We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Waterhole Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ndlovu Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hlane Royal National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ndlovu Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful Waterhole Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a very pleasant and peaceful stop. Caught at the right time the waterhole is teeming with wildlife and you can enjoy the view with a cold drink. The lanterns instead of electricity add to the charm...and the hot water is still hot! The rooms are clean and beds comfortable, this is an excellent national park lodge/camp.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acaciapc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    44
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
50
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
261 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

A simple but well set up camp site in the Hlane park. Facilities are simple but clean and in good order.
Brick braai site on all pitches and free wood provided by the park.
Really enjoyed the game drive and the local dance troupe that visited on the Sunday evening.
Watching the rhino at the watering hole every evening was a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The camp is nice with a curio shop ( not very good curio shop ), a bar and some very Hansel and Gretelesque accomodation.
The house which we shared with 3 others in our group was beautiful and a true experience, hidden among the trees and lit by paraffin lamps due to the lack of electricity in the camp. It is something to behold to lie in your bed and hear a pod of hippos roar in the water just outside and lions ball from somewhere in the park.
The watering hole is a very good spot to see rhinos and other game but you would need to allow a bit of free time to ensure sightings because all we got to see were hippos but that was due to a lack of time to observe the watering hole.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallODonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Ndlovu Camp is situated away from any populated area, leastways I didn't see many people about. Arrived at the camp mid afternoon to a very warm welcome from the staff who quickly showed us where our accommodation was, The Big Barn. As we are two males who wanted separate rooms we had booked the only roundel with two rooms. Big surprise, as well as two comfortable double bedrooms we also had a sitting/dining room with a kitchen off, a bathroom with bath and shower over plus a massive mezzanine area above us that had another six or seven single beds, enough room for a couple of families to stay with room to spare. There is no electricity in the big hut but a gas fridge(?) and loads of lanterns to see by (lit by the staff for us). A great place to stay.
The camp has a restaurant where breakfast and dinner are taken if you are not having a braii outside your hut. You would need to bring supplies with you as there are non for sale at the camp. Food was good although not gourmet class.
When we arrived we took a look at the waterhole, just the other side of a flimsy three strand wire fence, where three hippo's were relaxing in the water. In the morning when we awoke as well as the hippo's there were two Rhinos sitting next to the water, amazing!
We took a game drive with a very knowledgeable guide, didn't see any lions but did see more rhinos from close up, very close up, as the guide let us get out of the vehicle.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and smiling all the time.
I think there were no more than a dozen to fifteen people staying at the camp which made for a nice quiet, relaxing break.
All in all a different, down to earth camp for someone used to staying in hotels but I thoroughly enjoyed the change. Would I go back? Like a shot, great fun.

Room Tip: The Big Hut, take anything up to about 12 of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CroquetDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The accommodation was really quite charming, with paraffin lamps and candles instead of electricity, in a lovely setting with wild deer grazing outside your door. Park staff were a little unengaged, although the main restaurant lady was a joy! It was good to be by the water hole to be able to see hippo and rhino. The evening game drive provided plenty of wildlife spotting opportunities, although sadly the lions proved too elusive! Not sure I would recommend Hlane.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank prippit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We toured three countries in Africa over Christmas and loved this stop! The buildings are so cute and are set around a watering hole. We saw a crocodile, lots of rhino and hippos, more by the watering hole than in the park!! The morning walk was uneventful but the people who went on the drive saw a lot.
There was no electricity which bothered those with phones and camera batteries that needed charging but I was well prepared so it didn't affect me!! The lamps at night were a lovely way to see Africa au natural, whilst being in a bed with kitchen and bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here with my wife in October 2012 as part of a trek around eastern S.A. and nearby countries, including Swaziland, obviously. My only knowledge of what the accommodations at Ndlovu Camp would be like were that there would be no electricity. That was quite true, but what a wonderful place, electricity or not!

Pros:

- Beautiful, well-maintained rondavel-style housing, in and out
- Private, full bathrooms with any amenity you'd want, including hot water
- "Bug sealing" was quite good, there weren't any areas obvious that bugs could get in, yet the windows could be left open for fantastic cross breezes
- Plenty of candles on sconces, handheld lanterns, and tabletops for night lighting
- Comfortable beds
- Plenty of room in the bedroom and bathroom, lots of area to spread out clothes, toiletries, and ourselves
- Grounds were well maintained, the main lodge area had a wonderful vaulted ceiling, open air dining room, and the outdoor areas provided room for fire pits, exhibitions (dancing), wildlife viewing all within walking distance of your room

Cons:

- No electricity - I knew that coming in, so not a big deal, but it would have been nicer if it was there
- Hot water was sometimes spotty - you had to turn the water on/off to kick start the propane tank at times, although others in our party didn't have this experience
- All the rondavels look alike, so it's hard to tell which one is yours at night

The upkeep of Ndlovu from the individual rondavels to the main lodge area was impeccable, we saw employees continually sweeping and cleaning, and every one of them was extremely pleasant and nice to talk to. I'd definitely stay here again, electricity or not, and would certainly recommend it to others. Kudos, Ndlovu!

Thanks for reading this review - if you have any questions at all, feel free to reach out to me at any point!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JB24003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hlane Royal National Park
0.0 mi away
Shewula Mountain Camp
Shewula Mountain Camp
#2 of 4 in Hlane Royal National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hlane Royal National Park - Caravan Park
Hlane Royal National Park - Cara...
#4 of 4 in Hlane Royal National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
4.1 mi away
Simunye Country Club
Simunye Country Club
#1 of 1 in Simunye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Mabuda Farms
Mabuda Farms
#1 of 1 in Siteki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndlovu Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndlovu Camp

Property: Ndlovu Camp
Address: Hlane Royal National Park, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Lubombo District > Hlane Royal National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hlane Royal National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Ndlovu Camp Swaziland/Hlane Royal National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing