We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your average Caves”
Review of Ingleborough Caves

Ingleborough Caves
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Clapham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Your average Caves”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Explored caves before then this is about your typical cave. However this has a mile and a bit walk to reach it and then walk back. a 65p charge for the walk and 35p for children also applies on top of your cave entry.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank xxamukxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi,

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your trip around the Cave as much as our other customers seem to! Perhaps, as you say, the fact that you go into wild caves regularly takes away from the splendor. With regards the nature trail, it is actually a separate business from us. It just so happens that we are based at the end of the trail.

Nevertheless, thank you for your review. It is always good to hear back from our customers with their queries.

Kind Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    68
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
“Down the hole!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was a great insight into the caverns below the moors. Guides provided you with all the info you needed & made it an enjoyable experience.
Not suitable for those who suffer with back problems as in certain parts of the caverns you have to bend over to get through.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheMaccas91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi,

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your trip around the Cave so much, it would be great if you would be sure to recommend it to family and friends! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Ingleborough Cave Adventure”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had been caving in the Yorkshire Dales many years previously. My Wife and I found Jude and Clapham Adventure Tours online. Jude made the adventure tonnes of fun.I know my wife, who isn't known to be adventurous, really enjoyed it which speak volumes. Jude even came and found us since we were late in arriving and made sure we made it. Thanks Jude!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Jeff,

We're particularly pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Adventure Tour so much. It is also great to hear that Jude was able to make the trip so enjoyable for yourself, and particularly for your wife! We hope to see you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stunning cave”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

From the beautiful, pretty village of Clapham you take a lovely woodland walk up to the cave. If you go past the cave you can walk through the limestone gorge and up to Gaping Gill. It is well worth the extra walk. In the caves you have guided tours on the hour and get to wear the protective helmets. The tour guide our group had was excellent with a good mix of humour and history throughout the tour. The different features were truly amazing. There are a couple of sections where the ceiling is quite low so would not suit people with back problems.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank madspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review, it is always great to hear such positive feedback from our customers. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Cave, and we're particularly pleased that you were so highly satisfied with our guide. We will be sure to pass your kind words on.

Kind Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
2 reviews
“September 2013 - Ingleborough Caves”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My two daughters (14 and 9) and I had a fantastic trip to Ingleborough Caves. We had not been caving before. It was fun, informative and adventurous. I would thoroughly recommend it. Jude is a great guide. Helen

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Helen,

Thank you for your review. We're especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Adventure Tour, as it is a relatively new trip that we are still working on! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ingleborough Caves also viewed

Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Clapham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Ingleborough Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing