We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fun”
Review of Ingleborough Caves

Ingleborough Caves
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Clapham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Fun”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The experience starts in Clapham Village as you have to walk about a mile to the cave, however it is a very pleasant and picturesque even in the rain! Also the walk up to the cave meant that we did not need to add more layers of clothing whilst inside. The guide was very informative and passionate about the subject, plus as there were children in the party he kept them rapt with myths about the cave. The following day we went to the White Scar Cave and did not enjoy it nearly as much as we were part of a large group and we only had one guide who rushed us through the cave but we could not hear what she was saying, at Ingleborough there was a guide at the front and the back (possibly because one was a trainee) which meant that if you were at the back of the group and could not hear everything the other guide filled you in. Also this tour was done at a much more leisurely pace with stops for interesting features whereas at White Scar they just have signs up and you are rushed past them. The White Scar Cave is more impressive but if you are only able to do one of the tour this is the one I would recommend because you learn more and are able to take it all in.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelMaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi,

Its always nice to get feedback from our customers, particuarly when they are so positive, so your thorough review is much appreciated! We are very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at the Caves, and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    64
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ingleborough Show Cave”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Drove down from Tyneside with my son who is 6. Parked in Clapham and had to walk a mile through lovely woodland to get to the cave. The cave tour guide was very informative and even though my son was the only child on the tour the guide cracked a few jokes to keep him happy. The tour lasted an hour which is great value for money (about £10 for my son & I). If you wish you can also follow the path past the cave to Gaping Gill and the top of Ingleborough Hill.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Cliff,

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your trip to the Yorkshire Dales, particularly the Caves! I can thoroughly recommend our Christmas Grotto for your son, it is a fantastic experience and is well renowned as one of the better Grotto's around!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adventure caving with Jude.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our family group of 5 adults booked the caving adventure with Jude. We had a fantastic time ! I can thoroughly recommend the experience for adults and children alike. A couple of us occasionally get a little claustrophobic, even so we had a great time. While there a few tight squeezes it’s nothing too daunting. It was a little more physical than we had expected and definitely wetter than anticipated. Jude was great fun. All in all F A B !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Ellen,

We're glad to hear that you had such a good time, and that Jude was able to help you all get over your slight fear of the confined spaces that you faced! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We all had a lovely time here. The tour guide was fantastic and you could tell he enjoyed his job. I would do this again and there is lovely walks as well. Would recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbara8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Barbara,

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the Cave trip so much! We'd love to see you again soon, maybe for something a little different this time, one of our Adventure Tours perhaps? Just a thought.

Kind Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue for an Adventure Caving trip”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The caves are really worth a trip. The walk from Clapham is lovely, hundreds of bluebells at this time of year which made the hills pass more quickly! It's uphill on the way there but that gives you the bonus of going downhill almost all the way back.

There is a small shop in the entrance which sells hot and cold drinks, snacks and ice creams for reasonable prices. We had 45 minutes or so to wait and the staff members were all friendly, chatty and full of interesting knowledge - they kept us entertained despite the drizzle outside.

We didn't go on one of the usual guided tours, instead we had booked an Adventure Caving session with Clapham Adventure (http://claphamadventure.co.uk/ingleborough-cave-trip/) and it was fabulous. Jude took us through the show caves, giving us the detail you would normally get on a guided tour, and then we went 'off piste' into areas you wouldn't normally get to see. It was a fantastic experience and it was lovely to see so many features and have them explained to us, plus it helped me to conquer a real fear of confined spaces!

I would highly recommend a trip to the caves if you are in the area; if you fancy something extra, book an adventure caving trip in advance and see that little bit more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Lucy,

We're pleased to hear that you were well looked after on your visit to the Caves. Jude will be thrilled to hear your kind words about her Adventure Tours, and as the Adventure Tours are quite new and unheard of, if you could spread the word to your friends and family that would be even better!

We hope to see you back visiting us again soon!

Kind Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ingleborough Caves also viewed

Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Middleham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ingleborough Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing