We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Guide”
Review of Ingleborough Caves

Ingleborough Caves
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Clapham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Guide”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been to prettier cave systems, but I have never met a more enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. He was a potholer who clearly knew about the cave system, and his dour sense of humour delighted all the visitors. There are long stretches where you have to walk double because the cave ceiling is low, so not recommended if you have a bad back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi Keith,

We're glad to hear you enjoyed the trip, at the time we passed your kind words on to the guide who was working on the day; naturally he was delighted! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

The Ingleborough Cave Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    64
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Incredible rock formations well explained and in a great setting. Dont go if you are claustrophobic!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the trip. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

The Ingleborough Cave Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Christmas santa”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I visited here on a recomendation from a friend, I was so suprised on how fantastic it was. The children loved it. It is long walk up, but we cheated on the way up and took the FREE mini bus as my daughter is only little. A long wait (1hour) to get into the caves but well worth the wait. The staff were professional and helpful as I bet they worked all day long as so busy.

Once in the cave the elves were great storytellers and Santa was a great character. The fact hte children were given a choice of toy was a good idea.

Overall a fantastic visit and we will be back.

Walked bakc down....look for the money tree!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Waterfall walk”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went after 3 days of heavy rain so the waterfalls were at their very best. in some parts the path is average and can be wet. Suitable footwear is advisable. On a clear bright day the views are spectacular.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank diktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ace cave and village to visit.”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We went to the cave to take our kids to the santas grotto in the cave, parked up in the village, really nice walk up to the cave (there was a coach but we walked), there's a little shop at the cave entrance which sells hot drinks, buns etc etc.
The cave itself is ace, it's well lit up and is big - so your in there a while. The staff (tour guides) are friendly and knowledgable too. Our visit was different to the norm, the guides dressed up as elves and throughout the cave tour the elves told the kids a magical story which included some of the cave features, making it believable to the kids. Throughout the cave there were christmas decorations and lights around every corner. After walking through the cave we reached Santa who was waiting in his big red and gold fancy chair, he chatted with the kids, had photos then the kids got a presant from the magic table.
It was an ace day out and a unique experience for us and the kids - going to see Santa in a cave, elves, a magic story .... Something any kid would always remember.

Helpful?
Thank dazm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ingleborough Caves also viewed

Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Middleham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ingleborough Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing