We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
New Inn Hotel(Clapham)
$195
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
131
24
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
24
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerexcellent cheffront of the housequiet roadcomfortable stayfluffy towelsclapham areaingleborough cavetwo nightsmodern decorensuite roomearly starttea and coffee making facilitiesminute drivebeautiful areaenjoyed our stayfull english
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 158 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just got back from a weekend in the Yorkshire Dales and stayed here with friends. All reviews concentrate on the cleanliness and friendliness-true but certainly for me the food was truly exceptional for a guesthouse. It is the type and quality of food I would normally only expect to find in a reasonably smart and aspiring city restaurant, Alan works hard to source local quality food which is evident and clearly cooks with passion and skill. The food is well presented, there is a choice of about 6 imaginative dishes for each course,it is very reasonably priced and the portions are generous. If you are in the area and cannot get one of his 4 rooms then eat there anyway (open to nonresidents) as I doubt you will get better in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stokietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

thankyou for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Returned to Yorkshire with some friends and stayed at brook house based on previous reviews. We travel a lot and must say our stay here was excellent (dispute the weather). The accommodation was very good and the food excellent. Alan's a great host and a fantastic cook. Its just like having your own fine dinning chef.

We don't normally leave reviews but this place is so good it pulled have been wrong not to sing Alan's praises.

Absolutely wOnderfull

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

thankyou for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We recieved a voucher as a Christmas present and Brookhouse was on the list of hotels we could stay at, it looked the best out of all of them across the uk so we decided on here and paid for a 2nd night. We stayed in the room 'White Scar' couldnt fault it! The bed was extremely comfy, bath/shower facilities really good along with everything else. Breakfast was amazing, only disappointment really was the we were going to have an evening meal there on the second night but by the time we had gotten ready and gone downstairs it was fully booked, our own fault for being indecisive and not booking a table really. Lovely village, close to lots of places of interest and areas for walking. If we didnt have a car however i think we would have been stuck as Clapham itself didn't really have alot to offer but we went purely for a chillout break.

Room Tip: White Scar would definately recommend!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

thankyou you carn"t beet a good nights sleep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I would stay again for the food alone but also very friendly ,comfortable and lovely rooms.Manythanks xox

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

thankyou for your review i am glad you had a good time see you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The Brookhouse at Clapham is billed as a B&B, but really it's more - with owner/chef, Alan, providing excellent (both quality and value) evening meals as well as breakfasts. Rooms are very comfortable, nicely decorated and clean. It's very well located for the Western side of the Dales and for Cumbria too. We will be recommending to all our friends and family and are sure to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImperialCrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews