another six or seven single beds, enough room for a couple of families to stay with room to spare. There is no electricity in the big hut but a gas fridge(?) and loads of lanterns to see by (lit by the staff for us). A great place to stay.
The camp has a restaurant where breakfast and dinner are taken if you are not having a braii outside your hut. You would need to bring supplies with you as there are non for sale at the camp. Food was good although not gourmet class.
When we arrived we took a look at the waterhole, just the other side of a flimsy three strand wire fence, where three hippo's were relaxing in the water. In the morning when we awoke as well as the hippo's there were two Rhinos sitting next to the water, amazing!
We took a game drive with a very knowledgeable guide, didn't see any lions but did see more rhinos from close up, very close up, as the guide let us get out of the vehicle.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and smiling all the time.
I think there were no more than a dozen to fifteen people staying at the camp which made for a nice quiet, relaxing break.
All in all a different, down to earth camp for someone used to staying in hotels but I thoroughly enjoyed the change. Would I go back? Like a shot, great fun.

Room Tip: The Big Hut, take anything up to about 12 of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CroquetDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The accommodation was really quite charming, with paraffin lamps and candles instead of electricity, in a lovely setting with wild deer grazing outside your door. Park staff were a little unengaged, although the main restaurant lady was a joy! It was good to be by the water hole to be able to see hippo and rhino. The evening game drive provided plenty of wildlife spotting opportunities, although sadly the lions proved too elusive! Not sure I would recommend Hlane.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank prippit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We toured three countries in Africa over Christmas and loved this stop! The buildings are so cute and are set around a watering hole. We saw a crocodile, lots of rhino and hippos, more by the watering hole than in the park!! The morning walk was uneventful but the people who went on the drive saw a lot.
There was no electricity which bothered those with phones and camera batteries that needed charging but I was well prepared so it didn't affect me!! The lamps at night were a lovely way to see Africa au natural, whilst being in a bed with kitchen and bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ndlovu Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndlovu Camp

Address: Hlane Royal National Park, Swaziland
Phone Number:
Location: Swaziland > Lubombo District > Hlane Royal National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hlane Royal National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Ndlovu Camp Swaziland/Hlane Royal National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing