We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Bistro 1745

Bistro 1745
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Clapham
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Part of the 5 Star New Inn Clapham , Bistro 1745 serves a fantastic range of locally sourced delicious meals to suit all tastes, recently winning a 2015 Breakfast award!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I visited the New Inn on Mothers day weekend as a treat for my Mum and family. I had previously visited the New Inn before it was refurbished and wasn't very impressed, however the newly renovated Hotel/Restaurant is stunning. The food is very well presented and great value for money, its a great find in the middle of the Yorkshire dales. The décor is first class and very well presented, couldn't fault it.

Will definitely be returning!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie_Richmond_Kerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Bistro 1745, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for leaving us such a great review! We are always thrilled when guests get to experience the changes our renovation has brought. We have undertaken a full refurbishment to all 19 rooms, bars and bistro. It’s not just a face lift though, our menus and customer services have undergone a complete change to bring you our fantastic food and even better service that all our guests deserve!

Our menus are seasonal so don’t forget to come back soon, we look forward to seeing you then!


Sincerely,

The New Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An all round wonderful mothers Day experience!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The gauntlet had been thrown down by the wife, "I hope you are taking me somewhere nice for Mothers Day?!". Instantly I knew that with the arrival of our 3 month old daughter had come an entirely new challenge for one day every year - so I set about looking for an idyllic part of England with a quality restaurant in which to take my family. Instantly The New Inn at Clapham sprung from the webpage, it was just the place I was looking for and looked every bit as clean and tidy from the distance of the photo as it did when we arrived.
Reviews lower down this page reporting an Urban feel could not be more further from the truth, the theme is very much nature and the countryside, in a contemporary, chic style. The decoration has been done wonderfully and I for one applaud the owners ability to give the Inn such a clean and bright look yet essentially retain its character.

I had called a day or two in advance and had been kindly reserved a table for two along with room to place our daughters pram. On arrival we entered The New Inn via the bar, the staff were attentive, friendly and welcoming, a credit to the Landlord / Lady.

We were quickly served and invited to settle down whilst our table was prepared for us. A short while later we were again invited to move to the dining room which was beautifully laid out and impeccably clean.

We were welcomed by the Landlord / Lady who were kind enough to attend to our every need, this included assisting us with our previously quiet daughter who had taken it upon herself at this point to demanding to return outside to enjoy the beautiful weather at the exact same time as our starters had arrived...many thanks to the Landlady at this point who kindly assisted in settling our daughter whilst we ate our food, this level of service is above and beyond the usual expectancy of anyone running such an establishment, it truly shows how much the owners and staff care about their customers and the image of The New Inn.

The food was beyond EXCEPTIONAL in both presentation and flavour.
My wife opted for the Goats Cheese starter and I, the Scallops with Black Pudding, both beautifully served and tasted even better, this again demonstrates that The New Inn has employed the best staff, with the right skills and hasn't shied away from investing in both staff and equipment to ensure there is no façade in terms of 'shiny package with no substance', this restaurant is the real deal, the menu reads well and the Chef's deliver.
The main courses chosen were a Roast Beef Dinner and Game Pie, both utterly mouthwatering and generous with exception.
Desserts consisted of Chocolate Fondant (utterly utterly divine) and Sticky Toffee pudding (my wife is a stickler) which got top marks for being really fantastic.

Overall our experience proved that the 140 mile round trip was well worth it as the visit to The New Inn showed that there is no compromise on quality or customer service at this wonderful Inn, a stand out experience of what can be achieved when you have the right staff, owners and equipment / location that brings together all those elements to give the visitor a memorable experience! I truly look forward to returning and staying overnight next time albeit with a more settled little baby!

Many Thanks once again!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richnlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton under Needwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch stop.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

On the way to Hawes we passed through Clapham in Yorkshire.
The village is charming and we decided to stop and have lunch there . The New Inn pub is really welcoming and there is a good choice of lunch options as well as more substantial meals .As we were eating dinner in the evening at a hotel, we chose to share the hot pork baguette and had a side order of hand made chips which were delicious. The whole meal was faultless , the pork baguette with apple stuffing so tasty and beautifully presented on a slate platter. They also stock real ales and offered us a taste before we decided . A really good place for lunch. Highly Recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Bistro 1745, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment on your time with us! As always we have passed along your review to our chefs. Our chefs take great pride in the food they produce, it’s that pride coupled with the positive feedback from guests like yourself that push them to constantly create the excellent food that we are known for. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!


Sincerely,

The New Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stopped for Lunch”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were on our way back form a weekend in the Lakes and saw the sign and turned of for a lunch stop. Beautifully furnished, very friendly welcome . We ordered the Ploughmans to share. Wow beautifully presented and very tasty. We will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Bistro 1745, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for leaving us your review! We are glad you saw the sign and decided to give us a go, we love giving people the chance to try our food and see our newly renovated hotel!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Clapham North Yorks.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The food here is certainly worth going for. An excellent hotel with lovely decor throughout. The meal presentation is like something of a food gourmet tv show and the quality even better. The choice of starters and mains is really varied with meals you would not expect in such a small village. Their website does not show the full menu which is a shame as I am sure it would attract a lot more diners if people could see what is on offer. I stopped here for two nights and the breakfasts were just as good as the dinners. All in all a beautiful little hotel well worth a visit and if you get chance stop the night to take full benefit of all that is on offer. I rate this place ten out of ten and will definitely go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank seymours2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Bistro 1745, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review! Our chefs do indeed take a lot of pride in their work and take great pleasure in the quality and presentation of our food.

We have been meaning to put up our Bistro Menu on our website once it was redesigned and great news we have just done that today! So thanks for the feedback!

Also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 1745 also viewed

Clapham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Clapham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Clapham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Bistro 1745? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing